Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Halloween Candy
0

11 posts in this topic

This is our first Halloween gluten-free, since my oldest daughter was just diagnosed with a gluten allergy. I looked on a PDF from this website listing all gluten-free candy/chocolate, but the updates listed were from 02-04. We also look for products without maltodextrin, modified corn/food starch and MSG.

I'm having problems finding ingredients on Hershey's and Mars products in particular, as they are not posted on their websites. Snack size products, like the ones given on Halloween, do not list ingredients so I cannot check. I have submitted e-mail requests for ingredients information from both candy makers.

I know Toostie Rolls are gluten-free per their website and I've checked ingredients on M&Ms, Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, Snickers and various Wonka products. I'm right now looking for 3 Musketeers, Starbursts, Hershey bars, Twizzlers, and LifeSavers.

Does anyone have any insight for me or an updated list?

Thanks!

Beth

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hi.

From what I know it goes like this....Starbursts, Skittles, Nerds, Runts, & Laffy Taffy's are gluten-free. Lifesaver Gummies are gluten-free. Not sure about regular kind. I'm also not sure about 3 Musketeers. My memory says it's not though. Milky Way Midnight (not regular kind) are gluten-free. Some Hershey's minis are gluten-free are and some are not. Not sure which is which. Hershey kisses are gluten-free. Jellybellies are gluten-free. Also not sure about Twizzlers. I bet someone else knows and will post.

Happy Trick or Treating! :P

Sonya

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Twizzlers are NOT gluten free! In fact, it is very hard to find a gluten free licorice as most contain wheat. I love red licorice and have never found a gluten free version. :angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Twizzlers are not gluten-free. I know Butterfinger, PayDay, all 3 Musketeers, Skittles, Baby Ruth, Almond Joy, Junior Mints, Nerds and Laffy Taffy are all gluten-free.

Here's a great list:

http://connceliac.Lame Advertisement/candy.htm

Happy Halloween!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Here's a great list:

<a href="http://connceliac.Lame Advertisement/candy.htm" target="_blank">http://connceliac.Lame Advertisement/candy.htm</a>

Happy Halloween!

Oh no, I was interested in checking out the list, but the board changed the url to "Lame Advertisement." Can you maybe type it out differently (like connceliac dot ____ slash candy dot htm)?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Mars will disclose any gluten in their ingredients (they will not hide it in other ingredients). I think three musketeers is made my Mars, so all you need to do is read the label. I think I remember it being gluten free. Wonka/Nestle will also disclose their ingredients. Last October when I called Tootsie Roll they said ALL of their products are gluten free. Palmers makes seasonal candy and they have a gluten free list online. You cannot assume anything made by Hersheys (like Peanut Butter cups) are gluten free unless it is plain chocolate or chocolate with almonds.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry about that!

Here it is again. Let's see if it works!

http://connceliac dot tripod dot com slash candy.htm

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Does anyone have problems with reeses peanut butter cups?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I love red licorice and have never found a gluten free version. :angry:

Running Rabbit used to make a gluten-free red licorice, but I recently read that they have gone out of business. Candy Tree is another gluten-free red licorice option.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,098
    • Total Posts
      920,347
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I eat them with no issues and know several other Celiacs that eat them with no issue.
    • I am sorry that you are sick! i think you need to really adhere to a gluten free diet that consists of ONLY whole foods (no processed gluten-free foods) and do not go out to eat, until you start to see improvement.  Each tiny gluten exposure can set you back.  It sounds like you really became even more ill after the gluten challenge.   I was just anemic when diagnosed.  I waited seven weeks for my endoscopy due to work issues, so i took the time to consume lots of gluten.  Like a loaf of sourdough per day not to mention all the cakes, cookies that I loved.  (Okay, I just ate a few out of each package......)  by the end of seven weeks, I knew I had celiac disease.  I had a bloated stomach visible under my left rib cage, pinching when I bent over, indigestion, etc.  Not to mention some weird Fibro pain my my shoulders, tingly legs, etc.   Most resolved, but it took about two years. If you  ask for thyroid panel, be sure it includes testing for thyroid antibodies.   
    • My daughter, who is almost 21 and has celiac disease, was diagnosed with Epilepsy a year ago. Hindsight being 20/20, we realized she had been having seizure since she was a teenager but the random passing out and feelings of being 'out of it' were attributed to dehydration or poor nutrition and sleep habits during numerous trips to the emergency room. In our reading about Epilepsy, I have found some mention of celiac and gluten issue connections and even where a strict adherence to a gluten-free diet provided a lot of improve the with frequency and severity of seizures.  I would be interested to know if anyone else shares this experience.
    • I have also reacted to various Planters products, believing them to be safe because gluten is not listed in the allergens but have had almost identical reactions to yours.  It did not occur to me that I might be getting zapped from them until just recently when I ate some of their Salt and Vinegar almonds and became really ill and then recognized that I had reacted to them before. I have notice in the past few months that the 'Hermans' brand nuts, which have never mentioned wheat in their allergens now carries the 'processed in a plant that processes wheat' disclaimer.  It makes me wonder if all nuts are processed in the same manner and if all nuts and nut products should be considered unsafe? I know that I will not trust the Planters brand any longer regardless of whether wheat is listed or not.
    • I've heard some people say that they're gluten free, and some say they're not.. I had a container of planter's cashews that I ate a few days ago and I haven't been feeling that great since then. I thought I was fine, but yesterday I woke up with a headache and was feeling really gassy all day. Then since last night, every once in a while I'll have some stomach cramps. They last for a few minutes and then go away.. that has happened 3 or 4 times since last night. It seems weird that I wouldn't have a reaction right away though.. or at least within a few hours of eating them. I ate some on thursday and on friday, and I didn't really start to feel sick until saturday. It's been a while since I last got glutened though, so maybe my reaction has changed? Or maybe I'm being paranoid and I just ate too many cashews haha. But that's the only thing I've eaten in the past like 2 weeks that was different. Has anyone else had a problem with planter's nuts?
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,131
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Feralgurl
    Joined