Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Powdered Sugar
0

10 posts in this topic

Are most brands of powdered sugar safe? and what about baking powder and baking soda?? Most of the ones I see dont have any suspect ingredients or warnings about the factories so I figure they are safe? I havent actually baked anything gluten-free yet. I asume to stick to pure vanilla extract also, over the imitation brown stuff?

thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I've seen quite a few brands of powdered sugar that say gluten-free on the bag. The one thing about powdered sugar is that it is cut with cornstarch and a lot of people with corn issues can't handle it. Nielsen-Massey and McCormick pure vanilla is gluten-free. I contacted McCormick about their imitation butter flavor and it is also gluten-free and I think they told me all of their imitation flavorings were but you might want to call or email to verify.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

thans. yeah, I heard that alll McCormick products are gluten-free, unless labeled otherwise....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There was a warning here a while back about some powdered sugar containing gluten. I think it was the Walmart brand or perhaps just a brand that they carry. Can't say for sure since our Walmart doesn't have a grocery.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A year or so ago I went to buy powdered sugar at Wal-Mart and their Great Value brand had wheat starch in it. Most brands use corn starch. Just make sure to check the label on whichever powdered sugar you buy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I buy Rumford baking powder or Clabber Girl. They state gluten free on the container.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Because corn is becoming a fuel, the price has gone up, so many companies have gone back to using wheat starch. Even brands we have trusted for a while now are now showing up with wheat starch. Always read the labels, even your old favorites.

My sister is a dietician and the powdered sugar she had been buying from Gordon's Food Service, had been gluten free for some time, it now contains wheat starch!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Because corn is becoming a fuel, the price has gone up, so many companies have gone back to using wheat starch. Even brands we have trusted for a while now are now showing up with wheat starch. Always read the labels, even your old favorites.

My sister is a dietician and the powdered sugar she had been buying from Gordon's Food Service, had been gluten free for some time, it now contains wheat starch!

ugh!!! so annoying!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In addition to the corn in cornstarch, cornstarch is usually, unless it says otherwise, chemically processed with sulfites. People like me with sulfite allergies need to avoid cornstarch.

I've seen quite a few brands of powdered sugar that say gluten-free on the bag. The one thing about powdered sugar is that it is cut with cornstarch and a lot of people with corn issues can't handle it. Nielsen-Massey and McCormick pure vanilla is gluten-free. I contacted McCormick about their imitation butter flavor and it is also gluten-free and I think they told me all of their imitation flavorings were but you might want to call or email to verify.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I buy Rogers Icing sugar in Canada and the sugar produced by Lantic Inc/Rogers uses a small amount of cornstarch. B)

Good to know that the GV icing sugar at WalMart uses wheat starch... <_<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,354
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Oh, Trish at the GlutenFreeWatchDog tested Planter's honey roasted peanuts three years ago.  The can did not state gluten-free, but showed no gluten ingrediants (per Kraft policy).  Test result: less than 5 part per million which is pretty much gluten-free.  
    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,133
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Mycaringkidsmom
    Joined