This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Does The Insomnia Get Better?

no-more-muffins

no-more-muffins Apprentice

One of my very first symptoms when I started getting sick was insomnia. I just developed terrible insomnia, both being unable to fall asleep and waking up early in the morning. I have been using prescription sleep aids for a few months to help. At the beginning of my sickness I also developed depression and anxiety and I believe those were the underlying problems which were causing my sleep problems. (Well, the gluten intolerance was causing the mood problems which were causing the sleep problems I think.)

Anyway, my mood has improved dramatically since I went gluten-free 2 weeks ago. I haven't been depressed 1 day. I have had a little anxiety but I think it is from the gluten withdrawal. It has been getting better and better. My sleep hasn't really improved yet. Sometimes I don't have trouble falling asleep (with 1/4 ambien, probably just for placebo lol) but I still wake up really early and I have a very difficult time going back to sleep. Often I wake up at 5 and am wide awake. Last night I woke up at 2:45 and could only doze off and on a little, but felt awake the whole time. Does this get better?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

The Fluffy Assassin Enthusiast