Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Kraft Miracle Whip
0

12 posts in this topic

I'm relatively new to the whole gluten-free thing. Does anyone know if Kraft Miracle Whip (basically mayonnaise) have gluten in it? It lists soybean oil as one of its ingredients....does soybean oil contain gluten? I thought I read somewhere online that it did, but now I'm completely confused. It also listed 'colour'.....I think flavour can potentially contain gluten, but I don't know whether or not colour can.

I called Kraft and they were no help. She basically told me that they cannot guarantee this product is gluten-free, but contradicted herself by also saying that if there were any ingredients containing (& also potentially containing, as in a trace amount from cross contamination) gluten, they would be stated on the ingredients. I was so frustrated. I kept trying to ask her politely how these two contradictory things could be true, to no avail. I didn't have the energy to pursue it any longer, so I just gave up. How frustrating. Talk about the run-around. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Kraft will list all forms a gluten on the ingredient listing. If you don't see it there, it ain't in there ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It is "supposed" to be gluten free but I seem to be one of the people who have reacted to it. I don't do well with modified food starches. I use regular mayonnaise instead that is labeled gluten free, and if I want to make it taste like Miracle Whip, I add some extra apple cider vinegar and some sweetener to it.

Soybean oil does not normally contain gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm relatively new to the whole gluten-free thing. Does anyone know if Kraft Miracle Whip (basically mayonnaise) have gluten in it? It lists soybean oil as one of its ingredients....does soybean oil contain gluten? I thought I read somewhere online that it did, but now I'm completely confused. It also listed 'colour'.....I think flavour can potentially contain gluten, but I don't know whether or not colour can.

I called Kraft and they were no help. She basically told me that they cannot guarantee this product is gluten-free, but contradicted herself by also saying that if there were any ingredients containing (& also potentially containing, as in a trace amount from cross contamination) gluten, they would be stated on the ingredients. I was so frustrated. I kept trying to ask her politely how these two contradictory things could be true, to no avail. I didn't have the energy to pursue it any longer, so I just gave up. How frustrating. Talk about the run-around. :(

Please see the highlighted word in your post. That word creates a potential legal liability. Very few companies will guarantee gluten-free, since it would create a liability for them if one of their suppliers accidentally provided a contaminated ingredient, and they did not test each and every ingredient for possible gluten contamination.

Kraft is good to us, and I trust their labels.

Edited to add: Soybean oil is not a source of gluten, but there are a number of us who, in addition to gluten, are intolerant to soy.

Edited by psawyer
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I was reading the ingredients on a Hellman's Canola Mayonaise jar last week, and it even stated *Gluten Free on the jar. Problem for me is, salad dressings and mayo nearly always contain soy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It is "supposed" to be gluten free but I seem to be one of the people who have reacted to it. I don't do well with modified food starches. I use regular mayonnaise instead that is labeled gluten free, and if I want to make it taste like Miracle Whip, I add some extra apple cider vinegar and some sweetener to it.

Soybean oil does not normally contain gluten.

Don't know what you reacted to, but Miracle Whip is gluten-free. Personally, I can't stand the stuff, but it is gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I was reading the ingredients on a Hellman's Canola Mayonaise jar last week, and it even stated *Gluten Free on the jar. Problem for me is, salad dressings and mayo nearly always contain soy.

Yes, they all contain soy and HFCS. So unfortunate! I need to find a good recipe to make it myself for deviled eggs!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Don't know what you reacted to, but Miracle Whip is gluten-free. Personally, I can't stand the stuff, but it is gluten-free.

richard

_____________

I consider it one of the basic four food groups ( meat, vegetable, fruit, and things that taste great but are fat) and was raised with it as an essential ingredient, so it's not that I don't like it or am impugning the brand, but it is definitely something I was reacting to, based on self trials. Sandwich with, gut bloating. Sandwich without, using regular mayonnaise, none. I'm talking my own gluten-free bread with nothing but the white stuff spread on it, and my wonderful spouse does not consume gluten in the house voluntarily, so it's not like the jar was contaminated.

I don't trust modified food starch unless the label specifies the country of origin and the exact grain product it was made out of. I suspect I am just not able to handle highly refined starches, which makes sense as it goes along with the type of arthritis I have, but with manufacturers sometimes using imported products there is always the risk of mislabeling or cross contamination.

In an ideal world there would be jars of mayonnaise made of strictly olive oil without the added starch and with no added gluten, but I haven't found one yet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I consider it one of the basic four food groups ( meat, vegetable, fruit, and things that taste great but are fat) and was raised with it as an essential ingredient

:lol: Me too...always Miracle Whip, never any other, and I loved it. It is made with soy though, so I can't have it anymore. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also reacted, not sure what it is..probably the eggs

Please note that this thread is over two years old...the information may be dated and inaccurate.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,344
    • Total Posts
      920,486
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! Thankyou!!    
    • Here's what the Klondike Bar makers say on the FAQ page of their website (August 2016): Are your products gluten free? Nope. They are not. We have not validated for gluten free. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites, however we do have allergen management programs in all our facilities. The intent of these programs is to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. Our product labels adhere to the FDA’s strict regulations regarding declaration of ingredients and allergens. We do not use the terms “Natural” or “Artificial Flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. RECIPES CAN CHANGE. We strongly recommend that allergic consumers refer to ingredient declarations EVERY TIME they purchase processed foods.
    • I tried the iodine test but couldn't leave it on very long because it itched too much. I left it on maybe 30 minutes lol. Did anyone try it and have the same response??
    • Had my scope today. Dr said my esophagus is damaged and stomach inflamed. Waiting on biopsy results. Taking protonic and flagyl and he said to go ahead and try cutting gluten out to see if that helps. Thanks for the feedback everyone! 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,414
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Vic40
    Joined