Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Is Rice Dream gluten-free Rice Milk Really gluten-free Now?


  • Please log in to reply

16 replies to this topic

#1 Gwen B

 
Gwen B

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 80 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 11:48 AM

Rice Dream rice milk used to use barley enzymes in the processing. It is now labelled as gluten-free but is it really? Just had a bad reaction to something and wondered if it was that or the chocolate I had last night - it said may contain milk and soy traces but I thought that I'd be ok. :huh: Bit cross because I've been sooo much better for the last few months. :angry:

I only wondered about the Rice Dream after reading an article in the last Celiac.com newsletter.

Anyone know about Rice Dream or other rice milk ingredients?
  • 0
gluten free 11/1/07
CF, SF, 02/08
posative Enterolab results 3/11/08
HLA-DQB1, Allele 0303
HLA-DQB1, Allele 0609
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,1 (subtype 9,6)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 jerseyangel

 
jerseyangel

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 20,939 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 11:54 AM

Rice Dream rice milk used to use barley enzymes in the processing. It is now labelled as gluten-free but is it really? Just had a bad reaction to something and wondered if it was that or the chocolate I had last night - it said may contain milk and soy traces but I thought that I'd be ok. :huh: Bit cross because I've been sooo much better for the last few months. :angry:

I only wondered about the Rice Dream after reading an article in the last Celiac.com newsletter.

Anyone know about Rice Dream or other rice milk ingredients?

Hi Gwen,

I spoke to the company after the label change--the formula has not changed, they still use barley in the processing of Rice Dream. They can label it gluten-free since the level of gluten in the finished product is so low.

Unfortunately, any level is too much for us.....I'm sure that's what made you sick. :(

I use Pacific Foods Rice Milks :)
  • 0
Patti


"Life is what happens while you're busy making other plans"

"When people show you who they are, believe them"--Maya Angelou

"Bloom where you are planted"--Bev

#3 Gwen B

 
Gwen B

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 80 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 12:10 PM

Hi Gwen,

I spoke to the company after the label change--the formula has not changed, they still use barley in the processing of Rice Dream. They can label it gluten-free since the level of gluten in the finished product is so low.

Unfortunately, any level is too much for us.....I'm sure that's what made you sick. :(

I use Pacific Foods Rice Milks :)


Thanks for such a swift reply. I will switch milks. I can't beleive they're allowed to say gluten-free and not mention the barley enzymes on the ingredient. That's just not fair. No wonder I have been lying awake feeling queazy for the last week or so. They only change I made was to Rice dream instead of almond milk/hempmilk. I avoided Pacific foods because I wasn't sure it was gluten-free/SF. I expect the Rice Dream was just building up in my body.

It really is a minefield all this labelling stuff. <_< Thanks again.
  • 0
gluten free 11/1/07
CF, SF, 02/08
posative Enterolab results 3/11/08
HLA-DQB1, Allele 0303
HLA-DQB1, Allele 0609
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,1 (subtype 9,6)

#4 sickchick

 
sickchick

    but you don't look sick.

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 07:19 PM

I can't have Pacific Foods because it has Carageenaan in it, are you intolerant of that that you are aware of? I think it has Soy Lecithin in it too...

check the label if you are LOL B)
lovelove
  • 0
Collette

Positive Bloodwork Oct 1st 2007. Gluten-free 3 YEARS Oct 1st!
Dairy & Soy free since Dec 1st 2007.
Potato free since January 3rd 2008.
Remaining Nightshades since April 1st 2008. Back on September 2010. :)
Developed Rice & Tapioca & Corn Intolerances...
NO Carageenan.

In a constant state of evolution... sending love! :)

#5 Juliebove

 
Juliebove

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts
 

Posted 03 August 2008 - 12:00 AM

I can't have Pacific Foods because it has Carageenaan in it, are you intolerant of that that you are aware of? I think it has Soy Lecithin in it too...

check the label if you are LOL B)
lovelove


Does not have soy lecithin. Daughter got very sick from Rice Dream.
  • 0

#6 sickchick

 
sickchick

    but you don't look sick.

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,137 posts
 

Posted 03 August 2008 - 09:25 AM

Cool, wasn't completely sure on that one, Julie! ;) B)
  • 0
Collette

Positive Bloodwork Oct 1st 2007. Gluten-free 3 YEARS Oct 1st!
Dairy & Soy free since Dec 1st 2007.
Potato free since January 3rd 2008.
Remaining Nightshades since April 1st 2008. Back on September 2010. :)
Developed Rice & Tapioca & Corn Intolerances...
NO Carageenan.

In a constant state of evolution... sending love! :)

#7 tom

 
tom

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,930 posts
 

Posted 03 August 2008 - 11:02 AM

I recently noticed a new (to me anyway) Trader Joe's rice milk, kept in the refrigerated section w/ the rest of the milk. I think it's gallon size only.
(The non-refrig one has been around for a very long time, I think, but has some ingred I shouldn't have. Don't recall what)


Does anyone use this refrigerated one or know it's ok?
  • 0
>>>>>>> tom <<<<<<<

Celiac 1st diagnosed as a toddler, in the 60s. Docs then, between bloodletting & leech-tending, said "he'll grow out of it" & I was back on gluten & mostly fine for 30yrs.

Gluten-free since 12-03
Dairy-free since 10-04
Soy-free since 5-07

#8 Gwen B

 
Gwen B

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 80 posts
 

Posted 06 August 2008 - 07:31 AM

Does not have soy lecithin. Daughter got very sick from Rice Dream.


Have been using the Wholefoods own 365 brand and am fine even though it does have carrageenan in it. Not sure if I'm sensitive to it anymore. I have slept much better anyway. My mother is using Rice Dream in the UK (also celiac and not healing as fast as I have) and although they don't list it as gluten-free but actually declare may contain traces of barley. She seems to think she doesn't have a problem with it. I wonder if it just builds up in your system gradually making you sick?
  • 0
gluten free 11/1/07
CF, SF, 02/08
posative Enterolab results 3/11/08
HLA-DQB1, Allele 0303
HLA-DQB1, Allele 0609
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,1 (subtype 9,6)

#9 Gwen B

 
Gwen B

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 80 posts
 

Posted 06 August 2008 - 07:34 AM

I recently noticed a new (to me anyway) Trader Joe's rice milk, kept in the refrigerated section w/ the rest of the milk. I think it's gallon size only.
(The non-refrig one has been around for a very long time, I think, but has some ingred I shouldn't have. Don't recall what)


Does anyone use this refrigerated one or know it's ok?


Trader Joes lists the rice milk on their "No Gluten ingredients used" list on their website but I haven't tried it yet, so don't know if it contains soy lecethin.
  • 0
gluten free 11/1/07
CF, SF, 02/08
posative Enterolab results 3/11/08
HLA-DQB1, Allele 0303
HLA-DQB1, Allele 0609
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,1 (subtype 9,6)

#10 Ginsou

 
Ginsou

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 360 posts
 

Posted 07 August 2008 - 01:43 PM

Well, I'll be.....I just started purchasing Rice Dream again because about 6 months ago some travel packs listed barley as an ingredient, so my husband drank them. I had been using Rice Dream for a while....even tho it was labeled gluten free, after about 6 weeks I began getting sick and for the life of me could not understand why.

Two days ago I purchased Rice Dream because the newer label said gluten free.....decided to try it again. I agree, Pacific Foods is not as good as Rice Dream, but after reading this my husband will have to drink the Rice Dream. I'll go back to Vance's and Better Than Milk. Recent blood tests show potato and corn problems, so I may also be in trouble with Vance's and Better Than Milk!!
  • 0

#11 GFinDC

 
GFinDC

    A little farting never hurt anybody... :-).

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,163 posts
 

Posted 07 August 2008 - 08:24 PM

I have been trying to figure out what glutened me this week. I only added a couple things to my diet that I hadn't been eating. Rice Dream milk with Rice Chex gluten-free cereal, and ground cumin and corriander spices (separate food).

Something definitely got me good and it's probably the Rice dream or the spices. But the spices are Mccormick and should be ok. My box of Rice Dream doesn't say gluten free but also doesn't list any gluten ingredients.

What the hey, I am tossing the Rice Dream milk and going to but some whole spices and grind them myself. Better not to have to think about these things. And better not to have to be awake all night too with symptoms..
  • 0
Proverbs 25:16 "Hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it."
Job 30:27 My bowels boiled, and rested not: the days of affliction prevented me.
Thyroid cyst and nodules, Lactose / casein intolerant. Diet positive, gene test pos, symptoms confirmed by Dr-head. My current bad list is: gluten, dairy, sulfites, coffee (the devil's brew), tea, Bug's Bunnies carrots, garbanzo beans of pain, soy- no joy, terrible turnips, tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, and hard work. have a good day! :-) Paul

#12 Ginsou

 
Ginsou

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 360 posts
 

Posted 09 August 2008 - 01:48 PM

I haven't checked the Rice Dream company website lately, but here is some interesting information.Info on rice dream
  • 0

#13 Shelly D.

 
Shelly D.

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
 

Posted 14 August 2008 - 08:26 AM

Because I don't like dairy milk and the phytoestragens in soy do a whammy on my PMS I have been drinking Rice Dream. After I read the previous messages I became concerned that I might be glutenating myself (again :( ) so I emailed Rice Dream Saturday and this was the reply I got this morning,

"Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding our Enriched Vanilla Rice Dream Beverage. We strive to maintain the highest quality products and appreciate your patronage.

Analytical testing methods and detection limits have improved over the years. Recent testing shows that the Rice Dream Beverages (as well as the barley protein used to make the product) meet gluten free requirements. This has probably been true historically, however analytical testing methods did not permit us to make this claim. We have always maintained a conservative stance regarding gluten in the beverages. The same rigorous standards now allow us to declare them gluten free. The formula and processing methods for Rice Dream beverages have not changed. Each batch will be tested appropriately.


Thank you for your continued support. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to contact us at 1-800-434-4246, Monday through Friday from 7AM - 5PM Mountain Time.


Sincerely,

George
Consumer Relations Representative


I guess I'll have to see what happens since I just ate a bowl of Koala Crispies with Rice Dream before I got on my computer.
  • 0
"AAARGH, it's drivin' me nuts"

Positive Ab. SIgA tests for milk, soy, egg, and gliandin July 9, 2008
Never cared for milk, and can't tolerate soy.
Gluten-free since July 9, still working on milk products and avoiding all of soy's many faces.
Diagnosed Celiac disease July 11, 2008
Added almonds and garlic to the list of intolerables Aug. 11

#14 Sinenox

 
Sinenox

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 76 posts
 

Posted 19 October 2008 - 09:44 AM

My understanding was that Rice Dream was at the lower threshold of what can be tested. If that's the case, what is to say that any of the other milks could be considered better? How can we be sure that they aren't processed with/exposed to gluten?
  • 0
Hereditary Celiac Disease
(misdiagnosed: thyroid, fibro., anemia, lupus, GERD, lactose intol.)
Possible additional sensitivity to soy, legumes.

All these strange symptoms are starting to make sense.
So happy to have found you all.

#15 ShayFL

 
ShayFL

    ShayFL

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,393 posts
 

Posted 19 October 2008 - 03:28 PM

It is true unless you make it yourself with whole foods, you cannot be certain about any processed food. I make my own almond milk now. I also make hazelnut milk too which is delicious. Im not eating any processed foods anymore. I dont lose sleep anymore over food either. :)
  • 0
GLUTEN FREE 4/4/08. LEGUME/SOY FREE 5/15/08. YEAST FREE. CORN FREE. GRAIN FREE. DAIRY FREE. I am eating all meats, eggs, veggies, fruits, squash, nuts and seeds. I just keep getting better every day. :)

Do not let any of the advice given here substitute for good medical care. Let this forum be a catalyst for research. Find support for any post in here before you believe it to be true. Arm yourself with knowledge. Let your doctor be your assistant. Listen to their advice, but follow your own instincts as well. Miracles are within your reach. You can heal!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: