Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Skyy Vodka
0

13 posts in this topic

I can't seem to find what exactly SKYY Vodka is made from. The company website says it's distilled from grain, but WHAT grain? Wheat or corn?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I don't know the answer to you question, but this might help:

http://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Glute...ages/Page1.html

Thanks, Momma Goose! :)

I've actually read through that before, and it's VERY interesting, in fact, it's sort of the reason I am curious. I went out last night, and today my insides feel absolutely horrible (aching, cramping, diarrhea.) I did not get horribly drunk, and this is not a hangover. I drank vodka, which is of course is gluten-free, but in that thread, I remember reading about people who had a reaction to alcohol distilled from grain, regardless of gluten content.

I'm just trying to figure out what would have caused such a bad reaction. It could be mixing brands of vodka. (We went to 4 places, and all 4 carried different brands of vodka, oy vey.) I drank Tito's, Smirnoff (which are both made from corn), Skyy, and Absolut. I don't think it was the Skyy, since I had that first and felt fine. I drank the Absolut last, and for some reason, I took a sip of it, and didn't want to drink it anymore.

Anyway, I'm just trying to find the culprit...

Has anyone had similar experiences?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
but in that thread, I remember reading about people who had a reaction to alcohol distilled from grain, regardless of gluten content.

Yes, there are some sensitive people here that do react to grain based distilled alcohol. Raven, where are you???

This might tell you: http://www.skyy.com/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't know about Skyy, but Chopin Vodka is distilled from potatoes.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I'm not able to buy Chopin here (I live in a very small town right now) but was able to find Luksusowa, which is made from potatoes as well.

I checked the Skyy website, and while it was very glitzy, I couldn't find any real information. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

did you have any flavored vodkas? sometimes flavorings added have gluten in them. and i remember reading somewhere that flavored absolut is bad for celiacs. but don't quote me, i'm not sure if that is 100% true, just an idea.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Nope, no flavorings. My only thought is the cranberry juice, though I don't know why it would contain gluten. (HFCS yes, yuckkkkkkk.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ugh- considering I have been glutened by OJ, nothing would surprise me but I know I stick with corn or potatoe vodkas (Smirnoff, Chopin). But another thought occurred to me- CC either in a glass that wasn't clean or a beverage nozzle. You figure with many different alcohols in a bar, it's a possibility?

Hope you feel better!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Skky Vodka is advertised as being gluten free, it's derived from Corn. It says so on their website..you just have to search a bit for it

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks modiddly 16!

I could find that it was distilled from Midwestern grain, but couldn't find if it was corn or wheat. Thanks for the info!

This is the 3rd day of me being sick from whatever I had on Friday, this is crazy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, there are some sensitive people here that do react to grain based distilled alcohol. Raven, where are you???

This might tell you: http://www.skyy.com/

Hello Momma Goose. Long time no speak. The potato Vodka is the best Vodka, but be careful they don't add anything back in. The industry has come up with so many flavors for hard liquer that you can't tell what they use to flavor it with. Distilling should kill the gluten protein, but if they add a glutenous substance back in then it defeats the purpose.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Yes, there are some sensitive people here that do react to grain based distilled alcohol. Raven, where are you???

This might tell you: http://www.skyy.com/

Raven's computer crashed big time, I am back now with my old comp but a virgin system.

I do react to the gluten grain distilled vodkas and also the grain distilled vinagers. It is not the norm though as most do tolerate. For me it is obviously a gluten reaction because it will cause a DH outbreak followed by the usual I got glutened symptoms.

What I do with any alcohol I question, or anything else for that matter is to challenge. I have some everyday for a week and watch for a reaction. Then if I have no reaction to the item it is added into my diet.

It would be hard to say if the reaction the OP is talking about is from the vodka or from CC issues. There is nothing wrong with being a loyal ______ drinker. Find one or two brands that you tolerate and then when you go out drink only those brands.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,345
    • Total Posts
      920,489
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I am sorry that you are sick!   Unfortunately, all celiac testing requires you to be on gluten.  😔.   Testing is usually not over until you get an actual diagnosis, but it appears that you may very well have celiac disease.    Here is more information: http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ http://theceliacmd.com/2015/06/six-reasons-to-test-for-celiac-disease-before-starting-a-gluten-free-diet-3/ in the meantime, you can eliminate dairy products temporarily.  It may provide some relief.  
    • Karen, the iodine test was a test for DH used in the 'olden' days. Iodine would be swabbed onto a spot and then it would be covered with a bandage. If someone had DH the iodined area would break out in lesions. I don't know how but we do know iodine can activate the antibodies. That is why some of us with DH have to avoid iodine in foods until the antibodies have cleared the dermis. OP, if you haven't been tested for celiac you should be and if you have active lesions a biopsy done next to a lesion by a DH knowledgable dermatologist may help in diagnosis.
    • The gluten-free diet (GFD) is the only validated treatment for celiac disease (celiac disease), but despite strict adherence, complete mucosal recovery is rarely ... View the full article
    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats of gastro in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from which looking back may have been related. Then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! I'm also still recovering from last Friday and wondering when I'm going to feel better. I've stayed off gluten and dairy since my blood result a couple of days ago but feel like I'm allergic to food in general.  Thankyou!!    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,415
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Ails123
    Joined