Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ice Cream
0

37 posts in this topic

Hi!

I've read in several places that some ice cream contains gluten, but I eat a lot of ice cream and have yet to come across a brand that has it (besides in the obvious flavors like cookie dough, etc).

So now I'm curious... do any of you know which brands contain gluten?

Thanks for the help. B)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Gluten is not specific to Brands of anything.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Gluten is not specific to Brands of anything.

Well, what I mean is that if you were to look at the ingredients in each brand of vanilla flavored ice cream, every brand has a different recipe. So do some brands use gluten as a thickener in their recipe? And, if so, which brands?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most ice cream is gluten-free. It is not possible to make a sweeping generalization based on the brand--there are too many variables. When gluten is in ice cream, it is typically in something added to the formula to create a specific flavor. I don't know of any ice cream that uses a gluten ingredient to provide texture (there may be one that I don't know about).

Sometimes a general statement can be made about a brand. Godiva chocolate is not safe for celiacs. All Godiva chocolate is sweetened with barley malt. So, any Godiva product which contains chocolate is unsafe. I don't think Godiva has any products that don't contain chocolate. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blue Bell chocolate has wheat flour!!!!!!! WHY??? <_<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




We found out the hard way that the dixie cup type of ice cream is not gluten free. Now I just buy Breyers.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There's no brand I know of that doesn't have some gluten-free flavors.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There's no brand I know of that doesn't have some gluten-free flavors.

I could not have said that better if I hadn't tried. :rolleyes:

rob

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ben and Jerry's Cherry Garcia - don't do it!!!

Those natural flavorings got me in some serious trouble.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ben and Jerry's Cherry Garcia - don't do it!!!

Those natural flavorings got me in some serious trouble.

Really? I'm so sorry that gave you trouble! My all-time favorite ice cream flavor is Ben & Jerry's Vanilla Caramel Fudge and it doesn't give me problems.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ben and Jerry's Cherry Garcia - don't do it!!!

Those natural flavorings got me in some serious trouble.

Ben and Jerry's has a very clear gluten labeling policy. http://benjerry.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/benje...nZT0x&p_li=

"Should any of our products contain those grains (wheat, flour, barley, oats, rye, malt, etc.) the label would reference them. We understand that there are tricky ways that gluten can be missed. We assure you that we have researched our ingredients carefully, and we know exactly what is going into our ice cream."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sometimes a general statement can be made about a brand. Godiva chocolate is not safe for celiacs. All Godiva chocolate is sweetened with barley malt. So, any Godiva product which contains chocolate is unsafe. I don't think Godiva has any products that don't contain chocolate. :(

How do you know this??

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have seen some store brand chocolate ice creams in Canada that contain wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I contacted Haagen Dazs and they told almost all of their ice cream was gluten free, except for the ones they added something like cookies to. So I started eating the chocalate covered vanilla ice cream bars with little or no problems. Then I tried the chocolate malted chocalate covered ice cream bars, and my stomach and guts burned for about 24 hours. To me it's a crap shoot and sometimes you get snake eyes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I contacted Haagen Dazs and they told almost all of their ice cream was gluten free, except for the ones they added something like cookies to. So I started eating the chocalate covered vanilla ice cream bars with little or no problems. Then I tried the chocolate malted chocalate covered ice cream bars, and my stomach and guts burned for about 24 hours. To me it's a crap shoot and sometimes you get snake eyes.

Well malt is gluten..usually made from barley.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try Edy's brands. It's called something else west of the Mississippi.....Dreyer's I think. They have LOTS of

flavours. I think they are upfront about all labeling of gluten but I call them up. They will send you a gluten-free list

of their current flavours. I don't remember if they send coupons or not (alot of manufacturers do). They are

very friendly and helpful. Last year during the American Idol hoopla, they had like 5 flavours to pick from for

people to vote on and only one was supposed to make it as a permanent flavour. The "Take the Cake" flavour

I didn't think made it but I recently saw it at a store. It's a yellow cake with sprinkles flavour and it is (or at

least WAS) gluten-free. Funny I was never fond of cake and now that I can't have it........oh well......it's quite good.

Also the Edy's brand here in Chicagoland goes on sale quite freqently BOGO (Buy one get one free). Hope

this helps you out. I'm leaving the liberry now to go home and get some vanilla with chocolate syrup........

slurrrrrrp!.................Angel

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The "Take the Cake" flavour I didn't think made it but I recently saw it at a store. It's a yellow cake with sprinkles flavour and it is (or at least WAS) gluten-free.

What??? It's cake flavored and gluten free??? That's AWESOME! I'm going to see if I can find it somewhere...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I have seen some store brand chocolate ice creams in Canada that contain wheat.

That's REALLY good to know because my job takes me to Canada at least once a year. Thanks for pointing that one out!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Take the cake is really good very sweet It has yellow cake flavored ice cream with frosting swirls and color sprinkles in it.

Now if they can make this why can't they make the cookie dough without gluten?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I went to Jason's Deli today and asked if the soft serve had gluten. It does :angry: . No wonder it got sick the last time I ate there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Blue Bunny has a birthday cake as well. Really does taste like cake! My son loves it, but I have a hard time with cake having the texture and cold of ice cream!

For those of you missing cake...Kinnikinnick's chocolate and white cakes are fabulous and I've yet to find anyone who could tell they weren't made with wheat flour.

And for those missing cookie dough ice cream - Gluten Free Sensations chocolate chip cookie dough is amazing (well so are the cookies, but I'm partial to dough!). Drop spoonfuls of it in your favorite vanilla - yum! You can either freeze the drops first or add them unfrozen.

Yeah, I'm the Celiac mom with a HUGE sweet tooth! Thankfully my son helps to keep me eating healthy (mostly :rolleyes: ).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Most ice cream is gluten-free. It is not possible to make a sweeping generalization based on the brand--there are too many variables. When gluten is in ice cream, it is typically in something added to the formula to create a specific flavor. I don't know of any ice cream that uses a gluten ingredient to provide texture (there may be one that I don't know about).

Sometimes a general statement can be made about a brand. Godiva chocolate is not safe for celiacs. All Godiva chocolate is sweetened with barley malt. So, any Godiva product which contains chocolate is unsafe. I don't think Godiva has any products that don't contain chocolate. :(

That's awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
That's awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I couldn't agree more! ...and there's a Godiva store in the mall by my house that always has these amazing chocolate covered strawberries in the window, and I always want to eat them soooooo badly!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I usually buy the Wegmans brand and its labeled as gluten free. I need my ice cream.....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If you live anywhere that Kemps is delivered they offer alot of gluten free ice cream and it's yummy!! I was very surprised by the mint and spumoni.

The following is from their web site (www.kemps.com):

"Q.

Which Kemps products are gluten-free?

A.

A: Kemps products including milk, sour cream, cottage cheese and yogurt are gluten free.

Ice cream itself is gluten free but may contain inclusions which contain gluten.

Anyone looking for a gluten free product should avoid the following ice cream products:

ice cream sandwiches

ice cream cones

Ice cream flavors which have the following inclusions contain gluten:

apple crisp

brownie batter

brownie pieces

cake pieces

candies (may have a flour component that contains gluten)

cheesecake

cookie dough

cookie pieces

graham cracker

mint (the color contains gluten)

pie pieces

spumoni (the color contains gluten)

Products containing gluten are manufactured in the same manufacturing facility as gluten free products.

Kemp

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,124
    • Total Posts
      919,497
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I can't believe your doctors!!! You have a daughter who is dx'd already! Yet the ped doesn't want to test your other kids unless you have a dx????!!! Are you kidding me???!!! That's absurd!!! They have a first degree relative who has been dx'd with celiac already. There is no need to wait to see what you turn out to be!! And then, and then, and then....don't even get me started on your doctor!!! Does he have brain damage? Oh this is insane & ridiculous!  I have never heard of a disease that doctors are so unwilling to consider or test for OR to diagnose as this one! Usually they are hot to trot to make a dx but say the word celiac & they shake in their boots. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    • I had a negative biopsy and was still diagnosed with Celiac. My GI ran a bunch of tests looking for the cause of my 15+ years of diarrhea and the only thing that came back positive was the entire Celiac panel. All very high. So he performed an endoscopy with biopsy. The biopsy was negative. So he ordered a genetic test. When that came back as "high risk" he decided a trial gluten free diet was in order. After 8 weeks my symptoms resolved and my antibodies were back to normal. Since then, follow up testing had shown I have osteoporosis. I am a 40 year old male.  So yes, you can definitely still have it and have significant damage with a negative biopsy. 
    • Pork Fried Rice  (Gluten Free, Dairy Free) Prep time: About 15 minutes Cook time: About 10 minutes Makes: 3-4 servings   Ingredients: 4 Pork Chops,  1/2 teaspoon salt 1/4-1/2 teaspoons black pepper 1/4-1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional) 1 Tablespoon Coconut Oil 1/2 large or 1 small onion 2 large carrots 2 cloves garlic, minced 1/4 green cabbage, very finely sliced 1-2 heads of broccoli, roasted and salted(optional) 2-3 eggs 2-3 cups cooked white rice  2 Tablespoons gluten-free Tamari or Coconut Aminos Sriracha (optional)   Instructions: 1. Cut pork chops into small bite sized pieces.  2. Next add a tablespoon of coconut oil to a large wok and heat on medium-high heat for a about a minute.   3. Add your chopped pork chops to the wok and season with the salt, black pepper.  Cook for about 6-8 minutes or until lightly browned. 4. While your pork chops are cooking, dice your onion, mince your garlic cloves, chop your carrots and finely slice your cabbage. 5. Once your pork is lightly browned, add all your veggies and stir fry over medium-high heat fro about 5 minutes. 6. Make a hole in the middle of your veggies and add your eggs.  Scramble your eggs with a big metal spatula until they are cooked and then mix everything together. 7. Add your cooked rice and about 2 Tablespoons of Tamari. Mix everything together and cook for another 3-4 minutes or just enough to warm up the rice.
    • Annual celiac antibody testing is, in my opinion (and based on what celiac researchers have published), is critical, especially for a 12 year old.  Life is going to get harder for her.  Peer pressure is huge (I have a 15 year old daughter), and remaining diet compliant can be tough.   In Dr. Fasano's, Gluten Freedom, he discusses a young patient who became ill in high school after being gluten free for years.  His parents were perplexed.  Dr. Fasano took the young man aside and he confessed that while on a date, he didn't want to bring up his celiac disease.  So, he ate pizza.  He was too embarrassed to tell his parents.   My daughter does not have celiac disease.  She was first tested two years ago.  Since she is symptom free, is not anemic and her other lab work is fine, we'll wait to test her in another year.  It all depends on the patient, but every few years, testing is recommended for all undiagnosed first-degree relatives.   It certainly sounds like your younger children should be screened.   I wish you both well!      
    • Perhaps you should consider asking for a GI referral.  You might just skip the blood tests and go directly to an endoscopy/biopsies while you are still consuming gluten.  It is the "gold" standard for a celiac diagnosis anyway!   Here's the deal with going gluten free.  You can do it.  It costs nothing, but you must give it six months or longer.  You'd need to think like a celiac, but it can be done!  I'll tell you my tale.  My hubby went gluten-free 15 years ago per the very poor advice of his GP/PCP and my allergist.  After a year of mistakes and learning, he got well.  It worked!  Thirteen years later, I was formally diagnosed.  (It was a shock as I was only anemic at the time.)  Hubby would be the first to say that I have had way more support from family, friends and medical.  I must say, it's nice to see those lab results.  It really helped me adhere to the diet in the beginning too.   So, you know your medical situation.  You must do what's best for you!   I hope you feel better soon!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,161
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Jashan8534
    Joined