Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

arrowShare this page:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

Photo
- - - - -

Pregnancy After Bad Experience (w/ Celiac)

• Please log in to reply

2 replies to this topic

#1 MinRalph

MinRalph

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 19 July 2008 - 05:15 PM

Hello everyone! I am new to the forrum and have a few questions.... I was diagnosed with Celiac Disease 5 years ago (when I was 18). My husband and I would like to get pregnant in the near future. This is a major step for me b/c we had a VERY bad experience with preggos about 2 years ago. I was on BC pills at the time and was completely surprised. I tested neg until I was 7 wks along and at that time I couldn't keep ANYTHING down. Everyone told me that was normal and would pass in a few weeks.....
It didn't. It only got owrse. They prescribed me Phenergan and B12 but it didn't help at all. I literally couldn't get out of bed. I ended up hospitalized at 4 1/2 months with a feeding tube, IV electrolites, an array of meds (all preggo safe) and was there almost 2 months. One night I started crashing and the next morning we found that I had lost the baby. It was coded a still birth and it took me several months to regain my strength again.
Basically, I'm very scared. I'm scared of getting sick like that again. We just recently had a misscaraige (about 4wks along) and I had an IUD (non-hormonal). That is out now, lol, obviously.....
OK... Sorry about the long winded post. I'm just nervous and hoping to find some info. Thanks!

~Melinda~

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 ShayFL

ShayFL

ShayFL

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,393 posts

Posted 19 July 2008 - 05:29 PM

Hi Melinda,