Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

7-eleven Slurpees


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 shannonr

shannonr

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 15 March 2005 - 10:28 AM

Hi!! My first time doing this.....I have a son who has Celiac...Does anyone know if 7-eleve Slurpees are Gluten Free?? I have tried to contact them, but they are not very helpfull...Thank's ...Shannon
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 lovegrov

lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,534 posts

Posted 15 March 2005 - 01:26 PM

gluten-free last time I checked.

richard
  • 0

#3 VegasCeliacBuckeye

VegasCeliacBuckeye

    Advanced Community Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,236 posts

Posted 15 March 2005 - 01:59 PM

Here is the reply I received from the Coca - Cola company regarding Slurpees.

Thank you for contacting The Coca-Cola Company, Mr. Burk.

We are able to confirm that Coca-Cola classic, caffeine free Coca-Cola classic, Coca-Cola C2, Diet Coke, Diet Coke with Lemon, Diet Coke with Lime, caffeine free Diet Coke, Sprite, Sprite ReMix Berryclear, Diet Sprite Zero, vanilla Coke, diet vanilla Coke, cherry Coke, Fresca, and our 100% juice products (without added ingredients) are gluten free.

Additionally, we can tell you that all of our other products meet Codex's definition of gluten-free, which is less than 200 ppm (0.02%) gluten. Codex has examined the data and determined that less than 200 ppm gluten is below the level in which people with celiac disease would experience adverse reactions. However, at this time the U.S. Food and Drug Administration does not have a regulatory definition of gluten-free.

We can assure you that the exact amount of gluten in these products is very low - perhaps even zero. Some minor ingredients in these products are manufactured from plants that gluten-sensitive people could react to, so we are unable to state categorically that they are totally gluten-free even though they may have undetectable levels of gluten in them. The Codex guideline provides a very low threshold for gluten content and exposures below this level are not expected to result in damage to the majority of gluten-sensitive individuals. However, extremely gluten-sensitive individuals should discuss consumption of these products with their health care provider.

We hope that this information is helpful. Should you have additional questions or comments, please visit our website again.

Lesley
Industry and Consumer Affairs
The Coca-Cola Company
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: