Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Gluten Items At El Pollo Loco


  • Please log in to reply

1 reply to this topic

#1 klear_62

 
klear_62

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
 

Posted 19 July 2009 - 07:04 PM

The following Email was sent by an El Pollo Loco rep in July 2009. Illuminating distinctions, one chicken source / type is safe, three are not (!!).

"The follwing menu items DO NOT contain wheat gluten:

- Pinto Beans
- Refried beans
- Cotija cheese
- Mixed Vegetables
- Corn tortillas (Does contain corn gluten)
- Flame grilled mexican chicken - No wheat gluten, however it IS chopped on the same chopping board as other chicken items that do contain wheat gluten.
-Avocado Salsa does not contain wheat, barley or rye gluten.
-The Flan served at El Pollo Loco does not contain gluten at this time.


"BBQ Chicken Flavor Event does not contain gluten.The product however is prepared on the same cutting board and uses common utensils as other chicken products that may contain gluten. Depending on your level of sensitivity, this may or may not be a consideration.

The following menu items DO contain wheat gluten based on ingredients they are preapred with:

"Tacos El Carbon - Thigh meat contains wheat gluten.
Taquitos - Chicken blend contains wheat gluten. Flour tortillas contain wheat gluten.
Salsa - Chipolte salsa contains wheat gluten so all salsas served at the salsa bar are not included on the 'does not contain gluten' list, due to the risk of cross contamination by guests of one salsa to another while filling their cups. *Pre- packed salsas with the exception of chipolte, would be an acceptable option if available.
Pollo Bowls - Soy sauce used in marinade during preparation contains wheat gluten.
Burritos - Soy sauce used in marinade during preparation contains wheat gluten.
Salads - Soy sauce used in marinade during preparation contains wheat gluten.
Rice - Contains gluten at this time
Queso sauce currently being served at El Pollo Loco does contain wheat gluten
Flour Tortillas - Contain wheat gluten."
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 brendygirl

 
brendygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 326 posts
 

Posted 08 September 2009 - 06:01 PM

I always get the 2 piece leg and thigh combo with pinto beans and corn on the cob.
Love it every time, and I'm uber-sensitive.
I've had it for 2 or 3 years and only gotten sick once (I imagine from cc).
  • 0

Gluten Free since November 2005

.


"If you want breakfast in bed, sleep in the kitchen.." ---Ed Polish




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: