Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Modified Cellulose Gum
0

4 posts in this topic

Does anyone know if modified cellulose gum can be gluten-containing? I have a few supplements that contain this and sometimes when I am taking them I have some gluten reactions (not certain if that's the only culprit but can't figure out what else would be). The company that makes the supplements is Planetary Formulas and I have called them three times and emailed four to ask about this. I never get a response and if I do get a live person when I call, they transfer me to customer service which evidently only has voice mail.

Yesterday I bought some Source Naturals B-12 and saw some B-6 by them next to it so I bought it without looking at that label. The B-12 is fine but the B-6 does not state that it is free of anything (like the B-12) and has modified cellulose gum in it.

I have found that "cellulose gum" is listed as non-gluten containing but the "modified" part made me wonder. I know "food starch" in the US is non-gluten but "modified food starch" can be.

Thanks for any info...

Stephanie

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Modified cellulose gum is fine. B)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks - that's good to know. Now I'll have to figure out what else was giving me the problem... <_<

BUT that means I can keep taking these supplements as I haven't found any other with these formulas. So that's good news!

Stephanie

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Does anyone know if modified cellulose gum can be gluten-containing? I have a few supplements that contain this and sometimes when I am taking them I have some gluten reactions (not certain if that's the only culprit but can't figure out what else would be). The company that makes the supplements is Planetary Formulas and I have called them three times and emailed four to ask about this. I never get a response and if I do get a live person when I call, they transfer me to customer service which evidently only has voice mail.

Yesterday I bought some Source Naturals B-12 and saw some B-6 by them next to it so I bought it without looking at that label. The B-12 is fine but the B-6 does not state that it is free of anything (like the B-12) and has modified cellulose gum in it.

I have found that "cellulose gum" is listed as non-gluten containing but the "modified" part made me wonder. I know "food starch" in the US is non-gluten but "modified food starch" can be.

Thanks for any info...

Stephanie

I have big problems with cellulose. Including microcristaline cellulose and hydroxypropyl cellulose. Almost every medication seems to have them. I tried getting info from one manufacturer, and was told that 'they're not made from anything, they're chemicals'!!!

Unfortunately I do need a particular medication but after a few pills, get a gluten-like reaction. My doctors don't take it seriously because it is labelled gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.