Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Help Needed Quick-rotisserie Chicken

9 posts in this topic

Hello, we are new to the gluten free world. If you are not sure of the ingredients on the skin of a rotisserie chicken, can you eat the inside meat only? Thanks!

Ads by Google:

That doesn't seem advisable as if the seasonings do contain gluten they may leech into the meat and cause a "glutening". I was not aware of the severity of the cross contamination issue when my daughter first introduced us to gluten-free either, but apparently it's a really big deal. I am NOT an expert, we've only been at this less than 2 years, and still trying to master it.

I have never had trouble with Costco chicken.

I have never had trouble with Costco chicken.

Okay, thank you. It is from a local grocery store and we have no idea what the ingredients are on the skin....Better safe than sorry; guess we will just have a salad.

I buy the ones offered at Wal-Mart. I do peel off the skin but I've never had a problem. I know at my Wal-Mart they will go check the ingredients listed for me on anything I buy in the deli.

Last time I checked Wal-Mart were not gluten-free!

Costco's is gluten-free

Boston Market is gluten-free

Sam's Club is not gluten-free

KFC grilled or any other is not gluten-free...

It should state on the label what the ingredient list is.

Most are not gluten-free.

sorry

mamaw

Anything on food is cooked into it. It would be like eating toppings off a regular pizza - you would get sick. I had a someone invite me to dinner and she was using a marinade on a roast which contained wheat and she thought it would just cook away. She's a nurse, so there is a lot of misinformation out there.