This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Help; New To Gf Diet

Guest Mari

Guest Mari

I'm new to all this, having been diagnosed only a week ago (and it came as a big surprise, since I am asymptomatic.) I have a 3 year old and a husband who all like gluten. Am I supposed to cut it out of their diets too? Or do I have a dual kitchen. How do I do that? Do I need all separate utensils, pots and pans, etc? what about sponges? Please Help, I feel so overwhelmed! (not to mention, what do I eat now?

Mari

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

You definately need a separate toaster....pots and pans need to be cleaned....you should get new cookie sheets too.

https://www.celiac.com/st_main.html?p_catid=12

You should definately print out these lists. They are a good guideline for the forbidden ingredients and safe things. You should also check makeup, toothpastes, lotions, and such for risks of getting into your mouth.

Brands such as Kraft and General Mills will not hide any gluten in their label so unless it says wheat,rye,barley,oats on the label then it is safe. There are quite a few brands that do this.

It will get easier with time and this is an excellent site to get information off of. :D Good luck and hang in there....if you need anything let me know :D

catfish Apprentice

I cook almost exclusively in my house, and I can make almost anything better gluten-free than anyone I know can make the same with gluten. There are exceptions;