Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


- - - - -

Lactic Acid - Lactose


  • Please log in to reply

1 reply to this topic

#1 Guest_Leidenschaft_*

 
Guest_Leidenschaft_*
  • Guests
 

Posted 15 April 2005 - 04:03 AM

Hi all, I have been really battling Lactose intolerance and have basically gone dairy free for now. (just dairy items, not ingredients like in chocolate etc.) I've noticed on my favourite gummy candy that it contains Lactic Acid... is this the same as Lactose? I do notice a bit of gurgle guts and bloating if I eat them. :(

Was going to try some cream cheese this week on a bagel, but got glutinated earlier this week and have decided to let me guts settle before adding potential problems.

Anticipating "your" cheery assistance as always! :D
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 MySuicidalTurtle

 
MySuicidalTurtle

    "Like a rolling stone?"

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,663 posts
 

Posted 15 April 2005 - 08:47 AM

Lactic acid comes from the fermintation of lactose. It also can be made in other ways, too, like synthetically.

I read somewhere that when you don't produce the lactase to digest lactose that the lactose turns into lactic acid in the intestines and can cause cramps, discomfort, and all that jazz.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: