Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Non -food/non edible companies statements


  • Please log in to reply

20 replies to this topic

#1 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 07 January 2004 - 08:42 PM

This is a copy of the e-mail sent to me from the makers of Suave products:

Hi,

Thanks for writing!

We do not specifically test our products for the presence of gluten, a sticky protein found in some grains such as wheat. Gluten may be present in products that contain derivatives of wheat, oat, rye, and barley. In labeling our products, our company follows the guidelines established by the International Nomenclature for Cosmetics Ingredients (INCI)process. Therefore, if we use an ingredient derived from a grain such as wheat, oat, rye and / or barley, those names will appear on the label.

Example
One common example is "Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein" If you see this name on the label, the material was derived from wheat, so the product may contain gluten.

We recommend that you consult with your physician as to whether your exposure to grain derivatives from the use of personal care products will cause the symptoms of Celiac-Sprue Disease.

We hope this information is helpful,
Your friends at Suave
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2004 - 08:58 AM

We appreciate your interest in our products.

We cannot guarantee that any of our products are gluten free. Gluten comes from plant sources. We purchase ingredients from various vendors. Our vendors can change the origin for each ingredient at any time and without our knowledge.

Cordially,

Sharon
  • 0

#3 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2004 - 09:02 AM

I find it sad that so many companies are not willing to find out more about their products and hide behind the "We purchase ingredients from various vendors" line. At least, we can know.

I like how Suave lists the potential allergens next to the ingredient that may contain gluten...at least a few companies try to help.
  • 0

#4 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2004 - 09:03 AM

Thank you for contacting us.

Aussie obtains its ingredients from different suppliers therefore, we
cannot guarantee that their raw material are free of wheat products.
Since we are unable to guarantee that there's no wheat in our products.
We would advise a consumer that is allergic to wheat unfortunately, not
to use our products.

If you have any additional questions please call 1-800-947-2656, Monday
through Friday between 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM or Saturday between 9:00 AM
and 6:00 PM, Eastern Time.

Thank you again for contacting us.


The Consumer Affairs Team
  • 0

#5 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2004 - 09:10 AM

Thank you for contacting us.

Our company purchases raw ingredients from different distributors.
Because of this we can not rule out the presence of gluten/wheat in our
products. We apologize that we could be more assistance at this time.

If you have any further questions please call 1-800-382-7833, Monday
through Friday between 8:30 AM and 8:30 PM or Saturday between 9:00 AM
and 6:00 PM, Eastern Time.


The Consumer Affairs Team
  • 0

#6 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2004 - 12:18 PM

They sent an additional e-mail stating:

"In addition, we would like to assure you that most of the ingredients in our products are derived from palm oils or are synthetically derived."

Does that mean they're okay? Or does that mean anything at all?
  • 0

#7 healthy1

 
healthy1

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
 

Posted 09 January 2004 - 07:24 PM

I was using the aussie products up until recently when I read a post about hair products and sure enough, the conditioner and the 3 minute miracle both had wheat protein in them, so I just threw them out. I wouldn't trust their other products to be safe, even though I did like them. I guess this is just another piece to the puzzle!
  • 0

#8 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 16 January 2004 - 09:37 PM

We know Celiac is a serious disease, so we want to give you clear information regarding the use of our beauty care products. If wheat and/or gluten aren't directly added to a product by us, these ingredients won't be listed on our packages. Like many companies, we often purchase the scents for fragranced products from outside suppliers, and the components of these substances are proprietary information belonging to those companies. Therefore it's possible that a very small amount (generally parts per million) of gluten may be present.

We sought advice from physicians; they told us it would be very unlikely a person with Celiac disease would have a reaction from a trace amount of gluten coming into contact with his skin or hair. This is because wheat, rye, barley and/or gluten generally cause symptoms when they're ingested. Since our beauty care products are designed to be used externally on the skin, their use shouldn't be an issue for someone with this disease.

Since gluten sensitivity can vary among people, it would be best if you consulted with your physician about the use of all types of consumable goods, if you haven't already. You might even consider using one of our fragrance free products that doesn't list gluten or wheat extracts on the label.
  • 0

#9 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 23 February 2004 - 08:52 PM

Thank you for contacting us.

Clairol purchases their materials from different distributors and
because of this we can not rule out the presence of gluten in our
products. We apologize that we could not be of more assistance at this
time.

If you have any further questions please call our toll-free number to
speak with a Consultant at 1-800-CLAIROL. Monday through Friday from
8:30 AM to 8:30 PM Saturday 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM, Eastern Time.


The Consumer Affairs Team
  • 0

#10 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 24 February 2004 - 09:15 PM

Hi, Brandy.

Thanks for your interest in Secret. If wheat and/or wheat extract is directly added to the formula, it will be listed in the Ingredient Statement, on the label. If it is not listed on the Ingredient Statement, then no gluten is directly added to the product. If wheat or a wheat extract is added to the perfume it will not be listed separately on the label, but potentially present at a very low level. Since Beauty Care products are used on the hair and skin, it would be very unlikely that a person with Celiac disease would have a reaction from trace amounts of gluten.

Hope this helps.

Kristi
Secret Team
  • 0

#11 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 24 February 2004 - 09:16 PM

This was my response:

We greatly appreciate your help, but we feel it's necessary to inform you that many individuals who have Celiac disease also have dermatologic reactions to topical products that contain wheat. This usually presents in rashy, itchy, uncomfortable skin...and is very common in those individuals with Celiac disease.

Thank you,
Brandy
  • 0

#12 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 24 February 2004 - 09:18 PM

Hi, Brandy.

We appreciate your interest in Bounty. I'm happy to inform you that there is no gluten in any of our Bounty products.

Thanks for writing and stop by again!

Kristi
Bounty Team
  • 0

#13 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 24 February 2004 - 09:26 PM

Hi, Brandy.

We appreciate your interest in Charmin. I'm happy to let you know there is no gluten in any of our Charmin products.

Hope this helps. Thanks for contacting us!

Jill
Charmin Team


** I figured this one would be safe, but you never really know...and wouldn't that be a horrible one to have be wheat infested?! :rolleyes:
  • 0

#14 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 25 February 2004 - 09:06 PM

Dear Ms. O' Brien:

Thank you for contacting us regarding Church & Dwight Co., Inc. products
as they pertain to your gluten intolerance.

We certify that ARM & HAMMERŪ Baking Soda in the context of food use is
gluten-free. ARM & HAMMERŪ Dental CareT The Baking Soda Gum also does not
contain gluten. Although it contains sugar alcohols such as sorbitol,
which is derived from corn starch, these ingredients do not contain
gluten.

Again, thank you for taking the time and having the interest to contact
us. If you have any questions or concerns in the future, please call us
at 1-800-524-1328.


Sarah Kucsma
Consumer Relations Representative
  • 0

#15 filititi

 
filititi

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 73 posts
 

Posted 27 February 2004 - 10:44 AM

Thanks for contacting Tide, Brandy.

Glad you asked! Tide products do not contain gluten. However, I'm not able to provide you a list of products that do or do not contain gluten. We manufacture over 300 products and ingredients may change from time to time. The best way to determine if a product contains gluten is to check the label. If ingredients aren't listed, then either call or email with the specific product. We'll be happy to check it out for you.

Thanks for visiting.

Christina
Tide Team



** I've e-mailed a response asking for a product list, and I'll get in touch with them asking about each and every product. I'll let you know what I find out.

Brandy
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: