This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Family Reunions

FallenAngel8612

FallenAngel8612 Newbie

First of all, I am new to the gluten free diet, so I am constantly researching on what I can eat, what I can't eat, and what may or may not be good for me.. I am only a week into the diet, but have already slipped once by eating a candy bar that made me have a bad reaction, so I am being more careful than I already was.

I have a family reunion on the 18th, and my reunions are always potluck. No one else in my extended family has heard of this, so there aren't really going to be many choices from what I can predict from past gatherings.

I'm supposed to bring a dish of my own, but should I also kind of pack an entire meal too, that way if I have no other options, I'm not left without a balanced meal?

Any suggestions, comments, advice, or anything would really help.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

mamaw Community Regular

Hello & welcome

I've been gluten-free for a long time so here is my suggestion. Make a couple of dishes that are gluten-free so you have something to eat & to share. Some families are very understanding & interested , others could care less & will think you are a space alien! Either way don't let it get to you. It all is very common. They are either understanding or complete morons...