This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Arranging To Work From Home

eleep

eleep Enthusiast

I'd like to petition my employer to be able to work from home 1 day a week so that I can work with a pot of soup on the stove or a casserole in the oven. I'll also have a bit more free time to shop those days because I'll cut down on commute time and be closer to stores which carry gluten-free food and fresh produce. I'm an editor working for a large university, so most of my work can be done from home -- and I'm fully confident that I'll actually be more productive with this arrangement.

Has anyone else tried to set up an arrangement like this? I'm the most productive among my colleagues, so am in a good position to make this request. I'm also going to get letters from my g.p. and my acupuncturist to help support my claims. Anything else I might include?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Jestgar Rising Star

I brought this up with my boss a couple years ago and he did NOT like the idea. I figured it was just out of his box a little, so little by little I've been working towards it.

I have my computer set up so I can VPN in.

On bad weather days I work from home.

On "crunch" things I work on the weekend and take a weekday off.

and so on.

Try feeling out the situation. If it seems like your plan will be well received, go for it. If they seem reluctant, work your way into it.

tarnalberry Community Regular

In my job, it varies a lot from manager to manager, even though the work is the same.