This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Intestinal Adhesions

LabGirl

LabGirl Newbie

Hi, I'm new to Celiac's disease and after reading some of your discussions that I came across during a google search, I was wondering if anybody has any info on my current dilemma! I was recently diagnosed after what I figure could be as much as 10 years or more of different problems. It wasn't until about 5 years ago when I became moderately anemic with no obvious cause that I started insisting to my primary care physician that there was something wrong with me. I have had several bouts with intestinal bleeding over the years and have had two children (which my doctor says has probably caused my lastest problem), and the other day I went in for a tubal ligation. I have never had any other surgeries other than 3 colonoscopies and 2 egds, but my intestines were "fixed in place" by adhesions/scar tissue. The doctor was not able to finish the surgery because he could never even get my uterus out from behind my colon. He tried making the incision twice as big as what is normally used and had 3 nurses helping him for over an hour. They finally decided to give up because they were afraid of perforating the bowel. He said he has never had anything like that happen to him before! I called the office of the gastrointerologist who diagnosed me, but they didn't give me any answers. Has anyone else had an experience similar to mine or heard of anything like this? My primary care physician admits that he knows nothing about Celiac's, and my gastrointerologist knew enough to diagnose me, but is an older doctor and based on some info he has given me, I have