Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
Subscribe Today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:
- - - - -

Brown Rice Syrup

  • Please log in to reply

9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Libbyk_*

  • Guests

Posted 20 February 2004 - 05:05 PM

I was looking through on e of my "forbidden list" from the hospital, and noticed that on the list of items was brown rice syrup. Does anybody know why? It seems non- intuitive that a rice product would be out. I do better with rules if I know the reasons behind them)

  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:



    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 20 February 2004 - 05:18 PM

Hi Libby,

It might be that they add something to it, like caramel coloring or something that makes it not gluten-free. I have a gluten-free cookbook that says Lundberg brand brown rice syrup is gluten free. So I suppose it depends on the brand...

God bless,
Mariann :)
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children


Connie R-E

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 168 posts

Posted 22 February 2004 - 08:56 AM

--they might add a malt... Seems like I read that somewhere...
Last time I tried a brown rice syrup it made me "gluten-sick"! But, I don't remember the brand!

  • 0



    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:12 PM

ive seen a lot of "gluten-free" things that had brown rice syrup in them and they all made me sick so i wouldnt take the chance.
  • 0



    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,930 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 06:44 PM

Can't imagine why your list would say that, unless you're also sweetener-free.

A great Rice Krispies sub, by Erehwon (pretty sure WIDEly enjoyed by celiacs), has it, as does my hazelnut milk.

I've never had a problem w/ either, nor w/ any other product w/ brown rice syrup.

I've also never heard of it having gluten.
And I'm really quite surprised to see others looking to blame it for glutening symptoms.
I've always thought the syrup itself is made from brown rice & brown rice only, tho it's often in products w/ a long list of ingred.
  • 0
>>>>>>> tom <<<<<<<

Celiac 1st diagnosed as a toddler, in the 60s. Docs then, between bloodletting & leech-tending, said "he'll grow out of it" & I was back on gluten & mostly fine for 30yrs.

Gluten-free since 12-03
Dairy-free since 10-04
Soy-free since 5-07



    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,650 posts

Posted 14 May 2008 - 08:25 PM

It has barely malt.

http://www.dld123.co...r... Rice Syrup
  • 0



    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 121 posts

Posted 15 May 2008 - 12:46 AM

My bottle of Lundberg Sweet Dreams Brown Rice Syrup says gluten free in big letters on the back and also "is gluten-free and wheat-free". The only ingredients listed are: organic brown rice, pure filtered water.
  • 0



    We've heard nothing at all about the growing tomato menace..

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts

Posted 15 May 2008 - 05:08 AM

Brown rice syrup often contains barley. For example, the Lundberg brand has always been safe, but there was a time when the brown rice syrup in Mrs. Mays products contained barley. You have to check on it to be safe.


Brown rice syrup is a sweetener derived by culturing cooked rice with enzymes (usually from dried barley sprouts) to break down the starches, then straining off the liquid and cooking it until the desired consistency is reached. The final product is roughly 50% soluble complex carbohydrates, 45% maltose, and 3% glucose. The glucose is absorbed into the bloodstream immediately, while the maltose takes up to one and a half hours to be digested (see glycemic index), and the complex carbohydrates take from two to three hours, providing a steady supply of energy. Rice syrup has a shelf life of about a year, and once opened, should be stored in a cool, dry place.

  • 0
Dx 8/05 via bloodwork and biopsy (total villous atrophy)
13-year old son Dx 11/05 via bloodwork and biopsy
Daughters (16 and 5) have tested negative via bloodwork

A woman is like a tea bag - you never know how strong she is until she gets in hot water. - Eleanor Roosevelt




  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,729 posts

Posted 15 May 2008 - 05:53 AM

Keep in mind that the original post was over four years ago . . . as we all know, labels change. Some products may have had gluten then and OK now and vice versa.
  • 0

Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted.

Posted Image



    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 28 June 2013 - 03:08 AM

In regards to brown rice syrup, it is known to be high in arsenic even in organic foods.  It is something to be avoided.  Rice flour also has arsenic in it and how much depends on where it is grown.



  • 0

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: