This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten In Frozen Fruit?

Mi55-E

Mi55-E Newbie

Hey guys,

I'm very new to this and am trying to find the source of my glutened feeling today.. The only different thing I've had is Bob's Red Mill Teff cereal with frozen blueberries. I've read some conflicting things about fresh produce possible containing a wheat coating.. as well as dried fruit dusted with wheat to prevent sticking.. I was wondering if this might be possible for frozen fruit? Has anyone else had any issues with this?

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

lizard00 Enthusiast

If it contained a wheat coating, it would by law be required to be listed, as wheat is one of the top 8 allergens and must be disclosed.

amoliphant Newbie

I would more suspect the cereal....maybe call them and see if it is processed/packaged on a dedicated line. I ran into problems with Arrowhead Mills Maple Buckwheat Cereal...so much so that I am leery of all packaged cereals now. Maybe my cereal was actually gluten free as it stated on the package and I had a reaction to buckwheat, I don't know, but in your case I would suspect the cereal way ahead of the frozen fruit...

Mi55-E Newbie
I would more suspect the cereal....maybe call them and see if it is processed/packaged on a dedicated line. I ran into problems with Arrowhead Mills Maple Buckwheat Cereal...so much so that I am leery of all packaged cereals now. Maybe my cereal was actually gluten free as it stated on the package and I had a reaction to buckwheat, I don't know, but in your case I would suspect the cereal way ahead of the frozen fruit...