Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Jelly (jam) - Gluten Free?
0

6 posts in this topic

Hi,

We're having a cake competition at work and my colleague made a gluten free cake so I could have some. I know she used gluten free flour but I don't know if she would have thought to check the label on the jar of the jam (or jelly if you're American!). Anyone any ideas about if it is generally gluten free? I have really bad stomach ache today but I have done for the past few days (maybe I'm also intolerant to something else I don't know) so I can't tell if the jam would affect me

Kimmi

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Well, there shouldn't be any reason to put gluten in jam or jelly, but I wouldn't put it past some company to do it anyway.

However, I think it's more likely that the utensils she used had not been properly cleaned. But something like a flour sifter can pretty much never be gluten-free once it gets wheat flour all through it. And of course, cake recipes often recommend sifting the flour. Then there's the beaters, bowls, etc. She may also have used wooden spoons.

In Europe, the CODEX was only recently revised to specify 20ppm of gluten as gluten-free. Before that it was 200ppm, which many do react to. If your country follows that standard, then that's an additional consideration. So it will also depend on the ppm of gluten in the ingredients, and your particular level of sensitivity.

BTW, we have both jam and jelly in America. They are two different things.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see well I didn't know what you call it having never been to America... maybe that's why I was confused. Either way, thanks for your advice. I'm pretty new to this and hadn't thought about utensils. It could well be utensils that are causing the problem seeing as I share them with my housemates. I can't work out if its just gluten I'm intolerant to or if there's anything else. I guess its a case of trial and error!

Kim :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I see you are new at this so you haven't had time yet to find out that you should never trust food made by friends, family, coworkers, neighbors or anybody else that is not totally familiar with the gluten free lifestyle. Just because they used gluten free ingredients (or at least thought they did) does NOT mean the finish product is gluten free. The threat of cross contamination is too great.

The jam or jelly was almost certainly not the problem - unless of course it was an opened jar that had previously been used to spread on gluteny bread and the contaminated knife was put back into the jar, thereby contaminating the entire contents. :blink:

You should not be sharing any utensils or preparation surfaces or non stick cookware or condiments or sponges or kitchen towels or . . . . . . with your gluten eating housemates because you will get sick from the cross contamination.

Think of gluten as dog poop. Anything it has touched is contaminated until cleaned, If what it touched is porous cannot be cleaned thoroughly, such as wooden spoons and cutting boards, or colanders or non-stick pans, then you need to get new ones.

Yes it's a hassle and yes it's necessary and yes it's worth it! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not all jam is gluten free. Somebody posted about some kind with wheat based glucose syrup in it. I can't remember what brand. And if they were using a jar that had been previously used, the knife could have spread crumbs into it. I'd also be willing to bet the pans used or as other said the utensils were not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




...but I don't know if she would have thought to check the label on the jar of the jam (or jelly if you're American!). Anyone any ideas about if it is generally gluten free?

Kimmi

One of my first horrified label-reading discoveries was gluten in Rose's English Marmalade. That was when I realized that they will put gluten in anything at all for no apparent reason. I guess they wanted it to be thicker!! :angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,354
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Oh, Trish at the GlutenFreeWatchDog tested Planter's honey roasted peanuts three years ago.  The can did not state gluten-free, but showed no gluten ingrediants (per Kraft policy).  Test result: less than 5 part per million which is pretty much gluten-free.  
    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,133
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Mycaringkidsmom
    Joined