This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Need Some Help And Advice For Child With Celiac

katdw

katdw Rookie

Hi, I am fairly new to all this. My daughter who is 10 has celiac. She has had all the blood work and a biopsy performed. We have seen the nutrionist and she gave me a bunch of info. But we are struggling though with foods that she likes. Before being diagnosed with this she was a picky eater and now to get her to eat gluten free is even more of a challenge. I need some good ideas, recipes, advice anything you guys can give me to help with my daughters diet. I dont want her to feel abnormal or left out so I want to provide her with things other kids like and eat. She loves mac and cheese, any kind of pasta(no sauce), tortillas, tacos etc. She is not a meat eater so this really concerns me as well. Sorry to go on and on, I just need some pointers on how to shop for her and some ideas. I also wanted to mention we just purchased a bread machine so any good breads would be appreciated to. We tryed the Glutiono and it was not that good.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

MaryJones2 Enthusiast

Hi - A lot of people recommend Wheat-Free, Gluten-Free Cookbook for Kids and Busy Adults by Connie Sarros. You could also try Amy's rice mac and cheese, Ian's gluten-free fish sticks and chicken nuggets, and Van's wheat free waffles.

Mother of Jibril Enthusiast

I'm sorry this won't help much in the short term, but...