Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

arrowShare this page:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

Photo
- - - - -

Are Puffins Cereal gluten-free? And gluten-free Questions.

• Please log in to reply

9 replies to this topic

#1 yumyummum

yumyummum

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 April 2009 - 05:56 AM

I am totally new to this. If I product does not contain "wheat" does that make it gluten-free?

I am wondering about Barbara's Puffins Cereal Original.

Here are the ingredients:
Yellow Corn Flour, Corn Bran Flour, Molasses (Unsulfured), Oat Flour, Expeller Pressed High Oleic Oil (Canola and/or Sunflower), Salt, Baking Soda, Vitamin E (Natural), Vitamin C

On the website it says only the Rice Puffins are gluten-free. Could someone please educate me on what makes this product NOT gluten-free? Is it just that it is processed on a wheat machine? Or are there ingredients that should be avoided.

THANKS!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

psawyer

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts

Posted 13 April 2009 - 05:59 AM

Oat flour, unless specially grown and processed, is not considered to be gluten-free.
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 yumyummum

yumyummum

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 13 April 2009 - 06:07 AM

Thank you very much, Peter. I appreciate it.

#4 Youdah

Youdah

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts

Posted 13 April 2009 - 03:04 PM

Some say oats are OK, some say it isn't. If you're new to being gluten-free, I'd avoid oats...then when you are well healed and feeling OK, try oats and see if you can handle it. Some can, some can't.

#5 brigala

brigala

Advanced Community Member