Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Sour Cream


  • Please log in to reply

7 replies to this topic

#1 laluka

 
laluka

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 11 February 2009 - 10:59 AM

Is it common for sour cream to contain gluten?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,070 posts
 

Posted 11 February 2009 - 11:03 AM

No. Plain sour cream is gluten-free.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 laluka

 
laluka

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 11 February 2009 - 11:34 AM

I have had two separate restaurants say that they would leave off sour cream to make the food gluten free. Do you think that is that ignorance on their part or something else?
Laura
  • 0

#4 Mike M

 
Mike M

    Advanced Community Member

  • Guests
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 141 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2009 - 08:00 AM

I have had two separate restaurants say that they would leave off sour cream to make the food gluten free. Do you think that is that ignorance on their part or something else?
Laura

Not sure about "restaurant" sour cream. I can say that just plain ole store bought sour cream (like Daisey brand) with just the basic ingredients have never had gluten in it that I have seen. Same for Ice Cream (long as its not cookies and cream)....You know what I mean......Mike

P.S. Matter of fact, I have yet to find a positive for gluten in any dairy products, not saying it could not happen. My theory is that if a dairy product did get gluten in it while in the manufacturing process, they might have a real problem with molds/bacteria and such, so I think they are very sanitary in this part of the industry. FWIW
  • 0

#5 larry mac

 
larry mac

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,201 posts
 

Posted 12 February 2009 - 09:00 PM

I have had two separate restaurants say that they would leave off sour cream to make the food gluten free. Do you think that is that ignorance on their part or something else?
Laura


Without specifics it's difficult to say. What kind of restaurants? What kind of dishes? Sour cream contains no wheat. So I don't know why they would say such a thing for sour cream on a baked potato, or a taco/tostado.

As for sour cream chicken enchiladas (even with a corn tortilla), every tex mex restaraunt I've asked has said it contains wheat flour. I'm guessing the sour cream is whipped with flour to make it a fluffy sauce.

best regards, lm
  • 0

gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa


#6 Flo BInks

 
Flo BInks

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 15 February 2009 - 07:05 AM

Is it common for sour cream to contain gluten?

where I live (Canada) it is common for sour cream to have starch. This is particularly likely for reduced calorie products. I don't take sour cream in restaurants.

Flo
  • 0

#7 lpellegr

 
lpellegr

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 779 posts
 

Posted 16 February 2009 - 06:18 AM

Plain sour cream should be fine. Reduced-fat or non-fat versions may be thickened with some kind of starch, although it should say on the label what kind of starch. If it says "modified food starch" and doesn't say "wheat" anywhere on the label (behind the starch or as an allergy declaration) then you should be okay. Since you don't know what they use in the restaurant, you might want to skip it.
  • 0
Lee

I never liked bread anyway.....

#8 one more mile

 
one more mile

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 212 posts
 

Posted 03 March 2009 - 06:48 PM

you do need to check when you eat out though. because some sour cream has added things to it so that it stays firm under the heat lamps and does not get watery. I just ask the waitress. I seem to have a 50-50 shot when I eat out.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: