Crisps With Msg (from Wheat) Claiming To Be Celiac Friendly...
Posted 06 March 2009 - 05:56 AM
Posted 06 March 2009 - 06:36 AM
I was just reading the ingredients on a packet of walkers crisps and it says that it's suitable for coeliacs but lists MSG from wheat in its ingredients. How can it contain wheat and be ok at the same time?
There are some ingredients that are made from wheat but the processing to make the ingredient is such that either no gluten is left or it will test at below a set acceptable level. Most will have no issues with those items but a few will. If you are well healed you could choose to try them and see if you tolerate. Chances are you will be fine but everyones body differs.
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)
celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45
Blood tested and repeatedly negative
Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002
Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis
All bold resoved or went into remission with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002
Some residual nerve damage remains as of 2006- this has continued to resolve after eliminating soy in 2007
Mother died of celiac related cancer at 56
Twin brother died as a result of autoimmune liver destruction at age 15
Children 2 with Ulcers, GERD, Depression, , 1 with DH, 1 with severe growth stunting (male adult 5 feet)both finally diagnosed Celiac through blood testing and 1 with endo 6 months after Mom
Positive to Soy and Casien also Aug 2007
Gluten Sensitivity Gene Test Aug 2007
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303
Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users