Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Are Puffins Cereal gluten-free? And gluten-free Questions.
0

10 posts in this topic

I am totally new to this. If I product does not contain "wheat" does that make it gluten-free?

I am wondering about Barbara's Puffins Cereal Original.

Here are the ingredients:

Yellow Corn Flour, Corn Bran Flour, Molasses (Unsulfured), Oat Flour, Expeller Pressed High Oleic Oil (Canola and/or Sunflower), Salt, Baking Soda, Vitamin E (Natural), Vitamin C

On the website it says only the Rice Puffins are gluten-free. Could someone please educate me on what makes this product NOT gluten-free? Is it just that it is processed on a wheat machine? Or are there ingredients that should be avoided.

THANKS!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Oat flour, unless specially grown and processed, is not considered to be gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you very much, Peter. I appreciate it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Some say oats are OK, some say it isn't. If you're new to being gluten-free, I'd avoid oats...then when you are well healed and feeling OK, try oats and see if you can handle it. Some can, some can't.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am totally new to this. If I product does not contain "wheat" does that make it gluten-free?

Absolutely not!

This is a very good question coming from a newbie. :) I'm really glad you asked.

As an example, I was reading the package label for some granola bars at a friend's house today. The box stated "Wheat Free" prominently on the front (these were a Barbara's Bakery brand product). Not only did the granola bar contain oats, which are questionable for Celiacs, it also contained barley which is an absolute no-no.

I am among the majority of gluten-sensitive people who tolerate oats just fine. Even so, I now choose to avoid oats unless they are certified gluten-free. There is a significant minority of Celiacs who cannot tolerate oats even if they are gluten-free. There are two issues with oats: cross-contamination, and a similarity between oat protein and gluten. Almost all oats in the U.S. are contaminated with wheat, some a little, and some a whole lot. Using gluten-free oats avoids the cross-contamination issue, but if your immune system responds to "oat gluten" in the same way as it does to wheat/rye/barley gluten, then even gluten-free oats won't work out for you.

I am not sensitive enough to cross-contamination that I've felt symptoms from eating even "regular" oats, but eating them still risks damage to my intestines and so I choose to avoid them anyway. Like Youdah recommended, I think it's a good idea to consider oats "forbidden" until you've got yourself all healed up; then you can try some gluten-free oats and see how they work for you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Gluten free = no wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, and regular oats.

Welcome to the board!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I am totally new to this. If I product does not contain "wheat" does that make it gluten-free?

I am wondering about Barbara's Puffins Cereal Original.

Here are the ingredients:

Yellow Corn Flour, Corn Bran Flour, Molasses (Unsulfured), Oat Flour, Expeller Pressed High Oleic Oil (Canola and/or Sunflower), Salt, Baking Soda, Vitamin E (Natural), Vitamin C

On the website it says only the Rice Puffins are gluten-free. Could someone please educate me on what makes this product NOT gluten-free? Is it just that it is processed on a wheat machine? Or are there ingredients that should be avoided.

THANKS!

Their honey rice cereal is gluten free, but the others are most definitely not because of the oat flour, which is a magnet for cross contamination.

Ed in MD

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Puffins Peanut Butter cereal gave me D immediately after eating it. I tried it a few times because I really liked it and wanted to be sure it was the cereal - and it was. Bummer. I'd stay away from it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I recently ate a large bowl of Puffins Cereal at night and had the the worst stomach, inner thigh, and pubic area itches all night long. Benadryl didn't help much as all.

Also, the next day I could not function at work. I felt drowsy all day long with symptoms of burnout and low blood sugar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just got this promising response from Barbara's Bakery (which makes Puffins), although I don't know that I'd feel safe trying even their gluten-free varieties if not made on dedicated equipment, Also, has anyone tried the Honey Rice Puffins she mentions below as having all gluten-free ingredients, or is the consensus to stay away from all Puffins as they are made on facilities shared with wheat products?

"Thank you for contacting Barbara's Bakery about making more of our products Gluten Free. We are considering this very seriously and have added a new Puffins cereal which is gluten free called Puffins Multigrain that will be on the store shelves soon. In the future we hope to expand our product line to include more gluten free products.

Below is our list of products made with Gluten Free Ingredients. This information can also be found on our Web site at www.BarbarasBakery.com, click on Healthy Lifestyles, select Special Diets from the menu on the upper left corner of the page.

You are correct that the problem with oat products is not the grain but rather the harvesting & manufacturing processes. When oats are processed in the same facilities as wheat, a common practice in the U.S., contamination can occur even with the best cleaning protocol. Although more grain millers are producing gluten free oats, they are still very limited in availability. Because of the risk, even though slight, of cross contamination, Barbara's does not consider any of its products that contain oats to be gluten free.

Because we don't test for gluten and do not manufacture in gluten free environments, we cannot guarantee that there is no cross contamination from gluten containing grains in these products.

MADE WITH GLUTEN FREE INGREDIENTS:

Honey Rice Puffins Cereal

Brown Rice Crisps, Organic

Cheese Puff Bakes, White Cheddar

Corn Flakes, Organic

Thank you for taking the time to e-mail Barbara's Bakery. We hope this information helps you out with your dietary needs.

Regards,

Kathy Zorn

Technical Services Coordinator

Weetabix North America

Barbara

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,375
    • Total Posts
      920,571
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • https://www.facebook.com/groups/SingaporeCeliacs/
    • Today was the big day when I went to the GI and this is the first time I have felt heard and taken care of.  I told him about the two celiac blood tests  (in my first post) normal, he said that often happens, even with people who do have celiac and he needed to see the report and pictures from my endoscope.    I had filled out the appropriate Kaiser paperwork for Sutter to send all my medical records, but they ended up sending a disc with records to me, which Sutter said they could not use.  We also talked about gluten sensitivity v. celiac, and he said a lot of people are sensitive to gluten even if they don't have celiac. He said that my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which can be caused by any number of things.  He asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which limits certain foods and requires no gluten. He said my symptoms sound like classic IBS, which he said can be caused by any number of things, including gluten sensitivity.  He has asked if I would try the FODMAP diet, which has restricted foods as well as no gluten because most gluten products have wheat in them.  So, since I am planning on going gluten free anyway, and I don't want another endoscope or blood tests if absolutely necessary, I am going to try the FODMAP diet and see what happens. I filled a consent form at the GI office today to have all my records sent to him so he can view the endoscope pathology report and photos.  I have an appointment with a Registered Dietician on September 30, and follow up appointment the GI in 4 months. 
    • gluten-free andee, according to an article on celiac.com  that talks about this subject see this link http://www.celiac.com/articles/24406/1/Celiac-Diease-and-Other-Autoimmune-Diseases-Equals-Low-Inflammatory-Diet/Page1.html Quoting the author "In the author's personal experience, a gluten-free diet has many limitations. The reactivity between alpha gliadin and corn, millet, oats, rice and dairy has been denounced as invalid by gastroenterologists and celiac disease researchers. While at a medical school in Missouri, biopsies did not show improvement in villous atropy until all alpha gliadin sources and corn, millet, rice and oats were removed from the diet."  Note this research is two years old but hilites the problem with non-gluten rice protein that you are having. It is the alpha gliadin sources that it causing the cross reactivity you are experiencing when you eat rice protein's. She says quoting "Celiac disease has gotten the most attention in antibody research, but the current data on cross-reactivity of antibodies is allowing a better understanding of gluten sensitivity. Antigen reactivity to alpha-gliadin can trigger immune attacks on many individuals beyond those with positive DQ 2, DQ 8 and TTG test results. She goes on to say "A low inflammatory diet customized to each person through testing for cross-reactivity or elimination diet protocols is needed to restore a state of health and well-being."  which sounds exactly like what you are doing. If you are still having problems after elminating rice a 30 day elimination of all the alpha gliadin proteins might be in order.  Corn is a common reactivity problem I hear with a gluten allergy from my friends as well as the obvious lactose problems that can be common among celiacs.  But rarely do you hear Rice allergy's brought up in context of a gluten allergy. I am glad you are making progress on finding your triggers. Read the whole article for yourself to see if there are nuggets of truth I did not highlight in my response. I hope this is helpful. Good luck on your journey to health. Posterboy,
    • One other thing - you might be able to tolerate some dairy if it's only the FODMAPs problem. I discovered that many cheese such as cheddar have effectively no lactose. And my wife sometimes makes 24 hour yoghurt, which also has effectively no lactose. Those have been fine for my tummy.
    • Celiacs got better gluten-free. Post-war, grains became available again and the same patients got sick again. 1952 the Gluten-Free Diet is officially ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,451
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chelsealarita
    Joined