Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Communion Help
0

18 posts in this topic

Hello all,

After some great time away from church, myself and three children, are returning back. I'm wondering how any you approached the church in regards to communion? Both my son and myself have had pos. blood test results, but due to neg. reactions to anesthia we can not do biopsy's. Any suggestions for the approaching the subject with the church? We are still new to the church and don't want to cause to much attention, but want to partake in the communion.

Thanks for any suggestions,

Julie Dobson

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

If you're Catholic, the Church does not accept a gluten-free host as being vaild for communion. There are low-wheat hosts that can be purchased that are supposedly acceptable for celiacs, but I would never put anything in my mouth if I knew it contained gluten--however small the amount.

Otherwise, for example, in the Protestant churches, they are very tolerant--you can order gluten-free hosts over the internet (not sure where) and the pastor will give that to you--you can keep it inconspicuous.

The other option is taking the wine (if you don't want the low-wheat host). I wouldn't recommend this either since the hosts are sometimes dipped in the wine, plus if people take the host, then drink, crumbs could get into it or something.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

At our church I have the option of just taking the wine (grape juice in it's own little individual cup) or I can bring my own gluten-free "host". Sometimes I remember it, other times I don't. I just pass on the host when I forget to bring it. I hold onto my own host the entire time. It never goes into the communal dish, since at our church the host and wine is passed out and then it is blessed before being taken.

My opinion is that God wouldn't want me to eat something that was going to hurt me. He made me this way, and he made my body to be healthy when it is gluten-free, so why would He want me to hurt myself with taking communion!? I go to an Assemblies of God church and the Pastor there is very understanding. I know that others have not been as fortunate as I am with their experiences. It shouldn't matter whether you are new to that church or not. You should make an appointment to speak with the clergy as soon as possible to take care of the matter.

God bless,

Mariann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I go to a Mennonite Brethren church and I just skip taking the bread and only take the juice which comes in its own little cup. You could always bring one of your own crackers and do what gf4life does. My church family never notices and it hasn't been a problem. Good luck!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Hello. I just recently approached my Pastor about this issue, as well. I am Lutheran, Missouri Synod. My Pastor didn't even hesitate when it came to accomodating me. I expalined to him what Celiac was and the seriousness of it. What he and the Board of Elders came up with is this:

I bought a box of the Ener-G communion wafers, mentioned in the above post. They are wonderful wafers, near identical to normal. I took the entire box to my Pastor who then consecrated them. They are stored in a very safe place in my home and each time I go to church I take a wafer with me. The Pastor and Elders know who I am, so as I go forward to participate in communion I hold up my wafer and they nod and let me pass. If there is a community cup for the wine at a service, I pass. If there are individual cups I partake of the wine.

I also splurged and purchased a portable communion kit. I bought this at FamilyChristian.com. I figured it was worth the purchase as myself and my two children are Celiac, and we enjoy traveling. In the kit is this wonderful brass wafer container which is removable. The Ener-G wafers magically fit just right. I keep my wafer in the small brass container so it has a safe trip from home to church in my purse.

As our congregation is very large, my Pastor is considering offering a gluten-free option during communion since after talking with me we both concurred that there are probably others who would appreciate it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I haven't approached the church yet and am moving in 2 weeks so I might take it up with the new church that I will be attending.

For now, I still go to mass but don't take the wafer. I remember times after church being really sick but not knowing from what. Only after learning about gluten did my husband and I see what it was doing to me.

My husband receives communion and I say a prayer when he returns....so I guess he takes it for both of us.

There is no way that I would eat the wafer knowing what I know now and remembering how I reacted.

I'm sure in light of health issues all will be forgiven but if you need to feel a part of the mass why not participate in another way like a reading or bringing up the gifts.

The wine is always another option although I am not comfortable with that for myself and lastly fidn out if you can bring your own communion wafers that are gluten-free and aks your priest if he would be willing to bless them for you.

Just my thoughts....good luck.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm trying to figure out what to do, too. I took communion this week and it was like I could feel the wheat go through my system (within a few minutes...and it hurt!) then I was really tired and foggy all afternoon. I know I shouldn't have taken it but I didn't want to *not* go, either. Sigh. I am going to have to go talk to the priest and see what we can do about it, because I don't want to make myself sick! So far I think that's the hardest part about this.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was so appalled at an article I read a few months ago about a young lady not being able to go through her first communion because she couldn't eat the wheat wafer. The bishop wouldn't recognize it unless she ate a certain percentage of wheat. Absolutely ridiculous. These guys are so full of themselves, they're completely ignoring what Jesus would do. Jesus certainly wouldn't want a young child to harm themselves.

Sorry, just had to comment. I used to be Catholic and this is even more reason to stear clear of THAT denomination...this way of thinking..it's just wrong. :angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You all have been soooo very, very helpful and encouraging. Thank you for the link that is awesome I can tell the healthfood the item #'s and hopefully get it local. I had never heard of a traveling communion kit, but that would be great to get and I'm going to look out for that. I just can't thank all of you enough. It is a Baptist church so I don't think we will run into the problems some of the Cathlic's have faced.

Thank you again,

Julie D. ^_^

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I go to a Australian made Pentecostal church similar to Assemblies of God. We have individual cups and a plate of wafers which are brought around.

If I remember, I take my own gluten-free wafer, other times when I forget, I take one from the plate, and then give it to my hubby.

The Pastor is very understanding and most of the congregation know I'm celiac.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I remember a while back on tv they had a girl and her mom talking about it that her daughters first communion was rejected because she was a celiac and could not have wheat.

My church lets me bring my own whenever we have communion they were very find about it too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I take communion, I just take the juice. I let the bread/waffers pass by.

Works for me!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The Ener-g version of the communion wafer has soy it it. Does anyone know of another manufacturer who uses another flour? Anybody have a recipe for matzoh that we can use for Passover and family Lord's Suppers?

We are at least blest that we don't run into problems at church...our pastor's wife is celiac and almost died before they figured it out. Needless to say, accomodations are made readily.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

http://www.benedictinesisters.org/index2.html has low gluten hosts

I do not know the ingredients of theirs, I am sure you can contact them and ask. call 800-223-2772 or email altarbreads@benedictinesisters.org.

Hope that helps.

-Jessica

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If you're Catholic, the Church does not accept a gluten-free host as being vaild for communion.

Article called:

Wonderful News for Catholics with Celiac Disease.

6/2/2004

http://www.celiacawareness.org/?pageId=91&vobId=138&pm=239

Quote: Enclosed with each package of hosts is an insert quoting from the November 2003 News Letter of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops Secretariat for the Liturgy concerning these low-gluten hosts:

" . . .. . approved for use at Mass in the United States.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Has anyone tried these hosts and were they well tolerated?

I'm afraid to try anything new especially since having reactions with the regular host before! but..................it's starting me thinking of possibly trying it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,639
    • Total Posts
      918,434
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      DH is celiac disease that appears on the skin (gluten triggered).  It does not appear when you are consuming dairy, which sounds like a separate issue for you.   A DH biopsy requires active lesions (new/fresh) from consuming gluten.  So, if you want to be tested via a skin biopsy you must go back on gluten.  Finding a dermatologist who knows exactly how to biopsy for DH is often difficult.  Be sure your Derm is knowledable and has biopsied for DH before. Why no endoscopy for now?  I bet your GI  knows that your insurance will deny the endoscopy.  After all, you tested negative to the blood panel.  Your GI should not even ordered the blood panel knowing that you had been gluten free for months.  You have to be consuming gluten daily for 8 to 12 weeks for the blood test to be accurate.   Did you ever test positive?  Why did your primary diagnose you?  Having the gene just means you can develop celiac disease.  Some 30% of the population carries the genes.  The gene test should only be used to help rule out celiac disease.  
    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      No one can say exactly how long you might be able to get a positive dh biopsy after having been gluten free as long as you have been. The Chicago Celiac Disease Center says this: http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/im-scheduled-to-have-a-skin-biopsy-to-screen-for-celiac-disease-should-i-maintain-a-gluten-containing-diet-similar-to-those-who-are-being-screened-via-blood-or-intestinal-biopsy/ http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/what-is-a-gluten-challenge/ You said you had a flare of the plaque psoriasis -- that is NOT dh so why do you think the dh biopsy will show positive? Testing positive for the celiac genes does not mean you have celiac disease. 30+% of the population have the celiac genes but only very, very small fraction of those people do or will present with celiac disease. The gene tests are only used to rule OUT celiac NOT to diagnose it. Frankly, I can understand why your GI does not put any stock in your Primary doc's thinking you have celiac disease. A positive celiac gene and the boils in your armpits which the GI never saw and were never biopsied for dh but they resolved on a gluten free diet and so did your plaque psoriasis. That's all the GI has to go on. I don't know why you are pushing an endoscopy. If you've been eating strictly gluten free then an endoscopic biopsy for celiac will be negative.  Your PCP should have done a celiac blood panel on you back when you were still eating gluten rather than dx you based on the celiac gene you tested positive for.
    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      I've been gluten free for a year now and my gastro wants to wait for the endocopy until I'm eligible for the colonoscopy when I turn 50 later this year. I don't think she believes I have celiac, even though I tested positive for one of the genes associated with celiac and my primary has diagnosed me as having celiac. The gluten sensitivity blood tests came back negative, of course, since I was gluten free for 9 months at that time. Why is she waiting? At any rate, My digestive system has improved greatly, but when I reintroduced non fat Greek yogurt in my diet, the plaques psoriasis returned on my elbows. My primary believes it is dermatitis herpetiformis (as well as I, since before going gluten free, I used to get boils in my armpits) and I'm scheduled for a skin biopsy in 3 weeks. However, I eliminated dairy from my diet 4 weeks ago and the plaques psoriasis is healing like it did when I eliminated gluten from my diet a year ago. If the scar is reduced to eczema, does that mean there still are IGA deposits in my skin? I don't want to resume dairy since I experienced a cross reaction to the casein in cheese and found lactose was on that same list. So my question is, how long do the granular IGA deposits remain in the skin in order to have a valid skin biopsy test performed for dermatitis herpetiformis? Since it takes 1-2 years for dermatitis herpetiformis to heal on a gluten free diet and I just had a recent flare up, can I continue on my dairy free diet or should I resume eating non fat Greek yogurt for the next 3 weeks just for this skin biopsy?
    • Celiac Night Vision
      Thanks Cristiana. It was Mistyx7 and night driving. Migraine type is very personal but does not appear to be closely connected to celiac or my peculiar scotomas. If you think going gluten-free has improved it that deserves a separate topic!
    • Burning Sensation
      The last post was from 2011.   if you can eat a regular pizza crust with no issue, then gluten isn't your problem.  You might want to look for something else.  The amount of gluten in a beer or fryer cc is very very small compared to eating a pizza crust.   I am assuming you do not have Celiac disease.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,732
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    SueJ
    Joined