Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Gluten Free Cheese


  • Please log in to reply

19 replies to this topic

#1 irish

 
irish

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 68 posts
 

Posted 21 February 2004 - 02:51 PM

Hi does anyone know of a company that makes gluten free mozzarella cheese and gluten free parmesan cheese? Thanks for all your help
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Guest_Libbyk_*

 
Guest_Libbyk_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 21 February 2004 - 04:05 PM

How about blue cheese or gorganzola? (While we are on the subject...)
  • 0

#3 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 21 February 2004 - 05:29 PM

I can't really help you out here, since I am casein intolerant and can't eat cheese, but I do know that blue cheese is pretty much off limits, since the mold they use to make it "blue" is often harvested from bread, and thus is not gluten-free.

As for the other questions someone else will have to help you out there. ;)

Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#4 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 21 February 2004 - 05:38 PM

Well maybe I can help you out. This includes all dairy products not just cheese.
This is from food list http://homepage.mac....foodlist903.pdf that you can print out if you want to. Always check the labels though, just to make sure, and eliminate (I suggest crossing it off your list so you don't accidently get it again) anything that seems to bother you.

DAIRY PRODUCTS
Alpine Lace cheese: all except fat- free spreads

Alouette all potted cheese

Athenos: all block cheese

Bel/ Kaukauna: Cold pack Cheese cups, logs, balls in sharp, extra sharp cheddar,
smoky cheddar, port wine, swiss almond regular, lite

Bel Laughing Cow products: cheezbits, Babybel, Bonbel, Gouda, Edam, Wedges
Blue Bunny: reg, lite sour cream; YOGURT: all Lite 85, all regular except banana
cream pie, lemon berry, those with crispy rice

Boar’s Head: American yellow & white, blue chees, Vermont cheddar, mozzarella,
Gold Label Swiss, Monterey Jack & with jalapenos, Gouda, Edam

Borden (800.426.7336) all products ; Egg Nog in a Can

Breakstone Cottage Cheese, regular only; sour cream- regular only

Cabot's Cheese (www. cabotcheese. com) All

Cabot's Creamery Dairy Products (all products - the modified food starch is corn),
including Cottage Cheese (found at Sam's Club, Wal- Mart, Cub Foods, and Costco)
Colombo Yogurt and Gogurt (except those containing crunchy granola or graham
crackers)

Cracker Barrel Natural Cheddar extra sharp, sharp, medium, mild, swiss, colby,
mozzarella, parmesan, romano, montery jack

Crystal Farms All of their Natural Cheeses, Shredded Cheddar, Colby, Mozzarella,
Monterey Jack, Marble Jack, Pepper Jack, Swiss, Muenster, Havarti, Farmer
cheeses, Cream Cheese, and Ricotta Cheese.

Darigold Yogurt; Cottage Cheese; Liquid Milk; Sour Cream; Butter

Frigo (Saputo) (800.824.3373) (www. saputo. com)
Blue Cheese; Cheddar Shred; Feta; Gorgonzola; Grated Parmesan; Grated Romano;
Mozzarella Chunks; Mozzarella Shred; Parmesan Shred; Parmesan Wedges; Pizza
Shred; Provolone Shred; Provolone Slices; Ricotta (all types); Romano Shred;
Romano Wedges; String Cheese; Taco Shred

Han’s Cheddar and Port Wine Spread, Swiss Almond Spread

Healthy Choice Cheeses, all varieties

Hillshire Farms Double Cheese Log; Smokey Cheddar Cheese Log

Hormel Add Ons Cheese: Genoa, Colby, Monterey Jack, Mozzerella, Swiss,
Cheddar

Hyvee: all block and sliced cheese and smooth& cheesy, american cheese food, party cheese; SHREDDED 4 cheese italian, colby jack, mild/ sharp cheddar, mozzerella, mex cheese blend, parmesan, pizza, taco, grated parmesan; YOGURT: all except apple granola, yogurt to go

Jewel (920.437.7601) Natural and processed cheeses, including processed american,
shredded cheese, and processed cheese food

Kraft, Cracker Barrel, Polly- O, Athenos: Brick Type cheddar, blue, feta, Swiss,
Colby, mozzarella, ricotta, parmesan, romano, Monterey Jack, processed cheese –
Kraft singles and Velveeta

Kemps sour cream; YOGURT: all except gluten mix- ins such as granola, Yo- Stix
Land O Lakes (800- 328- 4155) ( www. landolakes. com) All natural products and
processed cheese, yogurt

Meijer Cream Cheese; Sour Cream; Shredded Cheddar; Shredded Mozzerella

Mid- America Farms (now Dairy Farmers of America) cheeses (even American
Cheese are gluten-free (available at Sam's Club)

Philadelphia Cream Cheese— unflavored

Rondele Gourmet Cheese Spreads: All varieties

SAFEWAY Grated Parmesan Cheese (3, 8 & 16oz.)

SAFEWAY Cheese Spread, Aerosol (American, Cheddar and Sharp)

Sargento (www. sargento. com) All Natural Cheeses (EXCEPT Shredded Imitation
Mozzarella Cheese; Shredded Taco Cheese; Shredded Nacho & Taco Cheese; or our
6 Cheese Zesty Mexican Recipe Blend), all Mootown Snackers except pretzel,
cookie, cracker

Schuslberg cheese

Snackwells yogurt: all

Stella Asiago; Blue Cheese; Feta; Fontinella; Gorgonzola; Grated Parmesan; Grated
Romano; Italian Sharp; Kasseri; Mozzarella; Parmesan Wedges; Provolone; Quattro
Formaggi; Romano Shred; Romano Wedges

Tillamook cheese, yogurt, butter, and sour cream products

Trader Joe’s Boursin Cheese
Trader Joe’s Cheese Blocks & Wedges (except Blue Cheese)
Trader Joe’s Shredded Cheese, Mozzarella, Parmesan, and Jarlsberg
Trader Joe’s Whipped Cream Cheese, Regular and Lite
Trader Joe’s Yogurt: All flavors except Vanilla and Vanana

Yoplait Yogurt (General Mills) (800.967.5248) All products (except those
containing crunchy granola or graham crackers)
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#5 kejohe

 
kejohe

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts
 

Posted 21 February 2004 - 05:47 PM

Wow! Mariann thanks for the great list!
  • 0
Kathleen
Son has been gluten-free since December 2001

#6 Guest_Libbyk_*

 
Guest_Libbyk_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 21 February 2004 - 05:51 PM

thank you-
I am happy and dandy about ginging up wheat, but I love my cheese.
  • 0

#7 lionphish

 
lionphish

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
 

Posted 05 March 2004 - 01:34 PM

So...does cheese have Gluten in it or not?

I'm confuzed I thought that Gluten was the protein in cereals like wheat, oats....etc

How could cheese have gluten?
  • 0

#8 gf4life

 
gf4life

    Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts
 

Posted 05 March 2004 - 03:34 PM

Cheese does not have gluten in it, until the manufacturer of the cheese product adds it in. Like cottage cheese and yogurt sometimes contain gluten in one of the added ingredients. Shredded cheese and cheese products often have gluten added either in them or as a powder to keep shredded cheese pieces from sticking to each other.

Block cheeses are usually safe. You can always contact the manufacterer of the brand you normally buy, just to be sure.

God bless,
Mariann
  • 0
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#9 angel_jd1

 
angel_jd1

    Gluten Free Goddess

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,053 posts
 

Posted 05 March 2004 - 07:15 PM

Veined Cheeses, such as blue cheese, are not concidered safe because the mold(veins) are usually started from bread cultures.

-Jessica :rolleyes:
  • 0
Jessica
Gluten Free since 12-31-2002!!
Kansas

#10 Guest_Libbyk_*

 
Guest_Libbyk_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 06 March 2004 - 06:13 PM

sorry if I was unclear, lionphish.
What I meant was, giving up gluten when I found out I had celiac disease was a joy, but I am suspicious that I may a lactose intolerance, and so have to give up dairy as well,and I have not accepted that with the same good grace. (isn't one food group enough!)

Lib

ps- I have heard that there may be some gorganzolas that are not made off of a bread mold. finding out is my pet project right now, but I would love to know if somebody has an insight here...
  • 0

#11 sc'Que?

 
sc'Que?

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
 

Posted 04 March 2009 - 12:02 AM

Wow, you know... where I come from, the real cheese does not have "brand names". Real cheese comes from small farms, who sell to European distributors, who in turn sell to US importers. In the market, they are often just labeled with the town or country of origin. Brand names may or may not be attached along the journey, but the real stuff generally does not have a brand affixed at the market. In fact, I am less likely to purchase cheese with a brand-name attached, because (for better or worse) I perceive it to be of lesser quality.

~sc'eric

ps. American cheese is not real cheese; American cheese is "cheese-food"--it's what real cheese eats for dinner!
  • 0

#12 ksb43

 
ksb43

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 30 posts
 

Posted 08 April 2009 - 08:48 AM

I know this post is kind of old, but I was just reading about cheese in a magazine and some washed rind cheeses are actually washed with beer. Also sometimes bacteria is added to the rinds (I'm not sure if these bacteria also have a risk of being cultured on bread). So it seems like some of the artisanal cheeses that you wouldn't otherwise suspect, may actually contain gluten.

The cheese rind, when there is one, is usually distinctive and there are many variations. Dry natural rind is formed by the curds at the edges of the cheese as it dries out. This is tough, hard and thick. Soft bloomy, white rinds have a growth of mold from sprayed Penicillium spores on the surface. These rinds are white when fresh but darken with age. They may or may not be eaten, as desired. Washed rind cheeses are washed with water, brine, wine or beer, and sometimes they develop a bacterial growth that varies from yellow to dark red. These rinds are often smelly and rarely eaten. Sometimes cheeses are encompassed in rinds not originating with the cheese itself. Such rinds can be of herbs, leaves, wax, or even ashes.

From: http://www.allaboutb...eseandbeer.html
  • 0

#13 babygirl123

 
babygirl123

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:10 AM

so the list above with the dairy...those are all gluten free?? or is that a list of not gluten free? this is my second day going gluten free, my 3yr old daughter was just diagnosed with it....so much to learn and where to begin.
  • 0

#14 Mtndog

 
Mtndog

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,254 posts
 

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:33 AM

Veined Cheeses, such as blue cheese, are not concidered safe because the mold(veins) are usually started from bread cultures.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

This used to be the case with blue cheese, but not so much anymore. Still ALWAYS read labels.


so the list above with the dairy...those are all gluten free?? or is that a list of not gluten free? this is my second day going gluten free, my 3yr old daughter was just diagnosed with it....so much to learn and where to begin.

That was a gluten-free list but I think it's old. Cheese is generally gluten-free but cheese products may contain gluten (like salad dressing, cheese dips and spreads). You should always read the labels.
  • 0
***************************
Beverly

Gluten free since 2005

In the midst of winter, I found there was within me an invincible summer.
Albert Careb


Posted Image

#15 kareng

 
kareng

    Gobble! Gobble!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,241 posts
 

Posted 21 May 2010 - 11:44 AM

I haven't found any cheese with gluten yet. If you want to be really safe, Kraft always lists allergens at the end of the ingredients list. I find that to be a big relief.
  • 1

Thanksgiving dinners take 18 hours to prepare.  They are consumed in 12 minutes.  Half-times take 12 minutes.  This is not a coincidence.  - Emma Bombeck
 
dancing-turkey.gif
 
 
 
 

 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: