#1 Kimmy913

Kimmy913

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 09:52 PM

Hello Guys,
I am new to Celiac. I was diagnosed in June. I am doing much better being Gluten free! I am 20 years old going on 21 in less than a month! I am looking forward to my birthday, but not to excited because I would like to have cake like every other year. Does anybody have suggestions of cake, should I buy a store bought mix or does anybody know of any gluten free bakery's in NJ? I have heard about the Betty Crocker Cake mix but I can not fine them in a store near me. Does anybody have any suggestions!? Also What should I do about the Icing? I don't think the Icing is gluten free. Well if anybody could help that would be great.
Thanks!!
Kim

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 nasalady

nasalady

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 445 posts

Posted 17 August 2009 - 11:15 PM

Hello Guys,
I am new to Celiac. I was diagnosed in June. I am doing much better being Gluten free! I am 20 years old going on 21 in less than a month! I am looking forward to my birthday, but not to excited because I would like to have cake like every other year. Does anybody have suggestions of cake, should I buy a store bought mix or does anybody know of any gluten free bakery's in NJ? I have heard about the Betty Crocker Cake mix but I can not fine them in a store near me. Does anybody have any suggestions!? Also What should I do about the Icing? I don't think the Icing is gluten free. Well if anybody could help that would be great.
Thanks!!
Kim

Hi Kim,

I just used the Betty Crocker yellow cake mix for my son's birthday and it was REALLY good!! I seriously don't think anyone could tell it was gluten free!

I couldn't find it in the store either, so I ordered it online (send me a PM and I can tell you where I got it). For a two-layer cake I had to use two boxes because each box only makes one layer or 12 cupcakes.