Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Nestle's Hot Chocolate
0

18 posts in this topic

I just started using Nestle's hot chocolate mix last month after seeing on this site that it is gluten free. Unfortunately, I just bought a new box and it no longer says that it's gluten free. It now says it is made in a factory that processes wheat.

Be careful! Check the box before using.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

The fact that it's made in a facility that also has wheat doesn't necessarily mean it isn't gluten-free. I eat --and so do many people with celiac -- a number of items made in facilities with wheat. Every time you eat a restaurant, you're doing the same thing. It's simply a matter of choice.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its important to note that the product and processing may not have changed from when it said gluten free. They may have just updated their labels. (Meaning - if it was gluten free then, it would still be gluten free now).

A shared facility does not mean it contains gluten. Most places are "shared" (including many homes and work environments).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did it actually ever say gluten-free on the box, or were you just assuming it did because people said it was gluten-free? I didn't think Nestle labeled things gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

wow are you sure about this one?

Judy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Per a phone call this morning to Nestle, all of their hot cocoa products are gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Per a phone call this morning to Nestle, all of their hot cocoa products are gluten free.

Thanks Laura

Judy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
wow are you sure about this one?

Judy

Yes barley malt can be hidden and is one of the most risky items for us. Wheat has to by law be on a label, barley and it's malt as well as oats and rye don't. One of the reasons why I always call with the words 'natural' flavors on a label unless it is from a for sure 'doesn't hide gluten' company. Rice Dream is one company that hides barley malt in this way and others do also.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Barley malt is not listed as an ingredient.

The box previously was labeled gluten-free. The new boxes are not.

I understand the cross contamination issue, however, I've gotten very sick on several products that contained no gluten, but were produced in a factory that processed wheat products. As a result, I try to stay away from those products whenever possible.

Joe

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The ingredients have not changed, nor has the processing changed (per phone call). It was gluten free then, and is gluten free now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep I can confirm the old boxes said gluten free.

We just had this discussion at the grocery story. We rarely buy it in the first place and when we did the wife always bought Nestle because it was the only one that said gluten free.

With the power outage all last week and no heat we picked up a few boxes and immediately noticed not gluten free.

A box later no problems but you never know. I don't think they can put the gluten-free label because its not an exclusive factory?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally, I still trust the Nestle's but if you would like for your hot chocolate to be labeled gluten free (and be cheaper), check out the Great Value (Wal-Mart) brand.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

Nestle and their other company Wonka candy will disclose any gluten in their products. All you have to do to determine if it's gluten free is read the label. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try Stephen's Gourmet Hot Cocoa. It's labeled "Gluten Free" and it is delicious. And less expensive (oz for oz) than Nestle, at least at my local Winco.

( http://www.indulgentfoods.com/ )

I don't know about possible cc issues with them, although I have sent an inquiry through their website, and will post when I hear back. I am not a super-sensitive Celiac so the fact that I haven't had a problem with it probably is not a good benchmark for others to follow.

Guittard also makes a "Drinking Chocolate" but it's fairly spendy and I've never seen it in the store. It can be ordered on their website:

( http://guittard-online.stores.yahoo.net/bakingproducts.html )

According to the FAQ at guittard.com, they do not produce any gluten-containing products in their factory. I bought some of their butterscotch chips at the store the other day. They've got a to-die-for-looking butterscotch brownie recipe on their website that I'm going to try using rice flour as a substitute.

I avoid Nestle for reasons of conscience anyway, so I've been on the lookout for alternative-hot-cocoa-mixes for a long time. :)

-Elizabeth

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Nestle and their other company Wonka candy will disclose any gluten in their products. All you have to do to determine if it's gluten free is read the label. :)

________________

Then why change the label ?

From a legal standpoint, if they do not label the package "gluten free" they don't have to make it that way, be consistent from batch to batch, nor do they have to guarantee that the item is that way.

It says the consumer must take the initiative to contact them repeatedly, and then rely on verbal confirmation that the item has not hidden anything in the ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was thinking ok I'm gonna check my nestle box it says made in same equipment with wheat processed foods

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was thinking ok I'm gonna check my nestle box it says made in same equipment with wheat processed foods

Please notice that this thread is over 3 years old. Products can change in that time. Always read the package for the most up-to-date ingredients.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,633
    • Total Posts
      918,414
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • healthy bread recipe?
      Ok thank you for the input! I am happy to hear what you think about her biopsy. Her GI is actually getting a second opinion from the celiac specialist. Our appointment is in a week. I have always thought she had celiac too. I asked them to do a biopsy years ago and they did but it was normal. She has more neurological symptoms than GI. She has headache and POTS. But she was reacting to all kinds of foods all of the sudden a few months ago. The low histamine diet really helped and she tolerates more foods now. I make almost everything from scratch, there is no gluten anywhere in the house and I don't use gums because she and I react to them. Breakfast is the hardest. Eggs are high histamine, she can't have oats, can't have fermented foods (yogurt), Breakfast is a nightmare. Many fruits and veggies are high histamine. She eats the ones she can tolerate. That's why I was asking about breads. What do you eat for breakfast? Are flax seeds safe or are they like oats? I can't find any flax seeds that say certified gluten free.
    • Diagnosis and Test Results
      I have been struggling with  symptoms for over a year and had lots of other testing done by my GI.  She did the celiac disease blood test a few weeks ago.  It came back positive for the two genetic markers but my antibodies were negative.  I received the results by phone from the (stupid) nurse who only relayed to me that "your tests showed that you are positive for Celiacs Disease.  you need to go on a gluten free diet and follow up in a few months".  I was so surprised by what she said it didn't even occur to me to call the doctor directly so I took it upon myself to research the disease and going on a strict  gluten free diet.  The first two weeks were horrible!  EVERYTHING I ate gave me diarrhea.  After two weeks, I started to feel better but anytime I inadvertently ate gluten by accident or was cross contaminated, I had horrible diarrhea again.  I spoke with my GI doctor today (I work at the hospital where she works) and she explained the blood results better to me.  (I still haven't expressed my anger about the nurse to her yet...but I will!) It doesn't make sense to me that I have the gene, have been experiencing IMO full blown symptoms (significant weight loss, malnourished, diarrhea, migraines, increased depression/anxiety, etc) but my antibody test was negative.  Could it be lab error?  I asked about an endoscopy and she said we could do it but it still may not confirm the disease.  I've also researched IBS and I don't seem to match up with those symptoms. Part of me wants to know if I have a gluten intolerance or the actual disease.  Either way I'll continue to follow the gluten-free diet but I think it's important to know if I have an autoimmune disease correct?  Or does it? Just looking for some guidance...
    • healthy bread recipe?
      Absolutely, absolutely, absolutely!!!!!!! Your doctor seems to think all her villi have to be completely wiped out for her to be celiac. Like cyclinglady says.... get the records & get a second opinion. BTW, I happen to agree with all the rest she said too but I just wanted to emphasize the second opinion part.  
    • Nothing left to eat
      I usually have sautéed yellow peppers, kale (or spinach) mushrooms as a base.  Then throw in some leftovers like baked sweet potato, or chicken chunks, add an egg and call it a breakfast!
    • glutened by lays potato chips?
      Lay's regular chips are gluten free.  You might have reacted to the super greasy chips or one of the other ingredients in them. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,723
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Kellybrav
    Joined