This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newly Diagnosed: Are My Symptoms Typical?

Nichelob

Nichelob Rookie

Hello All,

First off, I am sorry this is so long - I am an amateur Celiac :D

I was diagnosed with Celiac on the 22nd of December. Matter of fact, I was driving back to hometown for Christmas when the doctor's office called to confirm - biopsy and blood panel were positive. I am 31 and was raised in an Italian family (so gluten has been a staple). I never had any syptoms, until around October when I was under a lot of stress and received a flu shot around the same time. My GI said that I have had this for years because my Villi were so flat - as he saw in my biopsy. So why no symptoms until now?

I am very concerned if my symptoms seem consistent with Celiac Disease.

I have a loss of appetite, loss of sex drive, an overall feeling of just not being well. I have a mild headache and almost a lack of concentration, "head in the clouds" feeling. I have lost weight - I was 182 (a little heavy for me anyways) before my colon/endoscopy on December 10th. I am at 171 now. Sometimes my stools are loose, sometimes they seem to want to begin to form.