Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Pho
0

20 posts in this topic

My husband keeps bugging me to take our daughter to a local Pho restaurant. He insists there is nothing in the noodles that she is allergic to. However, he has no clue about food allergies or cooking. He once took her for Teriyaki. She is allergic not only to wheat and gluten, but soy and peanuts. Gah! She was sick for two days after that.

I looked up some recipes for Pho and while it could potentially be safe, it could just as well be unsafe. If they are using canned/boxed/concentrated broth, it could contain wheat or soy. And the fish sauce could contain wheat.

Yeah, I know I could make this myself but it doesn't sound all that appealing to me and not something I want to make. I don't digest meat well and I have diabetes so I have to watch it with the noodles.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I love pho, but I don't dare trust the restaurants for it--too many gluteny beef bases and soy sauces. It's practically a given that it WILL contain gluten.

However, there is a great recipe for it in Gluten-Free for Dummies (she calls it "Faux Pho"), which I make all the time.

I hate to say this, but it sounds like the biggest problem is not food, nor restaurants, but your husband.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Mmmmmmmm I used to love Pho - vietnamese co-workers got me started long ago - but SO many potential issues. :(

W/out absolute proof, I wouldn't trust the 'rice noodles' to be just mostly rice w/ a good amount of wheat.

Far more common than I used to think.

And I'd have to agree w/ Fiddle-Faddle on bases, sauces, & also meat marinades.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I love pho, but I don't dare trust the restaurants for it--too many gluteny beef bases and soy sauces. It's practically a given that it WILL contain gluten.

However, there is a great recipe for it in Gluten-Free for Dummies (she calls it "Faux Pho"), which I make all the time.

I hate to say this, but it sounds like the biggest problem is not food, nor restaurants, but your husband.

Yes. Daughter generally won't go out to eat with just him unless it is a restaurant we have eaten at before and she knows what is safe to eat. I envision problems in foreign restaurants because the people don't necessarily speak English very well. And even when they do and even in non-foreign restaurants, they don't necessarily understand things like gluten.

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Mmmmmmmm I used to love Pho - vietnamese co-workers got me started long ago - but SO many potential issues. :(

W/out absolute proof, I wouldn't trust the 'rice noodles' to be just mostly rice w/ a good amount of wheat.

Far more common than I used to think.

And I'd have to agree w/ Fiddle-Faddle on bases, sauces, & also meat marinades.

That's what I was thinking. Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




My husband keeps bugging me to take our daughter to a local Pho restaurant. He insists there is nothing in the noodles that she is allergic to. However, he has no clue about food allergies or cooking. He once took her for Teriyaki. She is allergic not only to wheat and gluten, but soy and peanuts. Gah! She was sick for two days after that.

I looked up some recipes for Pho and while it could potentially be safe, it could just as well be unsafe. If they are using canned/boxed/concentrated broth, it could contain wheat or soy. And the fish sauce could contain wheat.

Yeah, I know I could make this myself but it doesn't sound all that appealing to me and not something I want to make. I don't digest meat well and I have diabetes so I have to watch it with the noodles.

The Hoisin sauce (plum) on the side is a problem. It contains wheat. I've had the soup without that sauce and it was great. You should definitely ask though. A waiter brought out the label to my table.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hoisin sauce and plum sauce are two different sauces!

There ARE many brands of gluten-free hoisin sauces, including Dynasty and Golden Pagoda.

gluten-free brands of plum sauce (or duck sauce, which is similar) include Lee Kum Kee and Oriental Mascot.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Check out http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/ for a pho recipe you can make in your crockpot, as well as over 200 gluten-free crockpot recipes. This gal is amazing! And every recipe of hers that I have tried has been a winner (as well as a Godsend, since they are so easy, and yet force you to be organized).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The Hoisin sauce (plum) on the side is a problem. It contains wheat. I've had the soup without that sauce and it was great. You should definitely ask though. A waiter brought out the label to my table.

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Check out http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/ for a pho recipe you can make in your crockpot, as well as over 200 gluten-free crockpot recipes. This gal is amazing! And every recipe of hers that I have tried has been a winner (as well as a Godsend, since they are so easy, and yet force you to be organized).

Yes. I have seen her site. Pho just isn't something I am interested in making at home. I most likely wouldn't/couldn't eat it and husband would only eat it if very hot/spicy. But thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It's so hard for me not to eat Pho as I am vietnamese myself lol. Pho contains a lot of MSG so it's a no for me

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Addressing just the gluten angle, since I don't worry about soy or peanuts and can't say.

Pho made the real way should be gluten-free. I've yet to find a fish sauce with wheat, although I'm not saying there isn't one. The beef base should be made at the restaurant, not out of a can (and the majority of broths are in fact gluten-free anyway). I rarely if ever see an actual "rice" noodle that contains wheat, especially since wheat is more expensive than rice. Will there be CC at the restaurant? Well, that can happen most anywhere.

Bottom line? Ask. Just as at any restaurant.

richard

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The risk of CC in vietnamese restaurants is high since they use soy, and they fry a lot of rice dishes. Plus communication is not always easy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The risk of CC in vietnamese restaurants is high since they use soy, and they fry a lot of rice dishes. Plus communication is not always easy

This is why I would not go. It's a moot point now anyway. She is on a low carb diet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

One thing that's nice about Vietnamese restaurants is that they usually have several dishes that are not made with any soy sauce and are pretty light, steamed, fresh dishes. A lot of them will have a grilled chicken and rice dish that is prety plain but still tasty. So maybe that could be an option. I'd probably find out ahead of time if they marinate the meat of their grilled dishes and if so in what. I have not had problems with a similar dish at my local Vietnamese restaurant.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The risk of CC in vietnamese restaurants is high since they use soy, and they fry a lot of rice dishes. Plus communication is not always easy

They use a lot of soy, or soy sauce? Soy itself is not a problem for celiacs (unless you are also intolerant of soy).

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I made the 365 crockpot recipe over the weekend, very good! I added some mushrooms for a little more stubstance. Wife add straw mushrooms and baby bok choi to hers.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Pho is one of my most favorite foods ever. I use the rice noodles in in all types of dishes because they are gluten free. Most Vietnamese foods is already gluten free because they use rice as their primary starch and they don't use soy sauce very often in their cuisine.

Any good pho place will make their own broth from bones rather than bouillon. I have never heard of a place using prepackaged soup or broth for their soups it would not be very cost effective, it doesn't really make sense to me but I guess it's not impossible, but easy enough to just ask about. 

I had pho tonight, it was amazing, I made sure to ask that they make the broth with gluten-free fish sauce, I double checked and asked about how the chicken was cooked(it's almost always just boiled and sliced) and I did not use their hoisen sauce, I have my own gluten free hoisen sauce. I also don't do MSG so that narrows the places I can go down a lot. I recommend finding a good pho place you can talk to someone who really knows the answers to what you're asking, I always call ahead. The very sweet woman I spoke to tonight didn't speak english very well so she called her daughter who then called me and we talked ingredients. Now I know for sure I can eat at the Saigon Boat Cafe on Alki beach in Seattle. Pho is a staple for me here in the rainy northwest during winter time, I can't imagine going without it! 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They use a lot of soy, or soy sauce? Soy itself is not a problem for celiacs (unless you are also intolerant of soy).

richard

Soy sauce is usually made with wheat, wheat free soy sauce is called tamari. But Vietnamese food has a lot of options that are naturally gluten free and soy sauce free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just an FYI - you are responding to a thread from 2011.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,447
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined