#1 hwaters34

hwaters34

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 February 2005 - 08:05 PM

Hi All-

New to the site. I'm a Silly Yak (yahoo member). I'm 36, a celiac (dx 0ct 03) and have 4 kids, two with celiac disease.

I'm a teacher who is in grad school and am gathering my own research on celiac disease and school.

Q: How does the gluten free diet effect children's feelings about school? (But from the kids perspective--not the parents!!)

I'll be posting questions, and looking for kids to keep a "feeling" log during school in the near future--but I'm looking to see if people will be willing to help. I'll take all ages, including college.

Has anyone seen research focused on school from the kids perspective? I've been searching and have yet to find a close link. e-celiacs.org has an art on celiac disease in kids--but not hard facts stuff.

Thanks in advance for anyone willing to help. When the time comes, a letter from my school advisory board will be included--just saying that I'm for real. :)

Heather

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 MySuicidalTurtle

MySuicidalTurtle

"Like a rolling stone?"

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts

Posted 11 February 2005 - 10:43 PM

That is really interesting to think about. How did you come up with this topic? Is it from your own chidren since 2 have Celiacs and two don't?

I would think the answers would really vary depending on when the child was diagnosed. I was diagnosed my senior year of High School (and am now a sophmore in college) and am sure that the feelings I feel about school and Celiacs are very different from those of someone diagnosed when they were a baby or very young. When younger kids get diagnosed I am so happy because they won't remember how life was when they ate gluten (taste and pain -wise) as much as adults do.

I am sure you will find people willing to help you. Good luck!

Kristina

#3 hwaters34

hwaters34

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts