Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Is Whey All Wheat Or Is There Milk Whey?


  • Please log in to reply

10 replies to this topic

#1 rmducote

 
rmducote

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 03:46 PM

I am a bit confused!! I know that whey is a wheat product, but there is also whey in lots of ice cream products and cottage cheeses. Is this the same thing or is it milk whey? Or is there a difference? I have just been assuming that all whey is bad whey. thanks a bunch for help!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 rmducote

 
rmducote

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 03:56 PM

Not sure if this posted the first time...
My question is: is all whey bad? I have been avoiding all whey, but have wondered if whey in dairy products is a different kind and ok?
  • 0

#3 Ursa Major

 
Ursa Major

    My grandson Eli, 12 months

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,513 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 04:02 PM

Not sure if this posted the first time...
My question is: is all whey bad? I have been avoiding all whey, but have wondered if whey in dairy products is a different kind and ok?


There is no whey in wheat, whey is always from dairy.
  • 0
I am a German citizen, married to a Canadian 29 years, four daughters, one son, seven granddaughters and four grandsons, with one more grandchild on the way in July 2009.

Intolerant to all lectins (including gluten), nightshades (potatoes, tomatoes, peppers, eggplant) and salicylates.

Asperger Syndrome, Tourette Syndrome, Addison's disease (adrenal insufficiency), hypothyroidism, fatigue syndrome, asthma

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#4 happygirl

 
happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 04:02 PM

Whey is gluten free and is a dairy product. http://www.celiac.co...ents/Page1.html
  • 0

#5 happygirl

 
happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts
 

Posted 02 August 2008 - 04:04 PM

(I merged the two posts since responses were posted on both)
  • 0

#6 rmducote

 
rmducote

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 32 posts
 

Posted 07 August 2008 - 06:40 PM

There is no whey in wheat, whey is always from dairy.

Well, I feel stupid now!! thank you! I thought is saw wheat whey listed somewhere
  • 0

#7 home_based_mom

 
home_based_mom

    Operation Christmas Child

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 768 posts
 

Posted 07 August 2008 - 08:37 PM

Little Miss Muffet sat on a tuffet,
Eating her curds and whey. ~~~~~~~~~~~~(more or less aka "cottage cheese")
There came a big spider,
He sat down beside her.
And frightened Miss Muffet away!

  • 0
Sandi ~ learning to live in a world obsessed and infested with wheat.
"You don't need a weatherman to know which way the wind blows" probably was not referring to us . . .
"For the love of money gluten is a root of all sorts of evil, and some by longing for it have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many griefs." (apologies to 1 Timothy 6:10 (NASB)
The person we most dislike is still a soul for whom Christ died. (David Jeremiah)

#8 John and Gemma

 
John and Gemma

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 25 July 2009 - 01:08 AM

Hello, we have been confused about this too. How come it olny sometimes says from dairy after it says Whey. If it is always from Dairy why does it only sometimes say this:

Whey Powder (Wheat)?

thanks.
  • 0

#9 ravenwoodglass

 
ravenwoodglass

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,791 posts
 

Posted 25 July 2009 - 03:26 AM

Hello, we have been confused about this too. How come it olny sometimes says from dairy after it says Whey. If it is always from Dairy why does it only sometimes say this:

Whey Powder (Wheat)?

thanks.


Perhaps they have added wheat to it either as a thickener, binder or to up the protein level. Whey is a dairy product though. Below I have pasted info from the Whey Protein Institute

http://www.wheyoflife.org/faq.cfm#21

What is whey protein?

A: Whey protein is a high quality protein powder from cow's milk. Milk has two proteins: Casein (approximately 80%) and Whey Protein (approximately 20%). Whey protein is more soluble than casein and also has a higher quality rating. It is often referred to as the "Gold Standard" of protein as it is the most nutritious protein available.



Q: Does whey protein contain gluten or wheat protein?

A: No, pure whey protein does not contain any gluten. However, protein bars and beverages often contain gluten so always check the product ingredient label prior to purchase if it is not allowed in your diet
  • 0
Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)


celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45
Blood tested and repeatedly negative
Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002
Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis
All bold resoved or went into remission with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002
Some residual nerve damage remains as of 2006- this has continued to resolve after eliminating soy in 2007

Mother died of celiac related cancer at 56
Twin brother died as a result of autoimmune liver destruction at age 15

Children 2 with Ulcers, GERD, Depression, , 1 with DH, 1 with severe growth stunting (male adult 5 feet)both finally diagnosed Celiac through blood testing and 1 with endo 6 months after Mom


Positive to Soy and Casien also Aug 2007

Gluten Sensitivity Gene Test Aug 2007
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)

#10 mushroom

 
mushroom

    Mushroom

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,448 posts
 

Posted 25 July 2009 - 07:31 AM

I have also found whey protein powders made from rice milk and hemp milk. Not sure of the protein content, but for those intolerant of dairy...
  • 0
Neroli


"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973
Lactose free 1990
(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's
Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004
Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007
Soy free March 2008
Nightshade free Feb 2009
Citric acid free June 2009
Potato starch free July 2009
(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009
Legume free March 2010
Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#11 John and Gemma

 
John and Gemma

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 25 July 2009 - 07:44 AM

thanks very much for that info.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: