Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Corona Light Beer


  • Please log in to reply

8 replies to this topic

#1 haleym

 
haleym

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 97 posts
 

Posted 27 September 2009 - 04:19 PM

Ok... so I just drank a Corona light because I have another celiac friend who also drinks it... and now that Im researching I cant find out if its actually brewed with barley or just corn as some people have told me. I usually get a tension headache when I drink non gluten-free beer, and I have a touch of tension building now, not as bad as usual though. Someone please tell me its gluten-free!

We shall see... hopefully it doesnt get me too bad... Ive gotten myself once this week already!
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Mtndog

 
Mtndog

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,254 posts
 

Posted 27 September 2009 - 04:25 PM

Ok... so I just drank a Corona light because I have another celiac friend who also drinks it... and now that Im researching I cant find out if its actually brewed with barley or just corn as some people have told me. I usually get a tension headache when I drink non gluten-free beer, and I have a touch of tension building now, not as bad as usual though. Someone please tell me its gluten-free!

We shall see... hopefully it doesnt get me too bad... Ive gotten myself once this week already!


It is NOT gluten-free. Hope your reaction isn't too bad!

The only beers that I know of that are safe for celiacs are Red Bridge, Bard's tale and La Messiere (french- I think our Canadian friends can get it).

I've never heard of beer brewed from corn- vodka yes (Smirnoff is corn-based) but not beer. Bard's Tale is a sorghum lager and very tasty!
  • 0
***************************
Beverly

Gluten free since 2005

In the midst of winter, I found there was within me an invincible summer.
Albert Careb


Posted Image

#3 ENF

 
ENF

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 321 posts
 

Posted 27 September 2009 - 04:30 PM

It is NOT gluten-free. Hope your reaction isn't too bad!

The only beers that I know of that are safe for celiacs are Red Bridge, Bard's tale and La Messiere (french- I think our Canadian friends can get it).(bold mine)

I've never heard of beer brewed from corn- vodka yes (Smirnoff is corn-based) but not beer. Bard's Tale is a sorghum lager and very tasty!

The OP, haleym, has gluten intolerance, not Celiac.

I do know people diagnosed with Celiac that drink light beer, not gluten free, with no reaction. I wouldn't do it, myself.
  • 0
Celiac diagnosis from positive blood work & endoscope (2005)

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 2,3 Subtype 2,8 (double Celiac genes)

#4 happygirl

 
happygirl

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,942 posts
 

Posted 27 September 2009 - 04:31 PM

http://www.paradisef...816/page/270592

http://www.origlio.com/crown.php
  • 0

#5 haleym

 
haleym

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 97 posts
 

Posted 27 September 2009 - 07:37 PM

Thanks guys! I felt OK after it, a little headachey but that was all. Lesson learned!
  • 0

#6 westenwillow

 
westenwillow

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts
 

Posted 07 July 2010 - 05:30 PM

Thanks guys! I felt OK after it, a little headachey but that was all. Lesson learned!

try namaste brand baking goods they are awesome.. as well as udi's breads if you can find it.. if you have a wholefoods near you they have these things.. annnnd wholefoods also has amazing frozen cup cakes when you are in a pinch too :) tinkyada is a great pasta and i have gotten "toll house" quality cookies with almond flour and tapioca starch ..trial and error.. "Greens" beers are really good but pricey..Glutino pretzels and other treats by that brand are really good too.. i work in the natural food world so if you need help feel free to shout out!
  • 0

#7 Rwwright16

 
Rwwright16

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
 

Posted 31 August 2011 - 03:59 PM

I haven't been diagnosed with Celiac or gluten intolerant but have been gluten free for 16 months. I can usually tell if I've been glutenized pretty quickly. I had no reaction after a couple of Coronas in the USA. Everything I've found says Corona is made with barley.
  • 0

#8 modiddly16

 
modiddly16

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts
 

Posted 01 September 2011 - 04:11 AM

Barley is not safe for celiacs, as it is a source of gluten. You might not be having an external reaction but I assure you that you're causing damage internally. Corona is NOT gluten free.
  • 1

#9 kitgordon

 
kitgordon

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 179 posts
 

Posted 01 September 2011 - 05:57 AM

New Grist beer is another gluten free one. No "regular" beers are safe; they need to be labelled "gluten free" and made from sorghum, or sorghum and rice. Learned that the hard way after a fellow celiac told me Heineken was safe. It isn't.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: