Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Achol


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 bambi_liz

bambi_liz

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 15 February 2005 - 12:47 PM

Don't get me wrong- I am not a drunk. Actually I only drink at my company Christmas party, but I am wondering what do celiacs drink??? I found out I had celiac disease last May and I am too afraid to try any acholic bev. Somebody help....
  • 0
Positive Biopsy
Diagnosed May 2004-gluten-free Since!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 KaitiUSA

KaitiUSA

    Be the change you wish to see in the world!

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,583 posts

Posted 15 February 2005 - 12:56 PM

This is a link to this sites gluten free alcoholic beverages. Hope this helps :D

http://celiac.com/st...-21105561809.1b
  • 0
Kaiti
Positive bloodwork
Gluten-free since January 2004
Arkansas

Jeremiah 29:11- "For I know the plans that I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for you to prosper and not harm you,plans to give you a hope and future"

"One Nation, Under God"

Feel free to email me anytime....jkbrodbent@yahoo.com

#3 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,533 posts

Posted 15 February 2005 - 06:56 PM

Actually, you can drink almost any distilled alcohol, even if it is made from wheat or rye. The main things to avoid are beer and "malted" drinks, like wine coolers or things like Bacardi Ice or Zima.

richard
  • 0

#4 astyanax

astyanax

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 169 posts

Posted 16 February 2005 - 12:27 AM

cider is a good substitute for beer, all i've encountered (cider jack, strongbow, magners, woodchuck, woodpecker, K) are gluten free but HORNSBYS is NOT gluten free
  • 0
gXf since november 1998

#5 Guest_Leidenschaft_*

Guest_Leidenschaft_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 February 2005 - 04:42 AM

My last trip to the US was quite confusing regarding coolers... they were ALL labelled Malt Beverage... which, really they are not... I did eventually convince myself that the ingredients listed did not contain any malt, and I think I bought (almost a year ago now, so memory is foggy) Bacardi Twisters, and also Seagrams coolers?? Anyway, in Canada I enjoy most Vodka, Rum, AND wine coolers. The only ones that I've found with gluten are the Smirnoff Ceaser's! :( Darn! <_<
My hubby makes wine, so he keeps me in a good supply of red... and my other occasional favourite is Bailey's Irish Cream... that sometimes get's my lactose intolerance going though! :(
Anyway, don't be afraid, there's lots of great choices out there! Even some gluten-free beer if you're so inclined! I am afraid to try that at $20.00 per 6 pack!!! :blink: La Messagere
One of my clients gave me a bottle to try at Christmas time, it's still on my kitchen counter! :P A bit too pricey for this girl!
  • 0

#6 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,533 posts

Posted 16 February 2005 - 12:55 PM

Sorry, Tammi, but in the U.S. those drinks do indeed include malted barley. They are NOT gluten-free. In Canada, they have actual distilled alcohol, but not in the U.S.

richard
  • 0

#7 Guest_Leidenschaft_*

Guest_Leidenschaft_*
  • Guests

Posted 16 February 2005 - 02:18 PM

Hmmm, well that wasn't on any label that I read! :blink: The Seagrams would have been a rum base so would have been safe? Perhaps the vodka (smirnoffs?, I dont' remember) was from a potato source? I'll have to TRIPLE check next time I'm in the US...
Hmmm, maybe I should consider starting a gluten-free Alcohol Export company!!?? :lol:
  • 0

#8 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,533 posts

Posted 17 February 2005 - 06:36 AM

Are we talking about the same things? I'm talking about wine coolers, the Bacardi Coolers, Smirnoff Ice, Mike's Hard Lemonade, etc, that you can buy in the grocery store in four or six packs. Twelve-ounce bottles. Every one of these in the U.S. clearly says on the label that it's a malted drink, and in this case that means BARLEY malt. For these types of things, the label does not have to list barley. These drinks might have the name of a popular liquor, such as Bacardi or Smirnoff, but there isn't a single drop of those liquors in them in the U.S. As I understand it, national taxes on liquor would make them more expensive than research says the market will bear, so they're malted, like a beer, and flavored.

There are indeed mixed drinks in bottles that are sold the same places liquor is sold (laws differ in different states; in my state they're sold only in state-run liquor stores). Those do have liquor and are not malted.

richard
  • 0

#9 Guest_Leidenschaft_*

Guest_Leidenschaft_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 February 2005 - 09:41 AM

Hey Richard, wow, that's alarming!! :blink:
I had previously written a list of the drinks I enjoy here, however when I went searching for this site: New Brunswick Liquor Commission my original post content was lost! :angry:
Anyway, as I mentioned previously, the only coolers that I have found with gluten in the ingredients is the Ceaser drinks, showing that they are made by Motts. Anyway, if you're so inclined, you can have a search through the product list, it is quite extensive for coolers, both spirit based and wine based!
As I mentioned, I could be looking at a good export service! :D
  • 0

#10 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,533 posts

Posted 17 February 2005 - 09:57 AM

"As I mentioned, I could be looking at a good export service! "

Except the aforementioned U.S. tax would be so high nobody would buy them.

richard
  • 0

#11 Guest_Leidenschaft_*

Guest_Leidenschaft_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 February 2005 - 10:01 AM

Details, details... :D You were assuming this would be legal?? :o :lol: KIDDING!!
  • 0

#12 finally diagnosed

finally diagnosed

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 114 posts

Posted 18 February 2007 - 04:16 PM

i am wondering if cider jack is gluten free? i know that the wood chuck cider is and they are made from the same co. if anyone knows it would be great. thanks :)
  • 0

#13 gfp

gfp

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,311 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 12:33 AM

I did eventually convince myself that the ingredients listed did not contain any malt, and I think I bought (almost a year ago now, so memory is foggy)

Its completely possible to do the same with anything. Pizza, bread you name it you can convince yourself its gluten-free...

If you drink grain alcohol or alcopops then It must not be the gluten, you probably just suffer from IBS and the gluten has nothing to do with it. Beer is low in protein anyway so mightest well add that to the list, it washes down the pizza rather well.

In the end its your health, convince yourself of whatever makes you happy.... I know of a few celiacs who think an odd beer doesn't hurt, I mean how bad can it be?

Another really easy way to find gluten-free food is just take the labels off. Its really quite simple with some warm soapy water to remove lots of labels and then there is n0 gluten.

You can of course decide not to take chances .... but hey you might get hit by a bus tomorrow?
  • 0
Fere libenter homines id quod volunt credunt. (JC, De Bello Gallico Liber III/XVIII)

#14 Aizlynn

Aizlynn

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 44 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 02:14 PM

I seem to do fine when I make a martini with absolute vodka, but am worried about the olive because of viniger...are those olives safe?
  • 0

#15 CarlaB

CarlaB

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,049 posts

Posted 19 February 2007 - 02:27 PM

I seem to do fine when I make a martini with absolute vodka, but am worried about the olive because of viniger...are those olives safe?



The olives should be fine. It's flavored vinegars and malt vinegar that are problems.
  • 0
gluten-free 12/05

diagnosed with Lyme Disease 12/06


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: