Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Nestle's Hot Chocolate
0

18 posts in this topic

I just started using Nestle's hot chocolate mix last month after seeing on this site that it is gluten free. Unfortunately, I just bought a new box and it no longer says that it's gluten free. It now says it is made in a factory that processes wheat.

Be careful! Check the box before using.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

The fact that it's made in a facility that also has wheat doesn't necessarily mean it isn't gluten-free. I eat --and so do many people with celiac -- a number of items made in facilities with wheat. Every time you eat a restaurant, you're doing the same thing. It's simply a matter of choice.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its important to note that the product and processing may not have changed from when it said gluten free. They may have just updated their labels. (Meaning - if it was gluten free then, it would still be gluten free now).

A shared facility does not mean it contains gluten. Most places are "shared" (including many homes and work environments).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did it actually ever say gluten-free on the box, or were you just assuming it did because people said it was gluten-free? I didn't think Nestle labeled things gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

wow are you sure about this one?

Judy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Per a phone call this morning to Nestle, all of their hot cocoa products are gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Per a phone call this morning to Nestle, all of their hot cocoa products are gluten free.

Thanks Laura

Judy

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
wow are you sure about this one?

Judy

Yes barley malt can be hidden and is one of the most risky items for us. Wheat has to by law be on a label, barley and it's malt as well as oats and rye don't. One of the reasons why I always call with the words 'natural' flavors on a label unless it is from a for sure 'doesn't hide gluten' company. Rice Dream is one company that hides barley malt in this way and others do also.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Barley malt is not listed as an ingredient.

The box previously was labeled gluten-free. The new boxes are not.

I understand the cross contamination issue, however, I've gotten very sick on several products that contained no gluten, but were produced in a factory that processed wheat products. As a result, I try to stay away from those products whenever possible.

Joe

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The ingredients have not changed, nor has the processing changed (per phone call). It was gluten free then, and is gluten free now.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yep I can confirm the old boxes said gluten free.

We just had this discussion at the grocery story. We rarely buy it in the first place and when we did the wife always bought Nestle because it was the only one that said gluten free.

With the power outage all last week and no heat we picked up a few boxes and immediately noticed not gluten free.

A box later no problems but you never know. I don't think they can put the gluten-free label because its not an exclusive factory?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally, I still trust the Nestle's but if you would like for your hot chocolate to be labeled gluten free (and be cheaper), check out the Great Value (Wal-Mart) brand.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If this used to say gluten free on the box then it may be more than just the CC issue. Call the company and see if they have added barley malt to the flavoring before assuming that it is just a CYA issue. They don't have to put the barley malt in the ingredient list and can just hide it in 'natural flavors'.

Nestle and their other company Wonka candy will disclose any gluten in their products. All you have to do to determine if it's gluten free is read the label. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try Stephen's Gourmet Hot Cocoa. It's labeled "Gluten Free" and it is delicious. And less expensive (oz for oz) than Nestle, at least at my local Winco.

( http://www.indulgentfoods.com/ )

I don't know about possible cc issues with them, although I have sent an inquiry through their website, and will post when I hear back. I am not a super-sensitive Celiac so the fact that I haven't had a problem with it probably is not a good benchmark for others to follow.

Guittard also makes a "Drinking Chocolate" but it's fairly spendy and I've never seen it in the store. It can be ordered on their website:

( http://guittard-online.stores.yahoo.net/bakingproducts.html )

According to the FAQ at guittard.com, they do not produce any gluten-containing products in their factory. I bought some of their butterscotch chips at the store the other day. They've got a to-die-for-looking butterscotch brownie recipe on their website that I'm going to try using rice flour as a substitute.

I avoid Nestle for reasons of conscience anyway, so I've been on the lookout for alternative-hot-cocoa-mixes for a long time. :)

-Elizabeth

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Nestle and their other company Wonka candy will disclose any gluten in their products. All you have to do to determine if it's gluten free is read the label. :)

________________

Then why change the label ?

From a legal standpoint, if they do not label the package "gluten free" they don't have to make it that way, be consistent from batch to batch, nor do they have to guarantee that the item is that way.

It says the consumer must take the initiative to contact them repeatedly, and then rely on verbal confirmation that the item has not hidden anything in the ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was thinking ok I'm gonna check my nestle box it says made in same equipment with wheat processed foods

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So I was thinking ok I'm gonna check my nestle box it says made in same equipment with wheat processed foods

Please notice that this thread is over 3 years old. Products can change in that time. Always read the package for the most up-to-date ingredients.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,688
    • Total Posts
      921,757
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Do you mean something like a protein powder you could mix up?  A lot of them in the US seem to be gluten free.  Maybe just go to your local store and read all the labels?
    • Yeah I ended up allergic to corn, olives, sesame, whey, and peanuts and intolerant to dairy, soy, yeast, enzyme issues with breaking down meats, and egg yolks, along with extreme bloat with any kind of carbs/sugars in moderate amounts. And very adverse reactions to certain artificial sweeteners. So your not alone in all the other issues cropping up, it happens as our bodies adjust.  I eat a bunch of stir frys with veggies, egg whites, plenty of  avocados, and toasted and raw forms of almonds, coconut, cashews, walnuts, hemp seeds, pumpkin seeds, flax seeds, sancha inchi seeds, chia seeds, and sunflower seeds in all forms including making them into butters, spreads, and incorporating them into sauces.   Most meals are forms of soups, omelettes, and stir frys. I do the seeds and nuts on rotation same with my veggies and snack on fruits in small amounts along with some homemade baked goods I make for markets. I do suggest a rotation of foods, my dietician said I need to rotate my foods to prevent more issues, making sure I am off one one for at least 7-14 days at a time completely. I find changing up the spices and rotating my cuisine base works well. I also make puddings, and protein shakes along with nut/seed milks, and different bases and extract flavorings to get my random cravings Taken care of. Guess take what you can from this and and see how it can help you,    As to the tinging, I ended up with both B vitamin and magnesium deficiency issues, the magnesium one caused a fire like tingling in my arms, legs and back, along with muscle pain. Ended up on a doctors best powder form of it so I can dose it out right, and found epsom salt bathes helped.  
    • Hi, I've gained so much knowledge on this forum over the past few months, which I am so thankful for. I can see how much hell people are going through with this disease and it's so lovely to see how much support and advice people give to others on here. I'd like a little bit of reassurance and advice myself from anyone that can help. I've been gluten free for six months. Two weeks after going gluten free I realised I also had a problem with corn so cut out processed food. Over the following weeks and months I continually had problems with food; fruit, dairy, a lot of vegetables, nuts, soya....it's basically dwindled down to just eating potatoes (not white potatoes), cucumber, lettuce, small amounts of red onion, spring onion, sprouts and beetroot. There may be more things I could be okay with but to be honest I'm too scared to try.  Is this all normal? Am I an extreme case? I've been taking some digestive enzymes and probiotics for about six weeks, my acid reflux has dramatically decreased but I always have a lot of loud noises going on in my guts, I'm guessing this is the probiotics working.  I've lost nearly 3st in weight since this started - which I'm not complaining about as I was overweight due to thyroid problems. I've had loads of blood tests done recently, all organs are working 'great' according to my doctor, the only thing they've picked up on is ketones, I seem to be having a glucose problem, which might explain my exhaustion and weight loss. I also have permanent numbness and sometimes tingling in one of my legs and sometimes hands and one shoulder, I thought it could have vitamin B12 deficiency but that's okay according to blood tests. I would be greatful for any replies. Thanks for reading.
    • Hi everyone, I am doing job in restaurant at evening 5 to 12 during working hours no time to do a dinner. I'm thinking to make a shake but don't know the gluten free vitamin or supplement brand which one is good for me and easily available in Berlin Germany to make me fit cause last one week i feel weak. I'm 28 year old. Sincerely
    • Hey there just wanted to warn anyone that has other allergies- these crackers may not be a good choice! I'm mildly sensitive to MSG- I only react if there's a giant amount like in Chinese food or Ramen noodles, etc.  I literally have a to eat TONS of a the offending food before reacting.  Anyway, I was excited to try these Trader Joes pumpkin crackers, kept hearing about them on the radio .... and they're gluten free!  (I have Hashi's).  I ate about 3/4 of the box last night. Woke up this morning with a red itchy face and nasal congestion, headache, anxiety. Hallmark symptoms for me of high MSG intake. (It does say yeast extract on the side but it's pretty far down the list). So if you're sensitive.... stay away! Apparently these particular crackers are loaded with it. 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,691
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    EllianaEthan
    Joined