Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Non Dairy/non Soy Butter


  • Please log in to reply

5 replies to this topic

#1 jknnej

 
jknnej

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2005 - 06:07 PM

Since so many here avoid the common allergens, how do you find butter that is non dairy AND non soy? I need help!
All I've found is soy butter, even at Trader Joe's and all of those health food stores.
Please help...
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2005 - 06:17 PM

Yep, I think if you're eliminating dairy and soy, you're out of luck on the butter front. You can usually sub oils (taking the water content difference into account) in most recipes, however.
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#3 jknnej

 
jknnej

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 729 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2005 - 06:19 PM

this is a dumb question, but, hey, who cares?
If you're eliminating eggs, too, can you use those egg beaters or liquid egg substitues?
  • 0

#4 tarnalberry

 
tarnalberry

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2005 - 08:03 PM

Egg Beaters are egg whites (and some additional ingredients). So unless you're only avoiding egg yolks, they're not ok. The ingredient labels on the packages are usually clear about this issue.

Ener-G makes a powdered egg replacer that contains no egg, but it may have soy, I'm not sure...
  • 0
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy
G.F. - September 2003; C.F. - July 2004
Hiker, Yoga Teacher, Engineer, Painter, Be-er of Me
Bellevue, WA

#5 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2005 - 10:28 PM

Ener-g Egg Replacer contains the following ingredients:
Potato Starch, Tapioca Flour, Leavening (Calcium Lactate*, Calcium Carbonate, Citric Acid), Cellulose Gum, Carbohydrate Gum.

*There is a note on it that says Calcium lactate is NOT derived from dairy. It does not contain lactose.

It appears that it doesn't contain soy. The product is really only useful for replacing eggs in baked goods. It wouldn't work for making omelets and such.
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#6 kactuskandee

 
kactuskandee

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 130 posts
 

Posted 17 February 2005 - 04:05 PM

I checked on Spectrum, and it contains soy...darn.

The only other alternatives, assuming you're not spreading it on toast and expecting it to taste like butter is Coconut oil, which is semi-solid, or ghee, which has had the water and milk solids removed, and considered safe for those who are allergic to dairy.

I'm in the same boat, so I just forget about it and use oils or the above in cooking.
:( :( :( :( :(

Kandee
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: