Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Farro Grain
0

4 posts in this topic

Can people here eat farro? Here is an article on it from NYT. http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html...mp;pagewanted=2

Says it is a wheat plant with so low gluten that gluten-intols can eat it. It is often linked to spelt, but that is incorrect, says the article.

I had it last night, but am in pain today. So, I am wondering if it is the gluten in the farro. Incidentally, the restaurant marked it Gluten-free on the menu. The server said that farro was a root when I asked her if it was a pasta, which made me think that I had been thinking of Taro root, so ordered the dish. So, indeed, it was a rice-like grain or orzo-like pasta.

How low in gluten is it?

While we are on the subject, has anyone seen a page that shows the different levels of gluten in different grains?

Thanks!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
How low in gluten is it?

If you have celiac disease, the question's moot.

Same for many who call themselves gluten-intolerant.

There is no safe amount.

I'm nearly certain that the farro caused your pain today.

BTW, I noticed that that article is from June 1997.

SOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much more is known now about gluten-free & celiac disease.

There's a good chance that the phrase "farro can often be eaten by people who are normally gluten-intolerant" wouldn't possibly make it into print today.

It's false.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The server said that farro was a root when I asked her if it was a pasta, which made me think that I had been thinking of Taro root, so ordered the dish. So, indeed, it was a rice-like grain or orzo-like pasta.

AND I would call the restaurant and tell them that the server is misinformed. Tell them you'd come there to discuss it, but you are far too ill from consuming the grain. (You might get a free dinner out of it, if you'd be willing to eat there again.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
AND I would call the restaurant and tell them that the server is misinformed. Tell them you'd come there to discuss it, but you are far too ill from consuming the grain. (You might get a free dinner out of it, if you'd be willing to eat there again.)

lol. I emailed them before and told them that I had to leave church early, so if anything would prompt a free dinner, that will, I'm sure.

:)

Anyway, I did let them know that the server was misinformed, so hopefully they will do more training.

Thanks for these unequivocal responses. I didn't even look at the date on the NYT article. Good Point! All the internet info says it is safe or mostly safe, so no telling how old that information is.

Now, I am a little bit smarter, so that is always good. I probably should have returned the meal when I had questions, but I had already tasted it, and I was on a first date, my first first-date since being gluten-free, and I actually didn't know how to handle the situation after already asking the server, etc.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.