Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Warning: Popular Salsa Contains Gluten
0

22 posts in this topic

Yup, that's right. Salsa with gluten. Not flour, or anything that might just be there through contamination, but straight up hydrolyzed wheat gluten.

Why? I don't know. But here's the product:

Reser's Original Baja Cafe Salsa

Ingredients list:

Tomatoes (Tomatoes, Tomato Juice, Salt, Calcium Chloride and Citric Acid), Water, Onion, Jalapeno Pepper (Jalapeno Peppers, Salt, Acetic Acid, Calcium Chloride), Salt, Seasoning (Salt, Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten, Stabilizer (Guar Gum, Xanthan Gum, Sugar), Potassium Sorbate (to Protect Freshness), Cilantro, Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors, Lactic Acid, Soybean Oil), Vinegar, Modified Corn Starch.

-----------

My suspicion is that other varieties of Reser's Salsa also contain this ingredient, though I haven't read the labels.

Soooo, inquire of your favorite restaurants whether or not they use Reser's. Of course, we should always read labels, yada yada yada. But shouldn't there be a hall of shame for making such a food science nightmare of a normally innocuous product?

I sent them a cranky email. Perhaps you should, too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Thank you for posting this.

Maybe all those times I thought it was the tortilla chips it was really the darn salsa.

Hmph! :angry:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Thank you for posting this.

Maybe all those times I thought it was the tortilla chips it was really the darn salsa.

Hmph! :angry:

This has me questioning everything now. I'm double checking with Campbell's about Pace because of their "Natural Flavorings." Frito Lay specifically lists Tostitos brand as gluten free, (except for the individual cups of nacho cheese that you get at movie theaters) and I know my favorite "real" salsa brand, Herdez, contains just the basics: Tomatoes, onions, serrano peppers, salt, cilantro.

(At home I usually make my own fresh but it's one of those things I tend to eat when I'm out.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Surprisingly, quite a few of the mainstream salsas are not gluten-free.

Yup, that's right. Salsa with gluten. Not flour, or anything that might just be there through contamination, but straight up hydrolyzed wheat gluten.

Why? I don't know. But here's the product:

Reser's Original Baja Cafe Salsa

Ingredients list:

Tomatoes (Tomatoes, Tomato Juice, Salt, Calcium Chloride and Citric Acid), Water, Onion, Jalapeno Pepper (Jalapeno Peppers, Salt, Acetic Acid, Calcium Chloride), Salt, Seasoning (Salt, Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten, Stabilizer (Guar Gum, Xanthan Gum, Sugar), Potassium Sorbate (to Protect Freshness), Cilantro, Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors, Lactic Acid, Soybean Oil), Vinegar, Modified Corn Starch.

-----------

My suspicion is that other varieties of Reser's Salsa also contain this ingredient, though I haven't read the labels.

Soooo, inquire of your favorite restaurants whether or not they use Reser's. Of course, we should always read labels, yada yada yada. But shouldn't there be a hall of shame for making such a food science nightmare of a normally innocuous product?

I sent them a cranky email. Perhaps you should, too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Surprisingly, quite a few of the mainstream salsas are not gluten-free.

Hi Nanchris,

Could you pass on some brand names? This has got me looking around 'teh interwebs today and I can't find any specific gluten containing ingredients for other salsas, other than those contained within scary taco bell products and mass produced burritos.

I'm sure Reser's isn't the only one, though.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




This has me questioning everything now. I'm double checking with Campbell's about Pace because of their "Natural Flavorings." Frito Lay specifically lists Tostitos brand as gluten free, (except for the individual cups of nacho cheese that you get at movie theaters) and I know my favorite "real" salsa brand, Herdez, contains just the basics: Tomatoes, onions, serrano peppers, salt, cilantro.

(At home I usually make my own fresh but it's one of those things I tend to eat when I'm out.)

The Clan Thomas has taken Pace off of their gluten-free list. So we no longer eat it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The Clan Thomas has taken Pace off of their gluten-free list. So we no longer eat it.

I am hoping this thread gets some Google love, because all I am finding on Pace are these old lists that cite it as gluten free, and a thread from back in March with the gluten-free Campbells products listed (but not Pace.) I have emailed Campbells, but if anyone around these parts has the definitive word on Pace please share. It's so extremely common that it's probably not safe to eat salsa at BBQs anymore.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found this on another site:

***The following was received by mail. You must call 1-800-257-8443 to get the most recent copy of this list from Campbell's, as they won't send it by email. The following information was dated "As of February 2009". Note that there are no Campbell's Soups or Pace Picante products that are considered gluten-free.***

I actually no longer buy campbells products. At one point they were on one of the lists here as a company that did not hide gluten, but after double checking w/ them about a product that according to the label looked o.k. I was told it contained gluten. I asked twice what it contained, but could not get an answer. I prefer companies that keep an updated list on their site, but if I remember correctly they will only mail it and I don't care for that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Most mainstream salsas I know about are indeed gluten-free. Remember that any wheat would have to be listed, as it was in the salsa that started this thread. Rye and oats won't be in salsa. That leaves barley, which is usually listed as malt.

Has anybody found out why Pace was delisted? Is wheat or anything that could hide barley now in the ingredients? Or is Campbell just getting paranoid about declaring something gluten-free?

Disclaimer: I don't eat Pace myself, but only because I like other salsas better.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Regarding Pace Salsas:

I called Campbell's today to ask about its gluten free status. First, the customer service rep reviewed the gluten free products list which is the same one that has been floating around here, and doesn't mention Pace.

Then, in response to my question about what, specifically, the salsa could contain that included gluten, he educated me on what "gluten contains." (Ur, as opposed to what contains gluten, and didn't mention wheat)

I told him that since the product labels (except for some of the cheesy products) do not include any gluten containing products, it is dangerous to think that there might be hidden gluten. I asked that the company please list any gluten containing products on their ingredients labels or clarify for their customers how there might be gluten in the product, and that they update their gluten free list to include this information. I also mentioned that salsa is generally considered to be a relatively safe product for people with gluten sensitivities since basically there really is no good reason why a salsa product should contain any (Particularly unlabeled gluten.)

We shall see if anything actually comes of that but it was somewhat therapeutic to speak to an actual human, however little he could actually do about it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I might suggest...that you forget about Campbell's Pace and buy the numerous products that Newman's Own makes that are gluten free. Plus the proceeds go to the many philanthropic endeavors sponsored by the Newman Family:

http://www.newmansown.com/faqs.aspx#q6

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If I might suggest...that you forget about Campbell's Pace and buy the numerous products that Newman's Own makes that are gluten free. Plus the proceeds go to the many philanthropic endeavors sponsored by the Newman Family:

http://www.newmansown.com/faqs.aspx#q6

Honestly, I don't buy any of these products. (I usually make my own or buy Herdez, Newmans or other lesser known or local brands) However, they are extremely common and one tends to encounter them in food service contexts as well as at friends' barbecues. Every now and then a person has to buy something from a convenience store, as well. Also, since the label doesn't actually mention any troublesome ingredients it's a risk for the average consumer out there. (Assuming there actually is an issue, which we don't know.)

I got this response from Campbell's Foodservice division:

Our Pace products do not contain any wheat in our ingredient statement. The natural flavoring appears to be hot pepper.

Thank you,

Campbells North America Foodservice

I have asked them to clarify why it does not appear on their list of gluten free products.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Also, since the label doesn't actually mention any troublesome ingredients it's a risk for the average consumer out there. (Assuming there actually is an issue, which we don't know.)

quote]

I'm sorry, I don't quite understand?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I'm sorry, I don't quite understand?

I guess I should say, the average gluten sensitive consumer. If you're just at the market shopping and reading labels there is no red flag to tell a consumer there might be an issue with gluten. It's not like cereals where you might expect cross contamination from other grains, either.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I guess I should say, the average gluten sensitive consumer. If you're just at the market shopping and reading labels there is no red flag to tell a consumer there might be an issue with gluten. It's not like cereals where you might expect cross contamination from other grains, either.

Well, I think you need to apply some educated judgements when shopping. If wheat is an ingredient, it by law must be listed in the ingredient list or in the allergen statement. If wheat is not listed, it's not in there.

Other forms of gluten MAY be hidden in natural flavors, but I believe that to be rare. Sometime you have to make a judgement call and decide if a product would reasonable contain barley or rye.

The key to successfully eating gluten free is to learn to adequately decipher labels. I support those companies who will clearly list all forms of gluten. Shopping is not an effort.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Well, I think you need to apply some educated judgements when shopping. If wheat is an ingredient, it by law must be listed in the ingredient list or in the allergen statement. If wheat is not listed, it's not in there.

True, but as has been pointed out there could be undeclared malt flavoring. Not that there should be. Regardless, the writer and lawyer in me has to know why it is not on the gluten free list. Drives me crazy not to have the specifics, and doesn't go over terribly well with the husband when he's shopping, either. I have a friend who is allergic to cilantro, some Pace salsas do not contain any, thus it was frequently around at some of our get togethers. I had read the label and wouldn't have thought anything of it.

I spoke with Reser's, their customer service rep was extremely nice and assured me she'd passed on my written comments as well as my phone call to their R&D department. I told her we of the gluten free persuasion research these things online quite a bit and would appreciate a note on the website should the ingredients change for the better.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Red Cactus Country Sweet Salsa says gluten free on the label. It is by far my favorite and the only salsa I buy.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
why it is not on the gluten free list.

Currently, gluten free labeling is totally voluntary at this time. Many companies do not label, even though there is no gluten ingredients, because they do not test. Many will list a product as gluten free, yet they also list a disclairmer. And many companies will not supply a gluten free listing due to product change....there can be many "whys".

Guess we better get back to salsa. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Will somebody pass the Tostitos? I'm getting hungry reading this.

I'm not a fan of gluten-free lists, because things change and the list is out of date five minutes after it is created. If there is nothing questionable in the ingredient list, then who cares about a list. I know I don't. Let's not make a big deal about nothing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Alrighty then. Can we get some good salsa recipes please?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Alrighty then. Can we get some good salsa recipes please?

Here's my basic one, there's room for lots of variation:

2 Tomatoes, diced

1/4 of a medium onion, diced (or more or less, depending on taste)

1/4 cup diced cilantro

Juice of two limes

Cayenne pepper to taste

Ground cumin to taste (optional)

Stir together, and you're done! If you want it to be less chunky, mash it. If you like your salsa spicier, chop up a serrano (very finely) and substitute for cayenne.

I usually like it just like that, but there are other variations:

Use canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh (makes it a little runnier, more like store bought)

Use canned crushed tomatoes for a very smooth salsa

Simmer all but the cilantro (at that at the end or it will kill the flavor) stirring on the stove until smooth.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
This has me questioning everything now. I'm double checking with Campbell's about Pace because of their "Natural Flavorings." Frito Lay specifically lists Tostitos brand as gluten free, (except for the individual cups of nacho cheese that you get at movie theaters) and I know my favorite "real" salsa brand, Herdez, contains just the basics: Tomatoes, onions, serrano peppers, salt, cilantro.

(At home I usually make my own fresh but it's one of those things I tend to eat when I'm out.)

It has been posted elsewhere here that Pace is not gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,896
    • Total Posts
      919,537
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Marshmallow Fruity Pebbles
      I have been gluten free now since February and I recently purchased a box of Marshmallows Fruity Pebbles and looked at the ingredients (which none indicated gluten content), but am just wondering if anyone has had a problem with them. 
    • Test Results
      Update: I am about at my wit's end. I won't be able to see my new doctor until July 17 to get a referral to a GI doctor, so I continue to eat gluten and the effects continue to worsen. Today my boss, whom I have been working with for 12 years, and I had a meeting where he said he's noticed a change in many things, such as speech, not articulating well, forgetfulness, and other things that are affecting my work product. I finally told him I know there is something wrong with me medically and I've been trying to get to the doctor to no avail. I recall those four weeks early in the year when I tried out gluten free and was beginning to feel much better- more present, more sharp, and then went back on gluten in preparation for the blood test.  I just don't think I can do this gluten thing any longer and am thinking of going cold-turkey gluten free.  I'm 54 years old, am beginning not to care about a diagnosis because I just want to feel better and be able to do what I need to do. Because of how I felt going off of gluten earlier in the year, and eating gluten free when I was on the McDougall plan years ago, and how I feel while doing this gluten challenge, I am pretty convinced that my issue is gluten.  Any words of encouragement would be welcome.  If you've done gluten free and never looked back, tell me about it. 
    • Gardasil
      "I got this vaccination in 2009 when I was 20 and it completely altered my life. Made my celiac disease so much worse, sleep 15-18 hours a day, SIBO, it has completely altered my life since getting this vaccination. My doctor has two twin girls about my age and they both have digestion problems after receiving gardasil Thank you I have a young daughter and have wondered this exact question posed by the poster and your response has given me great pause about this issue which may come up in years to come. I am sorry to hear this wreak havoc on your life, but simultaneously thank you for sharing this detail to help those of us that have likely been decades misdiagnosed celiacs now raising children. Thank you.
    • Gluten does WHAT to the brain?
      "Wondering what kind of life my brother could have had - if  he had celiac - constantly haunts me" My sympathies that is just tragic, as this story is.  I hope you are at peace knowing you are aware of your celiac and help so many lost, scared, and confused celiacs here. It can never bring back your brother but I hope it can give soften some of what you feel that was/is beyond your control. His suffering and your loss has made you a better advocate to yourself and in your work helping us. I don't like my body or my  brain on gluten either. I do fear that people overlook the toll inflammation takes on the brain. It likely may explain decades of mental illness that was brain based inflammation unknown until changes in technology advancement catch up. However consuming gluten to study how one enters psychosis may not be the best method. Do no harm.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • Jmg  »  admin

      Hello Admin!
      I don't know whether this is of interest to post on your articles feed:
      http://pratt.duke.edu/about/news/window-guts-brain
      Kind Regards,
      Matt
      · 2 replies
    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,944
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    purplerain
    Joined