Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Vans Gluten Free Pancakes
0

17 posts in this topic

I didn't know vans had gluten free pancakes, :huh: but I found them this morning at Whole Foods. The box says new so, maybe you didn't know about them either. I can't wait to eat them :D

Yay!!!!!!! More gluten free stuff!!!!!!!!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:
I didn't know vans had gluten free pancakes, :huh: but I found them this morning at Whole Foods. The box says new so, maybe you didn't know about them either. I can't wait to eat them :D

Yay!!!!!!! More gluten free stuff!!!!!!!!!

That's awesome! I didn't know they had gluten-free pancakes either, I thought they just had waffles. Let us know how they are. I would love a good gluten-free pancake.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Van's also introduced gluten-free cinnamon french toast sticks.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Van's also introduced gluten-free cinnamon french toast sticks.

Check the label, I noticed online it says malt extract, I contacted the company to see if it was a typo or what their response was.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Check the label, I noticed online it says malt extract, I contacted the company to see if it was a typo or what their response was.

Okay....The label for the pancakes lists malt extract. I will call monday to see what the deal with that is. That makes me mad...even if the sorce is gluten free thet should list what it is.

By the way....the pancakes were good, but I usually make my own using arrowhead mills gluten free waffle mix.....and they come out wonderful!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




On their web site the pancakes and toast sticks are listed as wheat free but not gluten free. They do make things that are only wheat free, so my guess is these products are not gluten free.

For nummy amazing pancakes try pamela's mix. I throw in a drop of vanilla and they are dreamy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Not only are the pancakes and french-toast sticks listed under "gluten free" on the Van's web site, it's labeled as such right on the front of the boxes.

http://www.vansfoods.com/product-select/gluten-free

There is a disconnect between the ingredient listings and the labeling/listing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes it says...GLUTEN FREE! I'm looking at it right now, and malt extract is in the ingredients. Maybe we know more than they do. There is also a section on the back of the box that talks about their gluten free promise, and that they test there products. Maybe it is a source of gluten, but it still falls below the 10 ppm. Is it 10 or 20? Like how benifiber states their product is gluten free, but it contains wheat dextrin.......WTF

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Dang! Why do they have to use soy? The Ian's are good but a pain because you have to use the oven to heat them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's really odd. Their website has a disconnect because when I click on "show me only wheat free" they show up and when I click on "show me only gluten free" they are not in the list. Its rather confusing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I spoke today with a Van's customer service representative, who advised that the malt extract in the pancakes and french toast sticks is derived from barley but that the gluten is removed during processing. She told me that the ingredients are tested at various intervals during production and that any gluten present in the end product would be less than 20 parts per million (ppm), which would be within the proposed FDA requirement. Given this information, consumption of the Van's pancakes and french toast sticks is a matter of one's own comfort level.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I find the "gluten free" labeling laws (or lack thereof) so aggravating! If something had trace amounts of peanuts in it, could it be called peanut free??

What is the status of the labeling laws? Anyone?

I spoke today with a Van's customer service representative, who advised that the malt extract in the pancakes and french toast sticks is derived from barley but that the gluten is removed during processing. She told me that the ingredients are tested at various intervals during production and that any gluten present in the end product would be less than 20 parts per million (ppm), which would be within the proposed FDA requirement. Given this information, consumption of the Van's pancakes and french toast sticks is a matter of one's own comfort level.
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm not eating them anymore.......not because they bother me physically, but the whole thing bothers me mentally. Don't you think they should just use some other form of flavoring...like with chex. What if I eat the whole box in one day....would that bring me above 20ppm? HAHA...I wonder if I could eat a whole box of pancakes :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I received the following e-mail from Van's today:

Dear Valued Van
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wasn't aware of this controversy, but I found both these items by surprise about four weeks ago in the freezer section at our local Whole Foods and bought them, I've ate the pancakes several times (although I've made pancakes from scratch too which have actually come out great, of all the things I make it's wierd cause I cannot ever tellt he difference with pancakes for some reason) but anyways the Van pancakes are also the same, they taste like old school frozen pancakes I used to eat back in the gluten days of my life. I'm very happy with them.

I've tried the frozen Glutino french toast as well, which is decent, but it always seems to come out a bit hard/tough to cut with a fork/knife and to chew on. I need to try the french toast sticks next, which I think are made in partnership with Glutino if I read the information on the box correctly (the box actually looks like the Glutino french toast box if I remember correctly), so they are probably alot like the Glutino french toast.

Anyways just my two cents on this.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I didn't know vans had gluten free pancakes, :huh: but I found them this morning at Whole Foods. The box says new so, maybe you didn't know about them either. I can't wait to eat them :D

Yay!!!!!!! More gluten free stuff!!!!!!!!!

I wanted to say that I've had really good luck with the gluten-free Van's waffles (via Publix), until recently when I bought from another store. It was a box clearly labeled "Van's Apple Cinnamon gluten-free waffles". When I tasted them, though, they didn't have the same gluten-free texture that we're all used to. I ate one anyway, because it said "gluten-free" on the box (stupid, I know). It made me sick. A mislabeled box maybe?

Just something to keep any eye out for :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

According to this post, Van's will be removing the malt extract from the pancakes and french toast sticks with the next production.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,641
    • Total Posts
      918,437
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Anxiously waiting
      Thanks heaps. I will def be going private if the wait is too long. I have done a little research but i thought a gluten intolerance and coeliac was the same lol. My iron levels are just below average apparently but she said not bad enough for me to be this tired.
    • Celiac.com: Traveling While Gluten-Free? What To Consider From Someone with Celiac Disease
      There are a few definite truths about living gluten-free: You miss bagels every day. Curious friends regularly badger you with questions like “is ... View the full article
    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      DH is celiac disease that appears on the skin (gluten triggered).  It does not appear when you are consuming dairy, which sounds like a separate issue for you.   A DH biopsy requires active lesions (new/fresh) from consuming gluten.  So, if you want to be tested via a skin biopsy you must go back on gluten.  Finding a dermatologist who knows exactly how to biopsy for DH is often difficult.  Be sure your Derm is knowledable and has biopsied for DH before. Why no endoscopy for now?  I bet your GI  knows that your insurance will deny the endoscopy.  After all, you tested negative to the blood panel.  Your GI should not even ordered the blood panel knowing that you had been gluten free for months.  You have to be consuming gluten daily for 8 to 12 weeks for the blood test to be accurate.   Did you ever test positive?  Why did your primary diagnose you?  Having the gene just means you can develop celiac disease.  Some 30% of the population carries the genes.  The gene test should only be used to help rule out celiac disease.  
    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      No one can say exactly how long you might be able to get a positive dh biopsy after having been gluten free as long as you have been. The Chicago Celiac Disease Center says this: http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/im-scheduled-to-have-a-skin-biopsy-to-screen-for-celiac-disease-should-i-maintain-a-gluten-containing-diet-similar-to-those-who-are-being-screened-via-blood-or-intestinal-biopsy/ http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/faq/what-is-a-gluten-challenge/ You said you had a flare of the plaque psoriasis -- that is NOT dh so why do you think the dh biopsy will show positive? Testing positive for the celiac genes does not mean you have celiac disease. 30+% of the population have the celiac genes but only very, very small fraction of those people do or will present with celiac disease. The gene tests are only used to rule OUT celiac NOT to diagnose it. Frankly, I can understand why your GI does not put any stock in your Primary doc's thinking you have celiac disease. A positive celiac gene and the boils in your armpits which the GI never saw and were never biopsied for dh but they resolved on a gluten free diet and so did your plaque psoriasis. That's all the GI has to go on. I don't know why you are pushing an endoscopy. If you've been eating strictly gluten free then an endoscopic biopsy for celiac will be negative.  Your PCP should have done a celiac blood panel on you back when you were still eating gluten rather than dx you based on the celiac gene you tested positive for.
    • How effective is HD skin biopsy after being gluten free for a year
      I've been gluten free for a year now and my gastro wants to wait for the endocopy until I'm eligible for the colonoscopy when I turn 50 later this year. I don't think she believes I have celiac, even though I tested positive for one of the genes associated with celiac and my primary has diagnosed me as having celiac. The gluten sensitivity blood tests came back negative, of course, since I was gluten free for 9 months at that time. Why is she waiting? At any rate, My digestive system has improved greatly, but when I reintroduced non fat Greek yogurt in my diet, the plaques psoriasis returned on my elbows. My primary believes it is dermatitis herpetiformis (as well as I, since before going gluten free, I used to get boils in my armpits) and I'm scheduled for a skin biopsy in 3 weeks. However, I eliminated dairy from my diet 4 weeks ago and the plaques psoriasis is healing like it did when I eliminated gluten from my diet a year ago. If the scar is reduced to eczema, does that mean there still are IGA deposits in my skin? I don't want to resume dairy since I experienced a cross reaction to the casein in cheese and found lactose was on that same list. So my question is, how long do the granular IGA deposits remain in the skin in order to have a valid skin biopsy test performed for dermatitis herpetiformis? Since it takes 1-2 years for dermatitis herpetiformis to heal on a gluten free diet and I just had a recent flare up, can I continue on my dairy free diet or should I resume eating non fat Greek yogurt for the next 3 weeks just for this skin biopsy?
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,732
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    SueJ
    Joined