Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kraft Miracle Whip
0

12 posts in this topic

I'm relatively new to the whole gluten-free thing. Does anyone know if Kraft Miracle Whip (basically mayonnaise) have gluten in it? It lists soybean oil as one of its ingredients....does soybean oil contain gluten? I thought I read somewhere online that it did, but now I'm completely confused. It also listed 'colour'.....I think flavour can potentially contain gluten, but I don't know whether or not colour can.

I called Kraft and they were no help. She basically told me that they cannot guarantee this product is gluten-free, but contradicted herself by also saying that if there were any ingredients containing (& also potentially containing, as in a trace amount from cross contamination) gluten, they would be stated on the ingredients. I was so frustrated. I kept trying to ask her politely how these two contradictory things could be true, to no avail. I didn't have the energy to pursue it any longer, so I just gave up. How frustrating. Talk about the run-around. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Kraft will list all forms a gluten on the ingredient listing. If you don't see it there, it ain't in there ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is "supposed" to be gluten free but I seem to be one of the people who have reacted to it. I don't do well with modified food starches. I use regular mayonnaise instead that is labeled gluten free, and if I want to make it taste like Miracle Whip, I add some extra apple cider vinegar and some sweetener to it.

Soybean oil does not normally contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm relatively new to the whole gluten-free thing. Does anyone know if Kraft Miracle Whip (basically mayonnaise) have gluten in it? It lists soybean oil as one of its ingredients....does soybean oil contain gluten? I thought I read somewhere online that it did, but now I'm completely confused. It also listed 'colour'.....I think flavour can potentially contain gluten, but I don't know whether or not colour can.

I called Kraft and they were no help. She basically told me that they cannot guarantee this product is gluten-free, but contradicted herself by also saying that if there were any ingredients containing (& also potentially containing, as in a trace amount from cross contamination) gluten, they would be stated on the ingredients. I was so frustrated. I kept trying to ask her politely how these two contradictory things could be true, to no avail. I didn't have the energy to pursue it any longer, so I just gave up. How frustrating. Talk about the run-around. :(

Please see the highlighted word in your post. That word creates a potential legal liability. Very few companies will guarantee gluten-free, since it would create a liability for them if one of their suppliers accidentally provided a contaminated ingredient, and they did not test each and every ingredient for possible gluten contamination.

Kraft is good to us, and I trust their labels.

Edited to add: Soybean oil is not a source of gluten, but there are a number of us who, in addition to gluten, are intolerant to soy.

Edited by psawyer
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I was reading the ingredients on a Hellman's Canola Mayonaise jar last week, and it even stated *Gluten Free on the jar. Problem for me is, salad dressings and mayo nearly always contain soy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It is "supposed" to be gluten free but I seem to be one of the people who have reacted to it. I don't do well with modified food starches. I use regular mayonnaise instead that is labeled gluten free, and if I want to make it taste like Miracle Whip, I add some extra apple cider vinegar and some sweetener to it.

Soybean oil does not normally contain gluten.

Don't know what you reacted to, but Miracle Whip is gluten-free. Personally, I can't stand the stuff, but it is gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was reading the ingredients on a Hellman's Canola Mayonaise jar last week, and it even stated *Gluten Free on the jar. Problem for me is, salad dressings and mayo nearly always contain soy.

Yes, they all contain soy and HFCS. So unfortunate! I need to find a good recipe to make it myself for deviled eggs!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Don't know what you reacted to, but Miracle Whip is gluten-free. Personally, I can't stand the stuff, but it is gluten-free.

richard

_____________

I consider it one of the basic four food groups ( meat, vegetable, fruit, and things that taste great but are fat) and was raised with it as an essential ingredient, so it's not that I don't like it or am impugning the brand, but it is definitely something I was reacting to, based on self trials. Sandwich with, gut bloating. Sandwich without, using regular mayonnaise, none. I'm talking my own gluten-free bread with nothing but the white stuff spread on it, and my wonderful spouse does not consume gluten in the house voluntarily, so it's not like the jar was contaminated.

I don't trust modified food starch unless the label specifies the country of origin and the exact grain product it was made out of. I suspect I am just not able to handle highly refined starches, which makes sense as it goes along with the type of arthritis I have, but with manufacturers sometimes using imported products there is always the risk of mislabeling or cross contamination.

In an ideal world there would be jars of mayonnaise made of strictly olive oil without the added starch and with no added gluten, but I haven't found one yet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I consider it one of the basic four food groups ( meat, vegetable, fruit, and things that taste great but are fat) and was raised with it as an essential ingredient

:lol: Me too...always Miracle Whip, never any other, and I loved it. It is made with soy though, so I can't have it anymore. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also reacted, not sure what it is..probably the eggs

Please note that this thread is over two years old...the information may be dated and inaccurate.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,654
    • Total Posts
      921,620
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Any place you know of to find more info? Seems like I am still in so much pain/bloat, I am not even sure if I would pick the right 5 foods!
    • Don't freak out worrying about other maladies yet. You would be absolutely amazed at the things that can/will resolve on the gluten free diet. Some take longer than others -- neurological seem to take the longest for most people but really, I guarantee, there will be things you had no idea or expectation of resolving will. There were tons for me and then there were things I sort of "woke up one day" & said, "hey, that's gone and that & that & that". Other, larger things had taken my attention so I hadn't paid attention to the smaller things until...... On the other hand, not everything is related to celiac but I bet you wouldn't find a handful of celiacs who didn't say something very similar to what I said above. Yes, thyroid problems are common with celiac but I'll also tell you there are/have been people on here who were hypothyroid before dx but after being gluten-free for a while they actually went back to normal thyroid numbers. My husband is one (yes, we both are celiac - it happens). He was on synthroid for 20 years or more. Guess what? He's not on it anymore. We've had his thyroid panel done several times since about a year gluten-free & he is no longer hypothyroid. 
    • Yes please, that'd be awesome Having a fun time trying to reply on my phone due to broken screen but will be back on tomorrow after results of doctor appointment to get to the bottom of why they've given me seemingly wrong advice re: next steps. Yup I'll admit to pity, anger, frustration and outright fear, been through the mill of emotions in this first week that's for sure. One thing before I go for that; back when I was self-diagnosing I wanted a full thyroid panel (T3, T4 etc.) and also ESR & CRP checks for vasculitis and similar maladies. Now it seems from my reading they can often follow celiac so my worry level of those has gone up a notch, more blood tests ahoy it seems? Main reason for worrying about those is the nearly constant tight / tender head I have at the moment. Top and sides of scalp. Could be the stress tensing the shoulders and occipital muscles at back of head but after the celiac diagnosis being missed I'm fearful of anything else being missed. Did anyone else have this tight head feeling at the start? Feels like the skin is being pulled inwards, sometimes goes down for a few minutes here and there and gets worse when sitting I think. I see the term "brain fog" a lot but luckily don't seem to have too much of that at present, this is more a physical sensation.
    • I don't have a lot of faith in the allergy testing naturalpaths do. I had them done, but really it wasn't very helpful. Foods that were okay on the blood work- I was still having obvious reactions to. Skin testing through an allergist didn't show up food allergies either. I agree the food elimination diet is a better way to go and doesn't cost a bunch of money. I did a whole 30 diet a while back that could have been helpful if the foods I reacted to were corn, dairy,  soy, grains and sugar- but I react to more than that.  I do need to do a major elimination diet- just haven't gotten up the willpower yet.   
    • Quick search gave too many responses to TGI Fridays but none to TGI Fridays Buns (or similar) so... I was talking with my sister-in-law (Gluten Intolerant) and she spoke highly of a pre-packaged bun from Fridays. I was hesitant but she gave me one (apparently you can buy them from the restaurant?) and I tried it. Since I'm slow to react I won't know about gluten for a bit but I can definitely say it is the closest to "real" I've had in years! Spongy, doesn't crumble while eating a sandwich and tastes good. Color me impressed! I tried to determine the manufacturer or if Fridays actually makes them but I can't locate anything worth pursuing. Anyone have information on this? Thanks in advance.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,654
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    bentcreekmom
    Joined