Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kraft Miracle Whip
0

12 posts in this topic

I'm relatively new to the whole gluten-free thing. Does anyone know if Kraft Miracle Whip (basically mayonnaise) have gluten in it? It lists soybean oil as one of its ingredients....does soybean oil contain gluten? I thought I read somewhere online that it did, but now I'm completely confused. It also listed 'colour'.....I think flavour can potentially contain gluten, but I don't know whether or not colour can.

I called Kraft and they were no help. She basically told me that they cannot guarantee this product is gluten-free, but contradicted herself by also saying that if there were any ingredients containing (& also potentially containing, as in a trace amount from cross contamination) gluten, they would be stated on the ingredients. I was so frustrated. I kept trying to ask her politely how these two contradictory things could be true, to no avail. I didn't have the energy to pursue it any longer, so I just gave up. How frustrating. Talk about the run-around. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Kraft will list all forms a gluten on the ingredient listing. If you don't see it there, it ain't in there ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is "supposed" to be gluten free but I seem to be one of the people who have reacted to it. I don't do well with modified food starches. I use regular mayonnaise instead that is labeled gluten free, and if I want to make it taste like Miracle Whip, I add some extra apple cider vinegar and some sweetener to it.

Soybean oil does not normally contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm relatively new to the whole gluten-free thing. Does anyone know if Kraft Miracle Whip (basically mayonnaise) have gluten in it? It lists soybean oil as one of its ingredients....does soybean oil contain gluten? I thought I read somewhere online that it did, but now I'm completely confused. It also listed 'colour'.....I think flavour can potentially contain gluten, but I don't know whether or not colour can.

I called Kraft and they were no help. She basically told me that they cannot guarantee this product is gluten-free, but contradicted herself by also saying that if there were any ingredients containing (& also potentially containing, as in a trace amount from cross contamination) gluten, they would be stated on the ingredients. I was so frustrated. I kept trying to ask her politely how these two contradictory things could be true, to no avail. I didn't have the energy to pursue it any longer, so I just gave up. How frustrating. Talk about the run-around. :(

Please see the highlighted word in your post. That word creates a potential legal liability. Very few companies will guarantee gluten-free, since it would create a liability for them if one of their suppliers accidentally provided a contaminated ingredient, and they did not test each and every ingredient for possible gluten contamination.

Kraft is good to us, and I trust their labels.

Edited to add: Soybean oil is not a source of gluten, but there are a number of us who, in addition to gluten, are intolerant to soy.

Edited by psawyer
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I was reading the ingredients on a Hellman's Canola Mayonaise jar last week, and it even stated *Gluten Free on the jar. Problem for me is, salad dressings and mayo nearly always contain soy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It is "supposed" to be gluten free but I seem to be one of the people who have reacted to it. I don't do well with modified food starches. I use regular mayonnaise instead that is labeled gluten free, and if I want to make it taste like Miracle Whip, I add some extra apple cider vinegar and some sweetener to it.

Soybean oil does not normally contain gluten.

Don't know what you reacted to, but Miracle Whip is gluten-free. Personally, I can't stand the stuff, but it is gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was reading the ingredients on a Hellman's Canola Mayonaise jar last week, and it even stated *Gluten Free on the jar. Problem for me is, salad dressings and mayo nearly always contain soy.

Yes, they all contain soy and HFCS. So unfortunate! I need to find a good recipe to make it myself for deviled eggs!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Don't know what you reacted to, but Miracle Whip is gluten-free. Personally, I can't stand the stuff, but it is gluten-free.

richard

_____________

I consider it one of the basic four food groups ( meat, vegetable, fruit, and things that taste great but are fat) and was raised with it as an essential ingredient, so it's not that I don't like it or am impugning the brand, but it is definitely something I was reacting to, based on self trials. Sandwich with, gut bloating. Sandwich without, using regular mayonnaise, none. I'm talking my own gluten-free bread with nothing but the white stuff spread on it, and my wonderful spouse does not consume gluten in the house voluntarily, so it's not like the jar was contaminated.

I don't trust modified food starch unless the label specifies the country of origin and the exact grain product it was made out of. I suspect I am just not able to handle highly refined starches, which makes sense as it goes along with the type of arthritis I have, but with manufacturers sometimes using imported products there is always the risk of mislabeling or cross contamination.

In an ideal world there would be jars of mayonnaise made of strictly olive oil without the added starch and with no added gluten, but I haven't found one yet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I consider it one of the basic four food groups ( meat, vegetable, fruit, and things that taste great but are fat) and was raised with it as an essential ingredient

:lol: Me too...always Miracle Whip, never any other, and I loved it. It is made with soy though, so I can't have it anymore. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also reacted, not sure what it is..probably the eggs

Please note that this thread is over two years old...the information may be dated and inaccurate.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,624
    • Total Posts
      918,377
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • amalgam dental fillings - remove or not?
      Do you have celiac disease?  This is a celiac forum and that's what we are most knowledgeable about. http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ Amalgam fillings do not have lead that I know.  What you read was probably mercury.  You could have them removed, but only by a dentist who has the knowledge and skill.   I think you need to do some more research so that you can make an informed decision. I wish you well. 
    • Newly diagnosed and totally overwhelmed
      Welcome! Go ahead and rant!  Scream and holler!  Weep.  It is totally normal to go through a grieving process.  We have all been there!  You are NOT alone! When you pick yourself off the floor, start researching.  Learn about the gluten free diet.  Start with easy-to-digest foods that are naturally gluten free (meat, fish, veggies, fruit, etc.).  You may have to give up dairy for a short time until your villi heal (the villi tips release enzymes that help digest lactose (milk sugars).  Skip all the processed foods until you are improving.  That will give yourself time to forget what bread really tastes like.  Avoid eating out for a few months -- it's easy to get cross contamination.  Best to explain your gluten-free needs when you, yourself, "get it".  Read our Newbie 101 thread under "Coping" for valuable tips.   You can go out and drink with your friends.  You might have to avoid alcohol for a few months.  But when healed you can drink!  Just no beers, malted beverages.  Most distilled liquor (e.g. volka) is gluten free.   So, is wine.  Skip the gluten free beer for a long time.   Find other celiacs in your area.  In the meantime, visit with us.  It does get better.        
    • amalgam dental fillings - remove or not?
      Hi everyone, I'm going through some health issues right now and when searching for possible causes of my symptoms and blood test results, I see lead poissoning popping up quite a few times. Now, I have many amalgam fillings in my mouth since childhood, so naturally I'm thinking if that might play a role and if removing them would make a difference. But from what I read online removing the amalgam fillings is not recommended and does not bring any health benefits. I have mixed feelings about this issue and would really appreciate some advice. Thanks in advance for any comments. Greetings from Mexico. :-)
    • food allergies
      Welcome!   If you suspect you might have an issue with gluten, you should really get tested for celiac disease.  At least rule it out before you go gluten free.  Why?  There are so many other health issues that can be related to celiac disease.  Here's some information about getting an easy blood test: http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ If you suspect allergies (reference your edema), I would see an allergist too.   I wish you well! 
    • Newly diagnosed and totally overwhelmed
      so i was just recently diagnosed with Celiac disease and I am having trouble wrapping my head around it.... While i know that maintaining a gluten free diet is going to help me feel better - i can't get over the fact that i cannot eat my favorite foods anymore.. no more pizza, no more pasta, no more wheat thins.......... yes i realize there are gluten free versions of all of these but it's obviously just not the same.  I can't just go out and grab a couple drinks at the bar with my friends anymore..... i really do not know how to handle this and it's already wearing me down.  I feel like after living for 28 years my entire life has flipped upside down and everything is going to change... i'm sorry for sounding like such a lost puppy but i just wanted to vent a little bit and see how you all deal with this... i told my friends about it and they act like it is so not a big deal at all but to me it feels like my world has come crashing down 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,715
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Acomys
    Joined