This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Recovering Celiacs With Demanding Lives

LadyCyclist87

LadyCyclist87 Apprentice

Curious question...are there any individuals working a very demanding work environment (or going to school to work) that are at the same time trying to recover from celiac disease (as well as other intolerances)? I would really just like to sound off some thoughts and meet other nurses with this condition.

I'm a nursing student myself (graduating in May 2010), and some days I feel like I have such a hard time trying to stay focused with the brain fog, or dealing with the constant fatigued feeling, headaches, etc. And no, I am not eating gluten...I feel like I'm still recovering, but of course most of us know that the days of recovering (shall we call it a "gluten detox" on our bodies?) are some of the hardest. I know that I'm physically present in class and clinicals, but at the same time it feels like I'm delusional. While I'm sitting there looking "fine" to other classmates, I'm a train wreck on the inside trying to fight against my body so that I can just learn the material that I need to. It takes me forever to study (which I hate, but I do what I have to), and on top of that I have other personal family issues that I'm trying to work out. On the "bad" days, on top of feeling crappy I put up with feeling like a complete ditz when my closest friends keep asking me, "are you okay?" or seem to have trouble following my train of thought. I'm soooo scared about graduating and "going out into the real world" in just 8 months from now. It's not that I'm nervous about not knowing the material...I'm more nervo