This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Blood Work

Amber52377

Amber52377 Rookie

Hi there, newbie here!

My son (15mos) recently saw a pedi GI b/c of chronic diarhhea & GERD issues. Based on my history of autoimmune disorders (I have psoriasis & psoriatic arthritis as well as suspected asymptomatic celiac), the GI opted to do a full panel to try & get to the bottom of his ongoing issues.

He had the following tests done:

Anti endomysial Antibodies

CBC

CRP Quantative

ESR

Tissue Transglutaminase (tTG) Antibodies (IgG, IgA)

BMP

Liver/Hepatic Function Panel

Thyroid Panel

She has also ordered the following stool tests:

Stool C Diff Toxin A&B

Stoo O & PX 3/ Giardia Antigen

Cryptosporidium.

We just got the stool samples in to the lab. The GI's office called today & told me that his blood work results were in & that everything looked alright except for his Globulin levels. She said they were low. I've done a bit of Googling so I realize that the results could be indictive of several things. However, I'm curious to know if the low levels could rule out his having celiac. Also, if someone could point out which test might've come back w/the low results, I'd greatly appreciate it. We've not attempted going gluten free so we don't skew any tests w/the GI. Our GI did want us to go back for more testing, a repeat of the low test & a couple of others. Any idea what that might be? I don't have the lab orders yet... I pick them up Monday.