#1 GlutenGalAZ

GlutenGalAZ

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 543 posts

Posted 01 August 2009 - 05:06 PM

Hi.
I've known for a while now that I have a problem with Tomatoes and Potatoes. Been reading up and am eliminating them and trying to eliminate nightshades in general.

For those that are Nightshade Free how do you make:

1.) Taco Meat???
My husband and I would brown meat, drain and add tomato sauce and chili powder.
NOW.... though can't do either what is a sub for Chili Powder (since it is from peppers/nightshades)?
**I've never used Cumin before in cooking but would it be a sub for chili powder?

2.) Spaghetti???
We sometimes use Alfredo now but does anyone know how to make somethig like the Nomato Sauce?

3.) Pizza Sauce??
Other then Alfredo and Olive Oil are there any other suggestions to try out?

I was thinking that maybe we can post suggestions for alternatives, pointers, recipes etc.

Thank for any input :)
Rebecca

Partial Gluten Free March 2007
Completely Gluten Free February 2008
Tapioca Starch/Flour Free April 2008
No MSG July 2008
Cut out Nitrates//Nitrites January 2009
Problems with Tomatoes and Potatoes -- Cut out Nightshades Aug '09

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 mushroom

mushroom

Mushroom

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,448 posts

Posted 01 August 2009 - 05:21 PM

Hi.
I've known for a while now that I have a problem with Tomatoes and Potatoes. Been reading up and am eliminating them and trying to eliminate nightshades in general.

1.) Taco Meat???
NOW.... though can't do either what is a sub for Chili Powder (since it is from peppers/nightshades)?
**I've never used Cumin before in cooking but would it be a sub for chili powder?

2.) Spaghetti???
We sometimes use Alfredo now but does anyone know how to make somethig like the Nomato Sauce?

3.) Pizza Sauce??

I was thinking that maybe we can post suggestions for alternatives, pointers, recipes etc.