Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Malt Vinegar In A Gluten Free Product


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Amyleigh0007

Amyleigh0007

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts

Posted 27 April 2009 - 04:49 PM

I recently purchased a new product (new to me). It was labeled as wheat and gluten free but when I got it home and read the ingredients I saw it contained malt vinegar. I thought malt vinegar had gluten. Am I wrong?
  • 0
Amy

1989: I am diagnosed with IBS.
3/08: 8-year-old son diagnosed with Celiac (blood test and biopsy) and allergies to corn, egg whites, soy, peanuts, walnuts, wheat, and clam.
6/08: My Celiac test is negative.
7/08: I go completely gluten free despite negative test and NO MORE IBS SYMPTOMS!!
7/09: My Enterolab gluten sensitivity gene testing results indicate I have one Celiac gene and one gluten sensitivity gene.
8/09: I am diagnosed with Celiac based on gene testing results and positive response to diet.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Lisa

Lisa

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,799 posts

Posted 27 April 2009 - 04:55 PM

I recently purchased a new product (new to me). It was labeled as wheat and gluten free but when I got it home and read the ingredients I saw it contained malt vinegar. I thought malt vinegar had gluten. Am I wrong?



Sounds like it might be a labeling goof. Can you call the company and see what they have to say.
  • 0
Lisa

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#3 Amyleigh0007

Amyleigh0007

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts

Posted 27 April 2009 - 05:18 PM

Unfortunately, I didn't think of that and I already threw out the box. I believe the brand is Blue Horizon and the product is Fish and Chips fish bites. It's fish nuggets rolled in potato flakes. Is anyone familiar with this brand/product?
  • 0
Amy

1989: I am diagnosed with IBS.
3/08: 8-year-old son diagnosed with Celiac (blood test and biopsy) and allergies to corn, egg whites, soy, peanuts, walnuts, wheat, and clam.
6/08: My Celiac test is negative.
7/08: I go completely gluten free despite negative test and NO MORE IBS SYMPTOMS!!
7/09: My Enterolab gluten sensitivity gene testing results indicate I have one Celiac gene and one gluten sensitivity gene.
8/09: I am diagnosed with Celiac based on gene testing results and positive response to diet.

#4 irish daveyboy

irish daveyboy

    The Irish Coeliac

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 688 posts

Posted 27 April 2009 - 11:04 PM

Malt Vinegar from Barley
if it is brewed is 'NOT gluten-free'
but if it is distilled it is gluten-free,
as no gluten proteins carry over during the distillation process.
.
Maybe the vinegar was RICE MALT Vinegar ???
.
Best Regards,
David
  • 0
Chronically Ill and lost 56lbs in 3 Months Prior to Diagnosis.
Diagnosed in Nov 2005 after Biopsy and Blood Tests
Cannot tolerate Codex Wheat Starch.
Self Taught Baker.
Bake everything from scratch using naturally gluten-free ingredients.

#5 mushroom

mushroom

    Mushroom

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,448 posts

Posted 27 April 2009 - 11:26 PM

I've just about given up on products with vinegar (of any kind) because most of them just state VINEGAR! Hello,?? that's not enough, you know!

What kind of vinegar would that be. Living in a country with strong British roots it is most likely malt. They don't even say that, let alone whether they brewed or distilled it. Goodness only knows, there is enough brewing going on here I would doubt that it was distilled :lol:
  • 0
Neroli


"Everything that can be counted does not necessarily count; everything that counts cannot necessarily be counted." - Albert Einstein

"Life is not weathering the storm; it is learning to dance in the rain"

"Whatever the question, the answer is always chocolate." Nigella Lawson

------------

Caffeine free 1973
Lactose free 1990
(Mis)diagnosed IBS, fibromyalgia '80's and '90's
Diagnosed psoriatic arthritis 2004
Self-diagnosed gluten intolerant, gluten-free Nov. 2007
Soy free March 2008
Nightshade free Feb 2009
Citric acid free June 2009
Potato starch free July 2009
(Totally) corn free Nov. 2009
Legume free March 2010
Now tolerant of lactose

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#6 happygirl

happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts

Posted 29 April 2009 - 05:32 PM

See the response I received from the company:

"We do use a distilled malt vinegar. Products have been tested by third party. Gliadin is a glycoprotein that is an essential building block of gluten. Our testing validates that there is no wheat and no gluten."
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: