This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Where Your Contribution Counts!
    eNewsletter
    Support Us!

Gummy Baked Goods

halfrunner

halfrunner Apprentice

I'm extremely new to the whole gluten free baking thing, as my dh is just went gluten free yesterday. I've made several loaves of bread and a pizza crust, and they're all dense & gummy. They all have had large amounts of rice flour in them, and are from Bette Hagman's gluten-free cookbooks. I followed the recipes exactly as they were called for.

I'm not sure, but I'm wondering if it's just simply too much rice flour and the tapioca and/or potato starches, and if I need to add more of a bean or other flour in place of the rice flour? Would brown rice flour be an improvement?

I was going to try making sure my ingredients are all room temperature (does it really make that big a difference?), and try setting my bread machine to the basic rapid setting for the loaf I make in the next few days. But I thought I'd see if anyone has been successful in making better textured bread with recipes that don't use rice flour? I'm half tempted to use half of the called for rice based mix and substitute in half of gluten-free oat flour that I've got in hopes of reaching a texture closer to a wheat bread.

Please help, if for no other reason than to save my sanity. :P

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Juliebove Rising Star