Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Jamba Juice/starbucks
0

30 posts in this topic

Maltodextrin is generally safe. :)

It sounds like it has WRBO in it, but it doesn't. I believe it's derived from corn.

hmmm. i have always been told to stay away from anything with "malt" or "dextrose" since you cannot be sure what the base ingredient is...

perhaps i can relax this rule?? i will do some reading about this.

thanks for the info -- and i will post when i hear back from starbucks re: CBB.

~wendy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
hmmm. i have always been told to stay away from anything with "malt" or "dextrose" since you cannot be sure what the base ingredient is...

perhaps i can relax this rule?? i will do some reading about this.

thanks for the info -- and i will post when i hear back from starbucks re: CBB.

~wendy.

Maltodextrin is ok. I picked up a subscription to the Gluten Intolerance Group Magazine and it has been very useful. Turns out a lot of stuff I initially cut were ok because of the new labeling guidelines and rules on how things are defined. Their web site is www.gluten.net, maybe you can get some back issues that talk about the new labels. The new FDA guideline for labels made a big difference, but they only had to start printing them January 1, they are still using the old stock of labels or some of the food is older so watch out for that. Usually you can tell because it will list milk or soy as an ingredient but not have the comment "contains: Milk/Soy". Bob's Red Mill makes a good chocolate cake mix, and make home made icing with cocoa from the recipe on the container. One major brand of icing has gluten the other has soy, so that is a problem if you can't tolerate soy too. I switched to Lactate milk because when you are first diagnosised you are going to be lactose intolerant too (lactase is made at the ends of the villi which are damaged). You may be able to tolerate it better later, but make get similar symptoms from milk as you do from gluten initially. I just started to be able to eat cheese after about 8 months gluten-free. Everyone at work ate the cake and had no idea it was gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I used to go to Starbucks, they were very nice about letting me read the labels on their syrups & such. I used to keep it simple & get lattes most of the time... then I got an espresso maker & now I make my own. It's not quite as tasty, true, but I haven't made myself sick yet!

On cakes:

I'm very fond of flourless chocolate cake. Most recipes have a token 2tbs. of flour that you can just leave out altogether. And you can dust the pan with cocoa instead of flour. I also love the traditional Spanish Almond Cake, which is made without flour. Of course, none of these have that wonderful, fluffy "birthday cake" texture, but they are the cakes I've managed to cook successfully. I'm still trying to get the hang of baking with alternative flours...

:)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Jamba juice has a list of gluten free items. Everything by ingredient, very through. Surprisingly there soy milk is not gluten free. Whey protein is.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a head's up folks! Except for the post today - the product info on this thread is almost 7 years old. That is a long time for a product. Ingredients may have changed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0