Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Bovril Gluten Free Or Not
0

4 posts in this topic

I am new to this whole celiac and gluten free diet. Just found out I have celiac disease and have been trying to eat gluten free for the past six weeks. I have done pretty good up until now. Some say maltodextrin is safe others no. I ate Bovril, and English sort of spread on my gluten free bread at lunch and by dinner I had so much gas I could not eat very much. It took my hours before I felt better. My son who also has celiac disease, ate the same dinner as me and he was fine, so I'm thinking it was the Bovril. I hope someone can help answer the question about maltodextrin or Bovril for me. Thanks Diann

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I am new to this whole celiac and gluten free diet. Just found out I have celiac disease and have been trying to eat gluten free for the past six weeks. I have done pretty good up until now. Some say maltodextrin is safe others no. I ate Bovril, and English sort of spread on my gluten free bread at lunch and by dinner I had so much gas I could not eat very much. It took my hours before I felt better. My son who also has celiac disease, ate the same dinner as me and he was fine, so I'm thinking it was the Bovril. I hope someone can help answer the question about maltodextrin or Bovril for me. Thanks Diann

In the US, maltodextrin is derived from corn unless otherwise stated. I am not certain regarding English products. I would contact the company and inquire as to their gluten free status.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maltodextrin is safe. It is not made from a gluten-containing grain unless it specifically says so on the label.

The relevant US law says:

USA Code of Federal Regulations

Sec. 184.1444 Maltodextrin

CAS Reg. No. 9050-36-6. It is a nonsweet nutritive saccharide polymer that consists of D-

glucose units linked primarily by [alpha]-1-4 bonds and has a dextrose equivalent (DE) of less

than 20. It is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of

cornstarch, potato starch or rice starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes.

Note: FDA also permits the use of other starches including wheat. For example, if wheat is used

it must be labeled "wheat maltodextrin".

I don't know which Bovril product you ate, so I can't answer your specific question about gluten. If I recall correctly, Bovril liquids and powders are gluten-free, but the cubes are not. Check the label.

Bovril is made by Knorr, a division of Unilever. Unilever have a corporate policy that they will clearly disclose any source of gluten by including the name of the gluten grain in the ingredient list. So, look for the words wheat, rye, barley and oats. If you don't see any of them on a Unilever ingredient list, then you know that they are not hidden.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Maltodextrin is safe. It is not made from a gluten-containing grain unless it specifically says so on the label.

The relevant US law says:

USA Code of Federal Regulations

Sec. 184.1444 Maltodextrin

CAS Reg. No. 9050-36-6. It is a nonsweet nutritive saccharide polymer that consists of D-

glucose units linked primarily by [alpha]-1-4 bonds and has a dextrose equivalent (DE) of less

than 20. It is prepared as a white powder or concentrated solution by partial hydrolysis of

cornstarch, potato starch or rice starch with safe and suitable acids and enzymes.

Note: FDA also permits the use of other starches including wheat. For example, if wheat is used

it must be labeled "wheat maltodextrin".

I don't know which Bovril product you ate, so I can't answer your specific question about gluten. If I recall correctly, Bovril liquids and powders are gluten-free, but the cubes are not. Check the label.

Bovril is made by Knorr, a division of Unilever. Unilever have a corporate policy that they will clearly disclose any source of gluten by including the name of the gluten grain in the ingredient list. So, look for the words wheat, rye, barley and oats. If you don't see any of them on a Unilever ingredient list, then you know that they are not hidden.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.