Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Chocolate Processed With Alkali


  • Please log in to reply

11 replies to this topic

#1 StrongerToday

 
StrongerToday

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 737 posts
 

Posted 10 May 2009 - 02:11 PM

what do you know about chocolate alkali? Is it safe? When I first went gluten free and researched it some old information said ketchup, vanilla, some alcohol wasn't safe... is this the same for chocolate alkali? That perhaps it was thought not to be safe - but is it? I've been known to eat my fair share of it and never had a problem, but some just told me today it's not gluten free, so I'm very curious.

Thanks!
  • 0
Ev in Michigan

GFDF since 8/20/05
Negative Bloodwork ~
Dr. encourages me to trust my
"Gut Reaction"

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 larry mac

 
larry mac

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,199 posts
 

Posted 10 May 2009 - 06:55 PM

First off, alkali is not alcohol. Even if it was, the alcohol would be evaporated. Some think some alcohol products made from grains could present a gluten problem. Same for some grain vinegars. I'm not one of them.

Secondly, chocolate processed with alkali is called dutch chocolate. The alkali, a base chemical, removes some of the acidity, makes it more water soluble, and gives the chocolate milder properties. I've always preferred it for chocolate milk. I'm no chemist, but I don't see why this would give the chocolate gluten ingredients.

Anyone?

best regards, lm
  • 0

gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa


#3 Gfresh404

 
Gfresh404

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 421 posts
 

Posted 10 May 2009 - 07:26 PM

Yes, it is gluten-free.

Alkalized Cocoa --> http://www.celiac.co...ents/Page1.html
  • 0

#4 Nadia2009

 
Nadia2009

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 194 posts
 

Posted 11 May 2009 - 10:20 AM

Are most chocolate safe? What should I be looking for to make sure it is gluten free? Thanks for sharing your tricks.
  • 0
May 2009: IgG abnormal (not tested for full panel)
Sept 2009: Negative blood tests (I was on and off gluten)
Sept 21 2009: gluten free
Sept 21 2011: gluten free for 2 full years
Dec 2012: chronic fatigue and leaky gut.
Feb 2012: IgG reactions to almond, amaranth, sesame, sunflower, dairy, eggs, beans and of course gluten.
March 2012: modified GAPS diet.

#5 larry mac

 
larry mac

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,199 posts
 

Posted 11 May 2009 - 10:52 AM

Are most chocolate safe? What should I be looking for to make sure it is gluten free? Thanks for sharing your tricks.


Whether the ingredients list wheat, barley, or rye. It's really that simple. There are no tricks. :rolleyes:

best regards, lm
  • 0

gluten-free 12-18-06

colonoscopy, upper GI
blood, urine, stool tests, prometheus panel
positive endoscopy/positive duodenal biopsies (severe villous atrophy, high intraepithelial lympocytes)
diagnosed celiac disease by Gastroenterologist Andrew R. Gottesman, 12-18-06

"Sobriety sucks. That's why they invented booze in the first place." Denis Leary - Rescue Me

Beware the chocolate of Chiapa


#6 lizard00

 
lizard00

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,528 posts
 

Posted 11 May 2009 - 02:36 PM

I've come across barley malt in some lindt truffles before. The bag was an assortment, and it didn't look like all the flavors contained the barley malt, but it's something to look out for.

I didn't eat any of them, just because I wasn't sure.
  • 0
Be yourself, everyone else is taken.
Oscar Wilde

Gluten free November 2007
IgA Deficient, Neg Bloodwork, Double DQ2 Positive
Dietary and Genetic Diagnosis June 2, 2008
Soy free Jan 09

#7 leftiejenessie

 
leftiejenessie

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2012 - 08:30 AM

there are actually a lot of things to consider. This goes for all food, not just chocolzte. I thought barley, wheat and rye were the only things to look for, but there are a lot of derivatives of those things that aren't lzbeled as derived from wheat, rye or barley. If it has modified food starch and doesn't specify that it's from corn, it may be from wheat (or potato). Malted barley syrup, malt, barley malt, dextrose, wheat dextrose (in quite a bit of chocolate products), soy sauce, seitan, some chocolate is sweetened with grains, so you have to ask. Imitation meat or imitation seafood is often a problem, gravy, salad dressing, artificial flavors are sometimes derived from gluten-containing grains and don't specify what they are. Ice cream often has gluten products in it. There's probably more, but i've exhausted my brain of ideas for now.



Whether the ingredients list wheat, barley, or rye. It's really that simple. There are no tricks. :rolleyes:

best regards, lm


  • -1

#8 psawyer

 
psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,057 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2012 - 11:34 AM

there are actually a lot of things to consider. This goes for all food, not just chocolzte. I thought barley, wheat and rye were the only things to look for, but there are a lot of derivatives of those things that aren't lzbeled as derived from wheat, rye or barley. If it has modified food starch and doesn't specify that it's from corn, it may be from wheat (or potato). Malted barley syrup, malt, barley malt, dextrose, wheat dextrose (in quite a bit of chocolate products), soy sauce, seitan, some chocolate is sweetened with grains, so you have to ask. Imitation meat or imitation seafood is often a problem, gravy, salad dressing, artificial flavors are sometimes derived from gluten-containing grains and don't specify what they are. Ice cream often has gluten products in it. There's probably more, but i've exhausted my brain of ideas for now.

There is very little fact in that post. You are working from very out-of-date material. Wheat must be clearly disclosed. Rye doesn't hide (never did). Chocolate which is sweetened with barley malt will say so in the ingredients list.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#9 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 08 March 2012 - 12:19 PM

There are no nasty surprises in chocolate, thank heavens. As others mentioned Lindt truffles have barley malt, and in most chocolate with "krispies" the crisp rice has barley malt in it. It will be clearly listed in the ingredients.

Occasionally you'll see a label warning "made on shared equipment with wheat". It's so easy to find chocolate without any wheat warning at all, like Ghirardelli, that I skip those brands.
  • 0

#10 Lilychic

 
Lilychic

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
 

Posted 19 March 2012 - 02:50 PM

Lindt and Godiva are pretty clear that they are not gluten free. Dagoba and Scharffenberger are gluten free. Lecithin can be wheat-derive but usually the manufacturer will label the source. Guittard is gluten free also.
  • 0

#11 Skylark

 
Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts
 

Posted 19 March 2012 - 05:38 PM

I have NEVER seen wheat-derived lecithin and I've been reading labels for seven years.
  • 0

#12 alex11602

 
alex11602

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 641 posts
 

Posted 19 March 2012 - 07:36 PM

Also as far as the Lindt brand is concerned they have many plain chocolate bars, if not most of them, that have no gluten ingredients. My children and I get the 90% cocoa bars about once a month as a treat and for the bit of iron that is in dark chocolate.
  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: